LibGuides: * Medieval Studies: History

Online Primary Sources

Acta Sanctorum This link opens in a new window
The Acta Sanctorum database contains the entire Acta Sanctorum, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.

Anglo-American Legal Tradition
Documents from medieval and early modern England from the National Archives in London, digitized and organized by calendar year.

Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature This link opens in a new window
About 450 Latin works by over a hundred known and unknown authors, spanning the fields of theology, liturgy, computistics, grammar, hagiography, poetry and historiography, and including legal texts, charters, inscriptions, and more.

Diplomata Belgica
Diplomata Belgica offers a critical survey of all the diplomatic sources, edited or still unpublished, and issued by both natural persons and legal bodies from the medieval Southern Low Countries.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
Provides online access to historical documents, including papal letters, saints' lives, episcopal histories, literary texts, and other relevant documents.

Library of Latin Texts, Series A This link opens in a new window
The Library of Latin Texts is the leading database for Latin texts. Series A (LLT-A) contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, an extensive corpus of Medieval Latin as well as neo-Latin Latin literature (post-1500) The texts have been taken from leading editions, including the Corpus Christianorum series. The Library of Latin Texts is cross-searchable with other Brepols full-texts databases (namely the Aristoteles Latinus Database, the Monumenta Germaniae Historica, and the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature).
Medieval Travel Writing This link opens in a new window
Manuscript facsimiles, essays, etc. relating to travel and pilgrimage in the Middle Ages.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
Originally published in print in more than 300 volumes, covering a wide range of historical documents, divided into five major Series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates) and 33 subseries, the MGH continues its editorial program of critical editions. More than 1,450 texts are available. The MGH is cross-searchable with other full-text databases from Brepols, including links to the Database of Latin Dictionaries. Some volumes of the print edition reside in Rhees Stacks. See UR Catalog for details.
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Electronic, searchable version of Migne's 17 volume collection of writings by Church Fathers, from Tertullian to Pope Innocent III. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.

Plague and Public Health in Renaissance Europe
"This project involves the creation of a hypertext archive of narratives, medical consilia, governmental records, religious and spiritual writings and images documenting the arrival, impact and response to the problem of epidemic disease in Western Europe between 1348 and 1530."

Online Resources

An Analytic Bibliography of Online Neo-Latin Texts
An analytic bibliography of Latin texts written during the Renaissance and later that are freely available to the general public on the Web

British History Online This link opens in a new window
A digital library of key printed primary and secondary sources for the history of Britain and Ireland.

Byzantium: Byzantine Studies On The Internet
Collection of online resources for Byzantine Studies.
EuroDocs

Europa Sacra This link opens in a new window
Europa Sacra is the most comprehensive tool for studying Church prelates from the Early Church to the Early Modern period. The database provides complete coverage of Church prelates, information on all 1300 medieval bishoprics, archdioceses and patriarchates and prosopographical information on 18,507 bishops, archbishops and patriarchs.

Feminae
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Historische Hilfwissenschaften
Links to a range of online resources for the study of history (NB: has not been updated since 2009).

Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A bibliography of more than 1.3 million citations for secondary source material about the European Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.

Medieval Jewish History Resource Directory
Médiévales
French-language open access journal of medieval studies.
Mirabile: Digital archives for Medieval Latin culture
An online content aggregator of Medieval resources. Contains Medioevo latino : a bibliographical bulletin of European culture from Boethius to Erasmus, VI to XV centuries (MEL) ; Bibliotheca scriptorum latinorum medii recentiorisque aevi (BISLAM) ; and Compendium auctorum latinorum medii aevi (500-1500) (CALMA). Includes full-text content from several related online journals.
Mittelalter
German-language resources, including articles, encyclopedia entries, digital humanities resources, etc.
Monastic Matrix
A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 - 1600.
Orbis Latinus
Dictionary of Latin place names and their vernacular equivalents.
Premodern Maternal Mortality Index
A searchable index of data on medieval and early modern women who died in childbirth. Project by Dr. Samantha Katz Seal.