Home - ECON 238 - Environmental economics - LibGuides at University of Rochester

Use Library Resources and Services

Economics Resources Guide
Links to electronic journals, databases for finding articles, and selected websites for economics research. Includes links to sources for datasets and time series.

UR Catalog
Use the UR Catalog to search specifically for books, journal titles -- NOT articles -- and other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Search by Title, Author, Subject Heading, Keyword(s) or Call Number.

Click HERE to get a list of materials in the library catalog on the topic of environmental economics or sustainability

WorldCat
Use the WolrdCat to search for books and other materials available at many libraries world wide. Books owned by UR River Campus Libraries are identified and it is easy to place an Interlibrary Loan request from within the WorldCat webpages for a book the UR River Campus Libraries do not own.

Submit an ILL request
Need an item that we don’t have in the stacks? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need. Submit your request now!

Recommend a Purchase
The River Campus Libraries welcome suggestions for the purchase of materials for our library collections. Your request will be reviewed by library staff. Preference will be to acquire the eBook format where available. Please indicate in the Notes field if you would prefer that we acquire the print format.

Find eJournals

Books

To find ebooks, include the phrase "electronic resource" in a keyword search in Voyager. For example:
+environment? +water +"electronic resource"
(the ? is a wildcard character)

Handbook of Environmental Economics

Get it Online (2005 ed.)
Get it in the libraries (2003 ed.)

Governance for the environment : new perspectives

Get it in the Libraries

Treasures of the earth : need, greed, and a sustainable future

Get it in the Libraries

Now or never : why we must act now to end climate change and create a sustainable future

Get it in the Libraries

Sustainable critical infrastructure systems : a framework for meeting 21st century imperatives : report of a workshop

Get it in the Libraries

Governing the tap : special district governance and the new local politics of water

Get it in the Libraries

Reference Books and Resources

Toxline - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Toxicology information covering biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and chemicals.

News Sources

ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.
Environment & Energy Publishing This link opens in a new window
Includes a suite of news and policy publications covering environmental issues.

Think Tanks

Journal Article Databases

EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.
A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlk
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Identifies scholarly and general interest articles, books, and government reports on the effects humans have on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Comprehensive Natural Products II This link opens in a new window
Review articles about the chemistry and biology of natural products.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.

Databases by Subject
To find additional articles databases, you can browse databases by discipline, e.g. political science, law, economics, etc.

Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references in all social science disciplines, many with links to full text.

Data

If you need data to support your research, the libraries subscribe to a number of databases of data (numbers) rather than articles. See the whole list at Data & Statistics Databases.

Here are some good ones to start with:

Data & Statistics from U.S. Dept. of Agriculture

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Identifies scholarly and general interest articles, books, and government reports on the effects humans have on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Numerical tables and essays on all quantitative aspects of American history.
Dramatically expanded edition of the standard source for statistics in American history. Includes more than 37,000 data series; all aspects of social, economic and political life.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
US and international statistics. Includes full text statistical tables and abstracts of additional statistical sources.
Covers material in American Statistics Index (ASI), Index to International Statistics (IIS) and Statistical Reference Index (SRI). Googling for material not in full text in the database works quite well.
Global Economic Monitor This link opens in a new window
Daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions; access to high frequency data, trend analysis, forecasting & modeling.
provides daily and monthly commentary on global economic conditions along with direct access to high frequency data that is refreshed daily. It provides analysis of current economic trends, economic, financial and commodity data indicators, an extensive database including growth and commodity forecasts and access to the iSimulate modeling platform.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

Sustainability & Renewable Energy

Sustainability from EPA

Get it Online

U.S. Energy Information Administration (Search for data, analyses, reports, EIA programs cover data on coal, petruleum, natural renewable and nuclear energy)

Get it Online

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (search for publications and resources on clean energy)

Get it Online

The National Renewable Energy Laboratory (The only federal lab that is dedicated to the research, development, commercialization and deployment of renewable energy and enegy efficiency technologies. Search for data, analyses and reportson renewable energy)

Get it Online

EBooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Selected full text of books in all disciplines. Previously called: Ebrary.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Selected book titles in all disciplines. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.
EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Service This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from hundreds of journals in all disciplines subscribed to by the University of Rochester Libraries.
Search by journal title, key-word or author. Note that it does not necessarily include all the key journals in a given discipline and that full text of some articles or titles may be available in other electronic sources. Ask at the Reference desk for help.

Social Sciences Librarian

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

One Minute Survey

Please complete a One Minute Survey for the workshop that you attended. Thank you very much!

Citation Guides & Tools

Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window
Revised and expanded edition of the 1998 print dictionary.

RefWorks Tutorials

More RefWorks Tutorial videos

Other Resources

Sometimes it helps to see and hear a concept explained in a different way. If you're having trouble, check out the following DVDs, available in the Art & Music Library.

Aggregate Supply and Demand
Bivariate Data: When Y depends on X
Elasticity
Game Theory: Lost in New York
Mama Earth: Her Destiny, Our Hands
Supply and Demand: Christmas, a Case Study

ECON 238 - Environmental economics: Home

Getting Started