Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

* Medieval Studies: Medieval Drama

Guide to interdisciplinary research in medieval studies.

Resources & Bibliography

General Resources

Approaches to Teaching Medieval English Drama. Ed. Richard K. Emmerson. New York: The Modern Language Association of America, 1990. (Robbins and Stacks PR 641 .A8 1990)

The Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Theatre. Ed. Richard Beadle and Alan J.Fletcher. 2nd ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008. (Robbins PN 2587 .C36 2008)

A Companion to the Medieval Theatre. Ed. Ronald W. Vince. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1989. (Robbins PN 2152 .C66 1989)

Medieval English Drama: A Casebook. Ed. Peter Happé. London: Macmillan, 1984. (Robbins and Stacks PR 641 .M43 1984)

The Revels History of Drama in English. Volume I: Medieval Drama. By A. C. Cawley, Marion Jones, Peter F. McDonald and David Mills. London: Methuen, 1983. (Robbins and Stacks PR 625 .R44 v.1)

Vince, Ronald W. Ancient and Medieval Theatre: A Historiographical Handbook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984. (Robbins and Stacks PN 2131 .V5 1984)

Bibliographies

 
International Medieval Bibliography – 400 - 1500
Multi-disciplinary database listing articles and books about the European Middle Ages.
 
MLA International Bibliography – Via ProQuest – Varies
Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore, most published since 1926.

Berger, Sidney E. Medieval English Drama: An Annotated Bibliography of Recent Criticism. New York: Garland, 1990. (Robbins PR 641 .B47 1990)

Houle, Peter J. The English Morality and Related Drama: A Bibliographical Survey. Hamden, CT: Archon Books, 1972. (Robbins and Reference PR 643 .M7 H6)

Stratman, Carl J. Bibliography of Medieval Drama. 2 vols. 2d ed., rev. & enl. New York: Frederick Ungar, 1972. (Includes sections on English drama as well as on liturgical Latin drama and the drama of France, Germany, etc.) (Robbins and Reference PN 1751 .S89b 1972)

White, D. Jerry. Early English Drama, Everyman to 1580: A Reference Guide. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1986. (Robbins and Reference Z 2014 .D7 W48 1986)

Critical Studies

Aronson-Lehavi, Sharon. Street Scenes: Late Medieval Acting and Performance. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011. (Robbins PR 643 .M5 A76 2011)

Aspects of Early English Drama. Ed. Paula Neuss. Cambridge: D. S. Brewer and Totowa, New Jersey: Barnes & Noble, 1983. (Robbins and Stacks PR 641 .A86 1983)

Beckwith, Sarah. Signifying God: Social Relation and Symbolic Act in the York Corpus Christi Plays. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2001. (Robbins PR 644 .Y6 B43 2001)

'Bring furth the pagants': Essays in Early English Drama Presented to Alexandra F. Johnston. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2007. (Robbins PN 2583 .B75 2007)

Chambers, E. K. The Mediaeval Stage. 2 vols. London: Oxford University Press, 1903 [i.e., 1948]. (Robbins PN 2152 .C4 1903a and Stacks [London: Clarendon, 1903] PN 2152 .C44m)

Contexts for Early English Drama Ed. Marianne G. Briscoe and John C. Coldewey. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1989. (Robbins and Stacks PR 641 .C68 1989)

Davidson, Clifford. Festivals and Plays in Late Medieval Britain. Aldershot: Ashgate, 2009. (Robbins PR 641 .D37 2007)

Davenport, W. A. Fifteenth-Century English Drama: The Early Moral Plays and Their Literary Relations. 1982; rpt. Cambridge: D. S. Brewer, 1984. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643 .M7 D3 1982)

Davidson, Clifford. Illustrations of the Stage and Acting in England to 1580. Kalamzaoo: Medieval Institute Publications, 1991. (Robbins Oversize PN 2587 .D38 1991)

Diller, Hans-Jürgen. The Middle English Mystery Play: A Study in Dramatic Speech and Form. Trans. Frances Wessels. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1992. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643 .M8 D55 1992)

Drama in the Middle Ages: Comparative and Critical Essays. Ed. Clifford Davidson, C. J. Gianakaris, and John H. Stroupe. New York: AMS Press, 1982. (Robbins and Stacks PN 1751 .D73 1982)

