LibGuides: * Chemical Engineering: Resources

Core Chemical Engineering Databases & Search Tools

Compendex This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and other literature on engineering, with some links to full text. Includes the Engineering Village backfile with access back to 1884.
Users should update their passwords.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
To use off campus, use VPN.
Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Full text of IEEE and IET journals, magazines, transactions and conference proceedings as well as active IEEE standards. Also includes access to the IEEE eLearning Library.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.

Research Rabbit
AI Tool to find more papers from some good ones. See videos and this
review for more.
Compare Chemical Engineering Databases

Chemical Engineering Journals

BrowZine App
Browse current Chemical Engineering Journals that University of Rochester subscribes to using a mobile app.

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Use the Catalog Search in DiscoverUR to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles, Books & More for searching for article authors and titles.

Need More?

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the Rochester region and nationally.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat, worldcat

Interlibrary Loan
Not finding the article or book you need in the library? Use this free service to obtain library resources. A pdf of an article is usually delivered in 24 - 48 hours.
Recommend a purchase
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.

Chemical Properties in Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Data for chemistry, physics, and engineering. Requires JAVA to view & manipulate tables. Print books are also available for browsing.

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards by Peter Urben (Editor)
ISBN: 9780123725639
Publication Date: 2006-11-28
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards is widely regarded as the reference work in this field - an assembly of all reported risks such as explosion, fire, toxic or high-energy events that result from chemical reactions gone astray, with extensive referencing to the primary literature. It is designed to improve safety in laboratories that perform chemical synthesis and general research, as well as chemical manufacturing plants. Entries are ordered by empirical formula and indexed under both name(s) and Chemical Abstracts Registry Numbers. This two-volume compendium focuses on reactivity risks of chemicals, alone and in combination; toxicity hazards are only included for unexpected reactions giving volatile poisons.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry by James G. Speight; Norbert Adolph Lange; John A. Dean
ISBN: 0071432205
Publication Date: 2005-01-10
Available in print at QD65 .L36 2005 and online, the Sixteenth Edition features an enormous compilation of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry.Included in this massive compendium are listings of the properties of approximately 4,400 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds.This Sixteenth Edition offers 40% new or extensively revised content and starting with this edition, the author includes equations that allow users to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure. Contents: Organic Compounds * General Information, Conversion Tables, and Mathematics * Inorganic Compounds * Properties of Atom, Radicals, and Bonds * Physical Properties * Thermodynamic Properties * Spectroscopy * Electrolytes, Electromotive Force and Chemicals * Physicochemical Relationships * Polymers, Rubbers,Fats, Oils, and Waxes * Practical Laboratory Information

Materials Properties

Total Materia This link opens in a new window
Total Materia covers material information on over 700,000 material designations from over 80+ standard organizations and 1000s of producer data sheets. The platform covers both metallic and non-metallic materials as well as basic mechanical and physical properties, stress-strain curves, fatigue data, corrosion information and much more.
VPN Required for off-campus access.
MatWeb This link opens in a new window
Property data for materials including polymers, metals, alloys, semiconductors, fibers and other engineering materials.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, etc.
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, chemical safety data, the Dorthmund Data Bank Software and Separation Technology (DDBST), a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases. The chemical safety data is from REACH: Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals, GHS: Globally Harmonized System, RoHS: Restriction of Hazardous Substances and WEEE: Waste from Electrical and Electronic Equipment.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
Data on metals properties and performance. Authoritative source on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology.
Online handbooks include: 26 volumes of the ASM Handbooks, 3 ASM Handbooks Supplements, and 2 ASM Desk Editions (Engineered Materials Handbook and Metal Handbook).

Patents

Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Patents and patent applications from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Has a thumbnail viewer for drawings.
Sporadically updated. More about Google Patent Search .
USPTO Patent Database This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents.
To view the full text patents, a plug-in is required. Go to the USPTO help page for more information. Full text for patents from 1976 - current. Pre-1976 patents are searchable only by patent number and current classification code.
Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Identifies patents from many countries, some with page images.
FreePatentsOnline This link opens in a new window
Full text and images of U.S. patents from 1974+, U.S. patent applications from 2001+, and European patents 2000+.
View patent images as pdf or other formats.
The Lens This link opens in a new window
The Lens serves integrated scholarly and patent knowledge as a public good to inform science and technology enabled problem solving. Discover, analyze, and map global innovation knowledge using our institutional subscription.

