It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACC 513 - Contemporary Topics in Accounting Research: Home
Library resources suggested for this class.
About this page
We’ve done our best to select the most pertinent materials for these Course Resources pages, but if these are not helping with yourtopic/project, we encourage you to use the Schedule an Appointment link in the Profile box on this page.
Private company profiles and financial data (sales, revenue, etc.), venture capital funding deals and investors, M&A, more. Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
Yes – you CAN get financial data for private companies! Also very useful for creating lists of companies by geography, industry – with more granular detail than by NAICS or SIC, although those are available as well – rate of growth in revenue or employees, and whether or not the companies are PE/VC backed or not. Useful for career searches or entrepreneurial searches (who else makes this product? How many [x] are located within 50 miles of [place]? Etc.)
To find financial ratios (especially averages or comparisons to the overall industry), try the following:
Contains financial ratios for industries and services, arranged by NAICS and SIC industry codes.
To find key ratios for the industry of your company: look up the company. 1) Click "Industry Classification" in the left hand panel. 2) click the most appropriate line of business in the tree structure. 3) Click "Key Stats & Ratios" in the left hand panel.
Includes Industry (reports by country), Company, and Country reports, plus Company News, Financial Deals, and Case Studies. Market size, segmentation, competition, forecasts.
Additional modules within MarketLine: Financial Deals Tracker: Track market activity with MarketLine's database of global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs, and partnerships. Company Prospector: Screen companies and build lists of potential business partners, clients, and investment targets in industries and countries of interest. Investment & Advisory Prospector: Identify advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries, and gain insight into the investment and inorganic strategy of companies. Company Report Generator: Generate fresh custom company reports featuring analytical text and charts which draw on MarketLine's company datasets. Example sections include company overview, history, SWOT analysis, M&A, partnerships and agreements, news and product information.
Journals from Elsevier Science. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines. Users should update their passwords.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.
Note: don't be put off by the "Science" in ScienceDirect: this database includes all the journals published by Elsevier, a premier scholarly publisher, and include Finance, Accounting, Economics, etc., as well as science topics.
Comprehensive source for U.S. accounting rules and corporate capital changes; includes full text of the GAAP Guide.
To get to the US Master GAAP Guide, once in the database, click on the Titles A-Z button, then "U" (for "US..."). The title will appear, click on it and it will appear as a source on the left. Browse or search as desired.
The resources provided here are my "best guess" for what you might need. And it may be that everything you need is supplied to your by your professor, no need for library resources at all. But if there's something else you need, please let me know, and together we will improve this resource guide!
The resources in this guide are a tiny sampling of what is available through library subscriptions. My Business Resources Guide arranges the whole gamut of business resources available to you into lists by type of information (articles, market research, companies, etc.) and by topic (Finance, Entrepreneurship, etc.) . Try these or simply get in touch and let me know what you need.