Drama in the Middle Ages: Comparative and Critical Essays. Second Series. Ed. Clifford Davidson and John H. Stroupe. New York: AMS Press, 1991. (Robbins and Stacks PN 1751 .D73 1991)

The Dramatic Tradition of the Middle Ages. Ed. Clifford Davidson. New York: AMS Press, 2005. (Robbins PN 1751 .D76 2005)

Elliott, John R., Jr. Playing God: Medieval Mysteries on the Modern Stage Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1989. (Robbins PR 641 .E44

Gardiner, Harold C. Mysteries' End: An Investigation of the Last Days of the Medieval Religious Stage. [Hamden, Connecticut]: Archon Books, 1967 [c. 1946]. (Robbins PR 641 .G3 1967). New Haven: Yale University Press, 1947. (Stacks PN 1751 .G22m).

Gibson, Gail McMurray. The Theater of Devotion: East Anglian Drama and Society in the Late Middle Ages. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1989. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .E28 G53 1989)

Harris, John Wesley. Medieval Theatre in Context: An Introduction. London: Routledge, 1992. (Robbins PN 1751 .H38 1992)

Helterman, Jeffrey. Symbolic Action in the Plays of the Wakefield Master. Athens: University of Georgia Press, 1981. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .W3 H4)

Hill-Vasquez, Heather. Sacred Players: The Politics of Response in the Middle English Religious Drama. Washington,m D. C.: The Catholic University of America Press, 2007. (Robbins PR 643 .M5 H55 2007)

Kipling, Gordon. Enter the King: Theatre, Liturgy, and Ritual in the Medieval Civic Triumph. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1998. (Robbins and Stacks GT 3980 .K56 1998)

Kolve, V. A. A Play Called Corpus Christi. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1966. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643.1 .K81p)

Medieval Drama: Critical Concepts in Literary and Cultural Studies. 4 vols. Ed. John C. Coldewey. London: Routledge, 2007. [4 vols. of essays on medieval drama.] (Robbins PN 1751 .M44 2007, v. 1-v. 4)

Medieval Drama. Ed. Neville Denny. London: Edward Arnold, 1973. (Robbins and Stacks PN 1751 .M433)

Medieval English Drama: Essays Critical and Contextual. Ed. Jerome Taylor and Alan H. Nelson. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1972. (Robbins and Stacks PR 641 .T3)

Mills, DAvid. Recycling the Cycle: The City of Chester and Its Whitsun Plays.  Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1998. (Robbins PR 644 .C4 M55 1998)

Murphy, Diane. Medieval Mystery Plays as Popular Culture: Performing the Lives of the Saints. Lampeter: The Edwin Mellen Press, 2006. (Robbins PN 1761 .M87 2006)

Nelson, Alan H. The Medieval English Stage: Corpus Christi Pageants and Plays. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1974. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643 .C7 N4)

Normington, Katie. Medieval English Drama. Cambridge: Polity Press, 2009. (Robbins PN 2587 .N67 2009)

Potter, Robert. The English Morality Play: Origins, History and Influence of a Dramatic Tradition. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1975. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643 .M7 P96 1975)

REED in Review: Essays in Celebration of the First Twenty-Five Years. Ed. Audrey Douglas and Sally-Beth MacLean. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2006. (Robbins PN 2583 .R43 2006)

Schnusenberg, Christine C. Mythological Traditions of Liturgical Drama: The Eucharist as Theater. New York: Paulist Press, 2010. (Robbins PN 1647 .S36 2010)

Stevens, Martin. Four Middle English Mystery Cycles: Textual, Contextual, and Critical Interpretations. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1987. (Robbins PR 643 .M8 S7 1987)

Stevens, Martin, and Milla Riggio, Guest Co-Editors. Mediaevalia 18 (1995 [for 1992]). [A special issue containing "essays that reflect some of the most recent theoretical interests" applied primarily to medieval English drama.] (Robbins Periodicals)

Teaching with the Records of Early English Drama. Ed. Elza C. Tiner. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2006. (Robbins PN 2587 .T42 2006)

Travis, Peter W. Dramatic Design in the Chester Cycle. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1982. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .C4 T7 1982)

Wickham, Glynne. The Medieval Theatre. 3d ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1987. (Robbins and Stacks PN 2152 .W5 1987)