Also See SciFinder-n, Dimensions and Reaxys.

eBooks

ACS Symposium Series This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed chemistry E-book collection developed from American Chemical Society technical divisions' symposia.
Books24x7.com This link opens in a new window
Full text eBooks on computing and information technology.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Selected book titles in all disciplines. Formerly known as NetLibrary.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.
Synthesis Collection of Technology This link opens in a new window
Full-text series of eBook lectures on research topics in Computer Science and Engineering.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text of the entire O'Reilly collection of reference and how-to computer books.
Patrons must select Institution Not Listed and input their UR email to access the database.

Interlibrary Loan
Request books and journal articles using this free service from the University of Rochester.

Ebooks Help
by Kimberly Hoffman Last Updated Jul 26, 2019 13 views this year

Dissertations in Chemical Engineering

Print dissertations for chemical engineering are located in Rush Rhees library, Level G100m at Call number AS38.65 (PhD) or Call number AS38.495 (Masters), and then in alphabetical order by author. These can be borrowed like books. They can be found by searching the author and/or title words in the catalog or searching on the call number. Searching the advisor name in quotes as a keyword may also find recent ones. Limit to the "River Campus Libraries" to see print only or to the "internet" to see ebooks. Most ebooks will not have a call number.

Ph D Theses in UR Research
Search or Browse to find full text of ebook dissertations in Chemical Engineering from 2008 to present.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Identifies Ph.D. dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities since 1861. Abstracts from 1980. Many with full-text.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Identifies dissertations, theses cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Covers all subjects.
Based on records contributed by OCLC member libraries (71,000+ worldwide. This database contains over 8 million records.

Crystallography & Powder Diffraction Files

International tables for crystallography This link opens in a new window
Articles and tables of data relevant to crystallographic research and to applications of crystallographic methods.
Alternate access to volumes older than 2009 online is available at IUCR.
Cambridge Structural Database This link opens in a new window
Crystal structures of small organic and organometallic molecules.
Special instructions: Use public computers on the first floor of Carlson to access the full version of Cambridge Structural Database. Contact the Chemistry Outreach Librarian with questions.
Crystallography Open Database This link opens in a new window
Open access collection of crystal structures of minerals and organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds.

Powder diffraction file. Inorganic and organic by JCPDS International Centre for Diffraction Data
Call Number: QC482 .P68
Lists Powder Diffraction File Cards. We have volumes 1 - 42. Mechanical Engineering Department has the electronic version of the is database. Contact Chris Pratt.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail.
To use off campus, use VPN.
Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.

Chemistry Resources

Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Data for chemistry, physics, and engineering. Requires JAVA to view & manipulate tables. Print books are also available for browsing.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, etc.
Data in the physical sciences and engineering from Landolt-Bornstein, chemical safety data, the Dorthmund Data Bank Software and Separation Technology (DDBST), a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases. The chemical safety data is from REACH: Registration, Evaluation, Authorization and Restriction of Chemicals, GHS: Globally Harmonized System, RoHS: Restriction of Hazardous Substances and WEEE: Waste from Electrical and Electronic Equipment.
Combined Chemical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Find chemical properties and structures with related references.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references. Search by structure, name, molecular formula, CAS Registry number, property value or any combination. Retrieve basic property information, description of hazard, derivatives properties, and references to synthetic methods and spectra. Covers properties of inorganic, organic, organometallic, pharmacological agents, analytical reagents or natural products. This is the online version of "Dictionary of organic compounds", "Dictionary of natural products", "Dictionary of inorganic compounds", "Dictionary of organometallic compounds", "Dictionary of pharmacological agents", and "Dictionary of analytical reagents". For more information see the introduction on the database website.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of American Chemical Society journals.
Millipore Sigma This link opens in a new window
Chemical properties, structures, MSDS, pricing, IR and NMR spectra. Search by substance name, CAS registry number, product name or number. A plugin needs to be downloaded from the site to enable structure searching.
Protein Data Bank This link opens in a new window
3-D structural data of large molecules of proteins and nucleic acids.

Off Campus Access

All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.

NetID
Info about your NetID and password.
Active Directory
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.