LibGuides: * Economics: Home

Finding

UNdata This link opens in a new window
Retrieves data series from more than 30 United Nations and agency databases in one search interface.
UNdata allows you to search 30 United Nations and agency databases in one search interface. It contains a wide range of subjects including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, etc.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.
A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlk
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Full text of National Bureau of Economic Research working papers.
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references in all social science disciplines, many with links to full text.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, politics and law, many with links to full text.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Identifies working papers and articles in economics, accounting, legal studies and management, many with links to full text.
Africa Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
Social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, environmental indicators for 53 African countries.
Provides data *as available* for countries and time period; data will not be available for all countries and all years.
RePEc - IDEAS This link opens in a new window
The world's largest, freely available, bibliographic database of work in Economics.
Note: if the record includes the message: "Download Restriction: Access to full text is restricted to subscribers" and you are working at home, I recommend setting up VPN and always using that connection from home. VPN makes it look like you're on campus to our subscription-only resources.

The University Libraries have license agreements with JSTOR , ScienceDirect and other publishers that allow access to many full-text journals via the web. These selected online journals can be accessed from any computer at the University. If you are off-campus, the first time you click one of these links, you should be prompted to enter your NetID and password to complete the connection, and then be passed to the publisher website. From off-campus, you must use these links so that you can be authenticated and given access to the journals and the Handbooks in Economics series.

These links are checked and updated periodically, but if you get "404 not found" or other errors, please email me .

American Economic Journal: Applied Economics (2009 - ) American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics (2009 - )American Economic Journal: Microeconomics (2009 - ) American Economic Review (1999 - ); (1911 - 2015 )

American Economist (1960 - 2006 ) Annual Review of Economics (2009 - ) Annual Review of Financial Economics (2009 - ) Annual Review of Resource Economics (2009 - ) Applied Economics (1969 - ) (2005 - 2009 )
Applied Economics Letters ( 1994- ) (2005 - 2009)

B.E. Journals in Economic Analysis & Policy (2001 - 2006)(click individual records for subscription coverage)
B.E. Journals in Macroeconomics ( 2001 - 2006 ) (click individual records for subscription coverage)
B.E. Journals in Theoretical Economics ( 2001 - 2006) (click individual records for subscription coverage)
Bell Journal of Economics and Management Science (1970 - 1974 )
Bell Journal of Economics (1975 - 1983 )
Brookings Papers on Economic Activity - (1970 - )
Brookings Papers on Economic Activity: Microeconomics ( 1989 - 1998 )

Canadian Journal of Economics (1968 - ) incls. links to earlier versions of journal).
Carnegie-Rochester Conference Series ( 1976 - 2001 )
Computational Economics (1988 - Apr. 2015); (1999- )

Eastern Economic Journal ( 1974 - 2005 )

Economics and Philosophy (2000 -   )               Econometric Theory ( 1998 -    )
Econometrica (1999 -   ); ( 1933 - )(click individual records for subscription coverage)
Economic Development and Cultural Change (1952 -   )
Economic History Review (1927 - )
Economic Indicators (1948 - )
Economic Inquiry ( Oct. 1987-    )
Economic Journal, The (1891 - )
Economic Modelling ( 1984-    )
Economic Theory ( 1991 -    )                                    Economic Theory Bulletin ( 2013 -    )
Economica (1921 - )
Economics Letters ( 1978-    )
Economics of Education Review ( 1981-    )
Economists' Voice ( 2004 -    ) (a B.E. Press journal)
European Economic Review ( 1969 -    )               European Journal of Operational Research (1977 -   )
European Journal of Political Economy ( 1985-    )            Explorations in Economic History ( 1969- )

Federal Reserve System publications, dates vary: Fed In Print
Games and Economic Behavior ( 1989- ) Group Decision and Negotiation (1999- )

Handbooks in Economics Via ScienceDirect (All volumes in this series)
New additions to the Handbook series - listed on page above but at the end of the list:

