Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Medici Archive Project
"Provides access to an unparalleled range of digitized early modern material, [including] over 24,000 transcribed documentary records, 18,000 biographical entries, 87,000 geographical and topographical tags, and over 300,000 digitzed images from 292 volumes of the MEdiceo del Principato."
Online library of primary source texts, biographical information, and scholarly resources.
American Dante Bibliography
An online, searchable annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Dante, 1953-2007.
The Dartmouth Dante Project
A searchable full-text database containing 70+ commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy, ranging from the 14th century works of Dante’s own sons to the recent commentary of Robert Hollander.
This site, hosted by the University of Texas at Austin, is structured around a visual representation of Dante's worlds: it shows who and what appear where. Available for each region are explanatory notes, a gallery of artistic images, recordings of significant Italian verses, and study questions.
The ILTweb Digital Dante Project has features including the original text with the translations of Longfellow and Mandelbaum, an image collection, maps, excellent bibliography, and links to online resources.
Princeton Dante Project
Offers searchable versions of Dante’s major and minor works, along with cross-reference aids such as interpretive notes, critical commentary, and concordances.
Francesco Petrarch -- Father of Humanism
A website dedicated to the life and works of Petrarch. Provides a searchable version of the Canzoniere and English translations of this and many other works and letters. Also contains biographical information about Petrarch and important figures surrounding the poet.
Hosted by Brown University, this detailed website includes a biography, texts, character summaries, and links to history, literature, maps, and themes within the Also contains an online concordance to the Decameron, an Italian version of the Decameron and English translations of the text
Anglo-Norman, Old & Middle French, Provençal
Anglo-Norman Online Hub
Home of the Anglo-Norman Dictionary and scholarly articles on Anglo-Norman texts and culture.
Bibliographic entries for texts and authors, including manuscripts and secondary sources.
Base de français médiéval
Corpus of medieval French texts from the 9th - 15th centuries.
La Chanson de Roland
Digital tapestry illustrating the Ian Short translation of the Chanson de Roland.
The Princeton Charrette Project
"The Princeton Charrette Project is a complex, scholarly, multi-media electronic archive containing a medieval manuscript tradition—that of Chrétien de Troyes's Le Chevalier de la Charrette (Lancelot, ca. 1180)."
Roman de la Rose Digital Library
"The goal of the Roman de la Rose Digital Library is to create an online library of all manuscripts containing the 13th-century poem Roman de la Rose."
"Bio-bibliographical database of texts written in the various Romance vernaculars of the Iberian Peninsula during the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance."
LIBRO: The Library of Iberian Resources Online
"The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO) is a joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. Its task is to make available to users the best scholarship about the peoples and nations of the Iberian peninsula. Consequently, the book list is principally drawn from recent, but out-of-print university press monographs. In addition, the collection includes a number of basic texts and sources in translation. These are presented in full-text format and reproduce all the matter included in the original print version. The collection focuses upon peninsular history from the fifth to the seventeenth centuries."