Williams, Arnold. The Characterization of Pilate in the Towneley Plays. East Lansing: Michigan State College Press, 1950. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .T7 W72c)

The Wisdom Symposium: Papers from the Trinity College Medieval Festival. Ed. Milla Cozart Riggio. New York: AMS Press, 1986. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .W58 W57 1986)

Woolf, Rosemary. The English Mystery Plays. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1972. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643 .M8 W6)

Records and Documents

Records of Early English Drama:

  • Bristol (Robbins PN 2596 .B75 B75 1997)
  • Cambridge (2 vols.) (Robbins and Stacks PN 2596 .C35 C35 1989)
  • Cheshire including Chester (2 vols.) (Robbins PN 2595.5 .C5 C44 2007)
  • Chester (Robbins and Stacks PN 2596 .C48 C4)
  • Coventry (Robbins and Stacks PN 2596 .C68 C6 1981)
  • Cumberland, Westmorland, Gloucestershire (Robbins and Stacks PN 2595.5 .C89 C8 1986)
  • Devon (Robbins and Stacks PN 2596 .D48 D48)
  • Dorset, Cornwall (Robbins and Stacks PN 2595.5 .D67 D6 1999)
  • Ecclesiastical London (Robbins PN 2596 .L6 E33 2008)
  • Herefordshire, Worcestershire (Robbins and Stacks PN 2595.5 .H47 H47 1990)
  • Inns of Court (3 vols.) (Robbins PN 2599 .L6 I56 2010)
  • Kent: Diocese of Canterbury (3 vols.) (Robbins PN 2595.5 .K45 K45 2002)
  • Lancashire (Robbins PN 2595.5 .L35 L35 1991)
  • Lincolnshire (2 vols.) (Robbins PN 2595.5 .L46 L56 2009)
  • Newcastle upon Tyne (Robbins and Stacks PN 2596 .N6 N48)
  • Norwich 1540-1642 (Robbins and Stacks PN 2596 .N67 N6 1984)
  • Oxford (2 vols.) (Robbins PN 2596 .O94 R43 2004)
  • Shropshire (2 vols.) (Robbins PN 2596 .S67 S57 1994)
  • Somerset (2 vols.) (Robbins PN 2595.5 .S66 R43 1996)
  • Sussex (Robbins PN 2595.5 .S88 S88 2000)
  • Wales (Robbins PN 2607 .W35 2005)
  • York (2 vols.) (Robbins and Stacks PN 2596 .Y6 Y6)

Dramatic Texts and Records of Britain: A Chronological Topography to 1558. Ed. Ian Lancashire. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1984. (Robbins and Stacks PN 2585 .L263 1984)

Lumiansky, R. M. and David Mills. The Chester Mystery Cycle: Essays and Documents. With an Essay, "Music in the Cycle," by Richard Rastall. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1983. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .C4 L85 1983)

Tretise of Miraclis Pleyinge: A Middle English Treatise on the Playing of Miracles. Ed. Clifford Davidson. Washington: University Press of America, 1981. (Robbins and Stacks PR 641 .T7 1981)

Mill, Anna Jean. Mediaeval Plays in Scotland. 1924; rpt. New York: Benjamin Bloom, 1969. (Contains a long section of documents relating to medieval drama in Scotland.) (Robbins and Stacks PR 8585 .M64m 1969)

Liturgical Background

Hardison, O. B. Christian Rite and Christian Drama in the Middle Ages: Essays in the Origin and Early History of Modern Drama. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins Press, 1965. (Robbins and Stacks PN 1751 .H26c)

Young, Karl. The Drama of the Medieval Church 2 vols. Corrected reprint of 1933 ed. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1967. (Robbins PN 1751.Y6 1967)

Art and Music

Collins, Patrick J. The N-Town Plays and Medieval Picture Cycles. Forward by Clifford Davidson. Kalamazoo: Medieval Institute Publications, Western Michigan University, 1979. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .C8 C6)

Davidson, Clifford. Drama and Art: An Introduction to the Use of Evidence from the Visual Arts for the Study of Early Drama. Kalamazoo: The Medieval Institute, Western Michigan University, 1977. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643 .M8 D34)