Health Economics (1992 -       )                                                  History of Political Economy ( 1969 - )                    Industrial and Labor Relations Review ( 1947 - 2008 )
International Economic Review (1960 - )
International Journal of Game Theory (1971-   )
International Journal of Industrial Organization ( 1983-    )
International Review of Law and Economics ( 1981-    )

Japanese Economic Review ( 1997-    )
Journal of Accounting and Economics ( 1979-    )
Journal of Accounting and Public Policy ( 1995-    )
Journal of Applied Econometrics (1986 - )
Journal of Banking and Finance ( 1977-    )
Journal of Business & Economic Statistics ( 1983 -    )
Journal of Comparative Economics ( 1977-    )
Journal of Corporate Finance ( 1994-    )
Journal of Development Economics ( 1974-    )
Journal of Econometrics ( 1973-    )

Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization (1980 - )
Journal of Economic Dynamics and Control (1979 -    )
Journal of Economic Education (1969 - )
Journal of Economics = Zeitschrift fur Nationalokonomie (1930 - )    Journal of Economic Growth (1996 - )                                                  Journal of Economic History (1941 - )
Journal of Economic Issues (JEI) (1967 -    )                                      Journal of Economic Literature (1969 - )                                Journal of Economic Perspectives (1987 - )                Journal of Economic Surveys (1987 - one year ago)

Journal of Economic Theory (1969 -    )
Journal of Economics and Business (1982 -    )
Journal of Empirical Finance (1993 -    )
Journal of Environmental Economics and Management (1974 -    )
Journal of the European Economic Association (2003 -    )
Journal of Finance (1946 - )
Journal of Financial Economics (1974-    )
Journal of Financial Intermediation (1990-    )
Journal of Financial Markets (1998-    )
Journal of Health Economics (1982-    )
Journal of Housing Economics (1992-    )                                                       Journal of Human Capital (2007- )                                         Journal of Human Resources (1966 - )                                                        Journal of Industrial Economics (1952 - )
Journal of International Economics (1971-    )
Journal of International Money and Finance (1982-    )
Journal of the Japanese and International Economies (1987-    )                  Journal of Labor Economics (1983 -    )
Journal of Law and Economics (1958 - )                                                       Journal of Law, Economics, & Organization (1985 - )
Journal of Macroeconomics (1979-    )
Journal of Mathematical Economics (1974-    )                                Journal of Mechanism and Institution Design (2016 - )
Journal of Monetary Economics (1975-    )
Journal of Money, Credit and Banking (1969 - )
Journal of Policy Modeling (1979-    )
Journal of Political Economy (1892 - )                                                            Journal of Population Economics (1988 - one year ago)                                Journal of Public Economic Theory (1999 -    )
Journal of Public Economics (1972 -    )
Journal of Risk and Uncertainty (1988 -    )
Journal of Sports Economics (2000 - )                                                            Journal of Urban Economics (1974 -    )

Management Science (1954 - ) Mathematical Social Sciences ( 1980 - ) Mathematics of Operations Research (1976 - )

Oxford Economic Papers (1938 - )                                           Operations Research Letters (1981 -    )
Public Choice ( 1966 -    )
Quarterly Journal of Economics (1886 - )
Quarterly Review of Economics and Finance ( 1993-    )
RAND Journal of Economics (1984 - )
Regional Science and Urban Economics (1975-    )
Research in Economics/Ricerche Economiche (1997-    )
Review of Economic Design (1994 -    )
Review of Economic Dynamics (1998-    )
Review of Economic Studies (1933 -    )
Review of Economics and Statistics (1919 - 2012 ); (1948 - )             Review of World Economics (1997 - )                                                       Ricerche Economiche (1993-1996 )

Simulation & Gaming (1990 -    )
Social Choice and Welfare ( 1984 -    )
Southern Economic Journal (1933 -    )
Studies in Nonlinear Dynamics and Econometrics (1996 - )

Theory and Decision (1970 -    )
Theoretical Economics: an open-access journal in economic theory (vol. 1, 2006 -   )
TOP (An Official Journal of the Spanish Society of Statistics and Operations Research) ( Dec. 1997 -    )

Weltwirtschaftliches Archiv ( 1913 - 2002 )

Bureau of Economic Analysis
National (GDP and related data), International (BOP and related data), and Regional data.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Quick statistics from the BLS:
Census Bureau homepage
Also from the Census:
CRB Commodity Yearbook
our best available source for historical commodity price and production information, e.g. aluminum, corn, gold, lumber, paper, even pork bellies. Print & CD-ROM can be found in the Rhees Stacks HC 14.C73.
Current Population Survey
◦ NBER also offers a selection of historical CPS datasets; some time series going back into the 1960s.
Economic Policy Institute's Datazone
EconoMagic: The Economic Time Series Page -
over 100,000 sets of time series data! The ultimate resource for the "I just need some data" situation.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
a vast resource for monetary time series data.
Federal Reserve System Beige Book
commentary on current economic conditions; the Beige book is a way to tune into current economic trends.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research - ICPSR.
Massive collection on social survey data, but be warned: requires knowledge of SAS, SPSS, Stata, or similar statistical package to work with these data sets. This is not the source for a project that's due tomorrow (or even next week!). Suitable for major, in- depth, long-term research.
Journal of Applied Econometrics Data Archive
data sets associated with the articles published in the journal.
NBER Online Economic Data
available for downloading
Social Science Data on the Net
New York State Data Center
source for economic and demographic data in New York State.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Hard copy is available in Rush Rhees stacks

Federal Banking System
Most journals, newsletters, and working papers published by the Federal Reserve Banks (FRBs) are available at their websites.

"One Stop" Access to all Federal Reserve Sites

FRB Board of Governors
FRB Atlanta
FRB Boston
FRB Chicago
FRB Cleveland
FRB Dallas
FRB Kansas City
FRB Minneapolis
FRB New York
FRB Philadelphia
FRB Richmond
FRB St. Louis - home of the Liber8 economic research
FRB San Francisco

Fed in Print - Index and abstracts for all Federal Reserve System economic research documents; links to full text if available.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
A database contains more than 381,000 economic time series from 81 sources. It covers banking, CPI, exchange rates, GDP, interest rates, monetary aggregates, PPI, reserves and monetary base, and the U.S. financial data.
more...less...
The time series in the database are compiled by the Federal Reserve and collected from government agencies such as the U.S. Census and the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Center for International Data at UC Davis -
data on US and World imports and export activity, tariffs and trade; a few Asian economic data sets, mostly available for downloading.
European Economy
Published two times a year, this journal offers almost 100 time series for the EU-15 countries, plus US and Japan for comparison. Figures are annual, from 1961 to current. Current issues are available online. Past issues in the 3rd floor stacks, HC241.2.A272
Economic & Monetary Union via European Commission
Foreign Labor Statistics from the (U.S.) Bureau of Labor Statistics.
International Accounts Data from the Bureau of Economic Analysis table and PDF formats.
U.S. Bureau of the Census. Current and historical (1950- ) data
mainly demographic; construct your own report and view or download the data.
International Monetary Fund
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
maintained by the University of Texas at Austin
OECD Statistics Portal
Also see OECD iLibrary - listed with databases. full access to all OECD publications and data.
Penn World Tables
choose and manipulate datasets for 152 countries and 29 subjects.
United Nations Statistics website
Also see UNdata
The World Bank
Many of their publications are available in PDF format, plus information on regions and countries.
See also World Development Indicators
The World Factbook from the CIA
very useful compilation of a wide range of current facts and figures, plus maps, for all the countries of the world.

The following link provides access to Economics (and some Finance or Accounting) working papers websites. If the full papers are not available on the web, the site will usually tell you how to order a hardcopy (and this service is usually free). If the University of Rochester has printed copies of a paper series, the call number is provided.