Davidson, Clifford. Visualizing the Moral Life: Medieval Iconography and the Macro Morality Plays. New York: AMS Press, 1989. (Robbins and Stacks PR 643 .M7 D43 1989)

Happé, Peter. Song in Morality Plays & Interludes. Lancaster [Eng.]: Medieval English Theatre, 1991. (Robbins PR 643 .M7 H36 1991)

Homo, Memento Finis: The Iconography of Just Judgment in Medieval Art and Drama. Papers by David Bevington, Huston Diehl, Richard Kenneth Emmerson, Ronald Herzman, and Pamela Sheingorn. Kalamazoo: Medieval Institute Publications, Western Michigan University, 1985. (Robbins PR 643 .J83 H66 1985)

Staging

Burns, Edward. The Chester Mystery Cycle: A New Staging Text. Liverpool: Liverpool University Press, 1987. (Robbins Oversize PR 1261 .C54 B87 1987)

Southern, Richard. Medieval Theatre in the Round: A Study of the Staging of The Castle of Perseverance and Related Matters. 2d ed. New York: Theatre Arts Books, 1975. (Robbins PN 2587 .S6 1975b)

The Staging of Religious Drama in Europe in the Later Middle Ages: Texts and Documents in English Translation. Trans. Raffaella Ferrari, et al. Ed. Peter Meredith and John E. Tailby. Kalamazoo: Medieval Institute Publications, Western Michigan University, 1983. (Robbins and Stacks PN 2152 .S73)

Staging the Chester Cycle: Lectures Given on the Occasion of the Production of the Cycle at Leeds in 1983. Ed. David Mills. Leeds: The University of Leeds School of English, 1985. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .C4 S73 1985)

Tydeman, William. English Medieval Theatre 1400-1500. London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1986. (Robbins and Stacks PN 2587 .T93 1986)

Chester Cycle

Edition:

The Chester Mystery Cycle. Ed. R. M. Lumiansky and David Mills. Oxford: Published for the Early English Text Society published by the Oxford University Press, 1974. SS 3. (Robbins PR 1119 .E57)

Facsimiles:

The Chester Mystery Cycle: A Facsimile of MS Bodley 175. Ed. R. M. Lumiansky and David Mills. Leeds: The University of Leeds School of English, 1973. (Robbins Oversize and Stacks PR 1260 .C36 1973)

The Chester Mystery Cycle: A Reduced Facsimile of Huntington Library MS 2. Ed. R. M. Lumiansky and David Mills. Leeds: The University of Leeds School of English, 1980. (Robbins Oversize and Stacks PR 1261 .C54)

The Chester Mystery Cycle: A Facsimile of British Library MS Harley 2124. Ed. David Mills. Leeds: The University of Leeds School of English, 1984. (Robbins Oversize and Stacks Oversize PR 1261 .C54 1984)

Concordance:

Complete Concordance to the Chester Mystery Plays. Ed. Jean D. Pfleiderer and Michael J. Preston. New York: Garland, 1981. (Stacks PR 644 .C4 P47 1981)

The N-Town Plays

(Also called HEGGE PLAYS, after former owner Robert Hegge, and LUDUS COVENTRIAE, though not from Coventry.)

Editions:

The N-Town Plays.  Ed. Douglas Sugano, with assistance by Victor I. Scherb.  Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2007. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1260 .N6 2007)

The N-Town Play: Cotton MS Vespasian D. 8. 2 Vols. Ed. Stephen Spector. Oxford: Published for the Early English Text Society published by the Oxford University Press, 1991. SS 11 and 12. (Robbins PR 1119 .E57)

Facsimile:

The N-Town Plays: A Facsimile of British Library MS Cotton Vespasian D VIII. Ed. Peter Meredith and Stanley J. Kahrl. Leeds: The University of Leeds, School of English, 1977). (Robbins Oversize and Stacks PR 1260 .C64 1977)

The Towneley Cycle:

(So called after former owner Christopher Towneley, and also called THE WAKEFIELD CYCLE.)