Brookings Institution - Darden School of Business

Brookings Institution papers and articles
Business Working Paper Links - compiled by the Kopolow Business Library at Washington University. An excellent list of links for finding business working papers from over 400 institutions. Arranged by topic; indicates if full text is available online.
California Institute of Technology Social Science Working Papers
Carnegie Mellon University Graduate School of Industrial Administration
Bernard Schwartz Center for Economic Policy Analysis (CEPA) working papers
Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) - UR has access to online CEPR papers. All CEPR Discussion Papers published since the beginning of 1999 (i.e. from No. 2050) are available as electronic (PDF) files. UR has print copies for 1984-1999 at Rhees Stacks HC10 .D545.
CESifo Working Papers (University of Munich Center for Economic Studies & Ifo Institute for Economic Research). Fulltext for most of 1998, complete 1999- ; abstracts for earlier papers. Copies can be ordered free of charge.
Columbia University Economics Department
Columbia University Paine Webber Series
Cornell University Economics Department, Center for Analytic Economics (lists of working papers are available; copies sent free upon request)
Darden School of Business (U. Virginia) via SSRN

Federal Reserve System

A searchable database of publications from all members is provided by: Fed In Print
Board of Governors' Publications (all types). Note the Finance & Economics Discussion series and International Finance Discussion Papers are also available at Rhees Stacks HC110.I5 W6, 1985-.
Atlanta - current, links to earlier years at bottom of page. Hardcopy in Rhees Stacks HC107.A13 W6.
Boston. Rhees Stacks HG2613.B7 W6.
Cleveland. Rhees Stacks HG2613.C64 F45 (1984-1995).
Dallas. Rhees Stacks HC101 .F56 (1994-95).
Minneapolis - many types of publications, including working papers (scroll down).

Harvard - MIT

Harvard Institute for Economic Research
Check also the Harvard Economics Dept. papers on SSRN - full-text may be available there and not at the dept. site.
IDEAS - RePEc - The largest database of working papers (and other economic publications) on the web. Note: not all materials are full text, and, if you don't find what you're looking for, check the list of contributing institutions. If the paper you want came from a place not on the list, try going directly to their website. (For help finding websites, the Yahoo!Education section is a very useful way of finding university pages around the world.)
IMF Working Papers
IMF Staff Country Reports
Institute for Research on Poverty (U. Wisconsin) Publications (Discussion Papers and more)
Johns Hopkins Department of Economics (papers not available online can be ordered online, free)
Levy Economics Institute of Bard College. Extensive collection of working papers, public policy briefs, strategic analysis, etc. Click on "Publications" in the top bar to see the whole list.
London Business School
London School of Economics
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Dept. of Economics Working Papers - Online at SSRN

NBER

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) - searchable database of all papers; our subscription provides access to all PDFs. Hardcopy up to July 2000 are located in Rhees Stacks: HB1.W62.

New York University - University of Pennsylvania Wharton School

New York University - C.V. Starr Center for Applied Economics
Northwestern University Center for Mathematical Studies in Economics & Management Discussion Papers
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Economics Department Working Papers
Pennsylvania State University Economics Department - working paper list
Princeton University Economics Department, Industrial Relations Section
Princeton: Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs
Queen's University Insitute for Economic Research
Queen's University School of Business Research
Rutgers - the State University of New Jersey Economics Department
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) homepage. Working papers in accounting, economics, financial economics and more; full-text download in PDF format. Jump directly to the paper search interface: http://papers.ssrn.com/.
Stanford University Department of Economics
Stanford University Hoover Institution - note: their working papers are not online, and not listed anywhere as a separate publication. Talk to Business and Government Information Library staff for assistance if you need a Hoover Institution working paper. Other publications are indicated on the Hoover Institution Publications page.
Stockholm School of Economics Working Paper Series in Economics and Finance
Universite Catholique de Louvain Center for Operations Research & Econometrics
Universite de Montreal Departement de Sciences Economiques
U. California at Berkeley Institute of Business & Economic Research (IBER)
U. California, Los Angeles Economics Department (working paper series discontinued 2006)
U. California San Diego Department of Economics
U. Chicago Graduate School of Business Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) downloadable papers are available via the Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
U. Illinois at Urbana Champaign Institute of Labor & Industrial Relations
U. Minnesota Center for Economic Research: 1971 - 2005; Minnesota Economic Research Reports 2007 -- present
U. Minnesota: Economic Development Center A list of papers is online; hardcopies can be requested free.
U. Pennsylvania Institute for Economic Research (PIER)
U. Pennsylvania Weiss Center for International Financial Research
U. Pennsylvania Wharton School Financial Institutions Center Working Papers