Edition:

The Towneley Plays. 2 Vols. Ed. Martin Stevens and A. C. Cawley. Oxford: Published for the Early English Text Society by the Oxford University Press, 1994. SS 13 and 14. (Robbins PR 1119 .E57)

Facsimile:

The Towneley Cycle: A Facsimile of Huntington MS HM 1. Ed. A. C. Cawley and Martin Stevens. Leeds: The University of Leeds School of English, 1976. (Robbins Oversize and Stacks PR 1260 .T74c 1976)

Concordances:

A Concordance to the Towneley Plays. Ed. Gerald Byron Kinneavy. New York: Garland, 1990. (Robbins PR 644 .T6 K5 1990)

A KWIC Concordance to the Plays of the Wakefield Master. Ed. Michael J. Preston and Jean D. Pfleiderer. New York: Garland, 1982. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .W3 P7 1982)

The York Cycle

Editions:

The York Corpus Christi Plays. Ed. Clifford Davidson. Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2011. (Robbins aND Stacks PR 1261 .Y67 2011)

York Plays; the plays performed by the crafts or mysteries of York, on the day of Corpus Christi in the 14th, 15th, and 16th centuries. Ed. Lucy Toulmin Smith. New York: Russell & Russell, 1963. (Robbins PR 1260 .Y63s1 1963)

Facsimile:

The York Play: A Facsimile of British Library MS Additional 35290 Together with a Facsimile of the Ordo Paginarum Section of the A/Y Memorandum Book. Ed. Richard Beadle and Peter Meredith with a note on the music by Richard Rastall. Leeds: The University of Leeds School of English, 1983. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1260 .Y67 1983)

Concordance:

A Concordance to the York Plays. Compiled by Gerald Byron Kinneavy. Textual Intro. by Richard Beadle. New York: Garland, 1986. (Robbins and Stacks PR 644 .Y6 K56 1986)

Modern Performances:

Rogerson, Margaret. Playing a Part in History: The York Mysteries, 1951-2006. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2009. (Robbins PR 2596 .Y6 R63 2009)

The Digby Plays

Edition:

The late medieval religious plays of Bodleian Mss Digby 133 and E. Museo 160. Ed. Donald C. Baker and John L. Murphy and Louis B. Hall. Oxford: Published for the Early English Text Society by the Oxford University Press, 1982. OS 283. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1260 .D57ba2)

Facsimile:

The Digby Plays: Facsimiles of the Plays in Bodley MSS Digby 133 and e Museo 160. Ed. Donald C. Baker and J. L. Murphy. Leeds: The University of Leeds School of English, 1976. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1260 .D57ba

Miscellaneous Cycle and Non-Cycle Plays

Editions:

Croxton Play of the Sacrament. Ed. John Thomas.  Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2012.

John Lydgate. Mummings and Entertainments. Ed. Claire Sponsler.  Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2010. (Robbins and Stacks PR 2032 .S66 2010)

Non-Cycle Plays and Fragments. Ed. Norman Davis. Oxford: Published for the Early English Text Society by the Oxford University Press, 1970. SS 1. (Robbins PR 1119 .E57 and Stacks PR 1260 .D26n)

Facsimile:

Non-Cycle Plays and The Winchester Dialogues: Facsimiles of Plays and Fragments in Various Manuscripts and the Dialogues in Winchester College MS 33. Ed. Norman Davis. Leeds: The University of Leeds, School of English, 1979. (Robbins Oversize and Stacks PR 1260 .N66)

Morality Plays

Editions:

Ed. Mark Eccles. Oxford: Published for the Early English Text Society by the Oxford University Press, 1969. OS 262. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1260 .E17m)

The Castle of Perseverance.  Ed. David N. Klausner.  Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2010. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1261 .C3 2010)

Everyman and Its Dutch Original, Elckerlijc

. Ed. Clifford Davidson, Martin W. Walsh, and Ton J Broos.  Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2007. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1261 .E8 2007)

The Macro Plays: The Castle of Perseverance, Wisdom, Mankind.

Two Moral Interludes: The Pride of Life and Wisdom.  Ed. David N. Klausner.  Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2009. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1259 .I5 T922 2009)
Facsimile:

The Macro Plays: The Castle of Perseverance, Wisdom, Mankind. A Facsimile Edition with Facing Transcriptions. Ed. David Bevington. New York: Johnson Reprint Co., 1972. (Stacks PR 1260 .B4)

Mankind. Ed. Kathleen M. Ashley and Gerard NeCastro. Kalamazoo, MI: Medieval Institute Publications, 2010. (Robbins and Stacks PR 1261 .M3 2010)