University of Rochester

Bradley Policy Research Center - Rhees Stacks HB1.A17mr
Rochester Center for Economic Research (RCER) - papers 1996-present. Papers from 1999- have PDF versions available. Backfile lists: 1985-1990, and 1991-95. Copies of the current years' papers are available in the Business and Government Information Library; bound volumes of all papers, 1985- , are in Rhees level 300 stacks: H1.W63.
Simon School Working Papers - Online at SSRN
Simon: Computer and Information Systems - Rhees Stacks HB1.A17cis
Simon: Financial Research and Policy Studies - Rhees Stacks HB1.A17fr
Simon: Marketing Science - Rhees Stacks HB1.A17m
Simon: Operations Management - Rhees Stacks HB1.A17op
Simon: Shadow Open Market Committee (SOMC) Reports
Other Simon School working paper series will also be found at the HB1.A17 call number area.
Wallis Institute of Political Economy - Rhees Stacks H1 .W635

U. of Western Ontario - Yale

U. of Western Ontario Economics Department
U. Wisconsin, Madison Statistics Department Technical Reports
W. E. Upjohn Institute Working Papers
Wharton School Financial Institutions Center Working Papers (U. Pennsylvania).
World Bank Research: document search interface. Note the links under the search box: you can also browse by Date, Topic, Region, or Type/Series.
Yale U.: Cowles Foundation Discussion Papers
Yale U.: Cowles Foundation Papers. These papers are reprints; all appear as articles published in journals. The citation information to the journal is provided for each paper (they are not available online to download, due to copyright restrictions).
Yale U. School of Management via SSRN

Economist
from 1988 to present

Economist Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Search by keyword or browse by date. Full text.
Search by Media Type to limit to items containing media such as maps, photographs and tables, some of which are exportable. “Browse by Date” feature reveals gallery of front covers. Includes advertisements.
Wall Street Journal - Dow Jones This link opens in a new window
Access the daily edition of the Wall Street Journal (New York Times, and more).
Link takes you to the "News Page" function in Factiva, which provides 2 weeks of daily backfiles. To search the entire backfile of the WSJ (and many other news sources), go to the Search interface.
Wall Street Journal - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full text articles published in the Wall Street Journal.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.

Economic News
from 8/17/1998 to present
Bloomberg Businessweek
from 12/30/1996 to present

Free and Extended Access to Materials During COVID-19

Ebook Collections

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online, Books, and Book chapters filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary ebook platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss ebook titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of ebooks on a wide range of topics. This collection of ebooks isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Complete List of Ebook Databases
Looking for ebooks in a certain discipline or field such as the humanities, social sciences, or sciences? Check out our complete list of ebook-focused databases!

Data

CompuStat This link opens in a new window
Financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Contact Kathy Wu (kathyw@library.rochester.edu) for further questions.
ORBIS This link opens in a new window
Orbis includes (209 million) global companies’ financial accounts, credit scores from a number of independent providers, directorships, ownership structures, PEPs and sanctions information and details of mergers and acquisitions activity. Over 99% of the companies on Orbis are private. Private company information is more difficult to obtain as the legal obligation to file account varies widely from country to country.
Osiris This link opens in a new window
Osiris has information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies across the globe. The financial reports provided by the database range from summaries, to standardized reports, to raw data. It covers a wealth of complementary information including ratings, earnings estimates, news, industry research, royalty data, corporate actions, stock data, corporate structures and economic backgrounds.
CRSP This link opens in a new window
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and Nasdaq stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolio, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases.
Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library kathyw@library.rochester.edu.
Morningstar Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Data for 20,000 mutual funds and stocks. Information, analysts reports, and more for mutual funds, stocks, ETFs, and markets.
VPN Required for off-campus access.

FRED - Federal Reserve Economic Data
A database contains more than 381,000 economic time series from 81 sources. It covers banking, CPI, exchange rates, GDP, interest rates, monetary aggregates, PPI, reserves and monetary base, and the U.S. financial data.
more...less...
The time series in the database are compiled by the Federal Reserve and collected from government agencies such as the U.S. Census and the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
FRASER - Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
It is a digital archive managed by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis to safeguard, preserve and provide easy access to the United States’ economic history, particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System,

World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
World Development Indicators (WDI) Online This link opens in a new window
Downloadable time series data for over 200 countries. Includes demographic, socioeconomic, market and environmental data.
IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Unified access to all IMF economic/financial data & statistics for over 200 countries. Four databases in one: IFS, BOP, DOT, GFS.
Unified access to four IMF databases: International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, and Government Finance Statistics. Time series data is not always complete for every country.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) International Financial Statistics (IFS) This link opens in a new window
Downloadable financial and economic time series data for over 200 countries.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the full range of OECD statistical publications; coverage is global. Formerly known as SourceOECD.
Global Development Finance (GDF) Online This link opens in a new window
Downloadable time series data on debt and financial flow for countries that report debt to the World Bank.
Global Financial Data This link opens in a new window
Downloadable datasets of basic economic indicators (exchange & interest rates, commodity prices, CPI, PPI, etc.). Click Here to see the handout on Adjusting Data in the Global Financial Data database. Create a personal login for full functionality.
Provides long time series, and various interactive analysis tools. Global coverage is selective: can't guarantee that data will be available for every country. Note! UR does NOT subscribe to the US Stock or Global Stock Database sections.
ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.
Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.
Vizala This link opens in a new window
This database contains data for economics, market research, demographics, education, health and more from many different sources. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.
free and open source database
External Debt This link opens in a new window
Debt statistics provide a detailed picture of debt stocks and flows of developing countries. Data presented as part of the Quarterly External Debt Statistics takes a closer look at the external debt of high-income countries and emerging markets to enable a more complete understanding of global financial flows. The Quarterly Public Sector Debt database provides further data on public sector valuation methods, debt instruments, and clearly defined tiers of debt for central, state and local government, as well as extra-budgetary agencies and funds.
Data are gathered from national statistical organizations and central banks as well as by various major multilateral institutions and World Bank staff.

OECD Statistics
includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies. Covering 23 topics, including Demography/Population, Economics, Globalization, National Accounts, etc.

Related resources

Multi-purpose Sites
Currency Converter -- current exchange rates
◦ XE.com - just a quick, easy currency converter.
CPI / Inflation
Salaries / Cost of Living

AEAweb - RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet
Bill Goffe's Resources For Economists On The Internet
Library of Economics and Liberty - EconLib.org
the Library of Economics and Liberty. A notable new resource: offers full-text of classic economics texts, articles and essays on contemporary topics, a citation generator with choice of formats, reading lists and reviews of material to help you start further research, quote of the day, etc. Lauren F. Landsburg is the editor, Prof. Mark Bils is on the advisory board.
Page One Economics - Maintained by Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis
publications include variety of economic materials designed for a wide range of audiences with different levels of expertise.
Associations, Organizations...
Other Subject Guides

Meetings & Conferences

Job Sites for Economics Majors
General Job/Career Websites

Social Science Librarian

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing & Writing, Data & Statistics, Debate, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Government Information, Law, Management, Market & Industry Research, Marketing, Operations Management

Finding ebooks

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary ebook platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss ebook titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of ebooks on a wide range of topics. This collection of ebooks isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Complete List of Ebook Databases
Looking for ebooks in a certain discipline or field such as the humanities, social sciences, or sciences? Check out our complete list of ebook-focused databases!

* Economics: Home

Getting Started