Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hello! I'm Kristen Totleben, and I'm here to help you find the best (and most efficient) ways to do research. I'm happy to meet with you in person, or via email, chat or telephone.
Encyclopedias and Bibliographies
A customizable general reference solution for librarians and learners offering more than 600 titles from over 80 publishers.
Dictionaries, Grammar and Writing
German Unabridged Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2008-03-11
The Collins German Unabridged Dictionary is simply the best German dictionary you can buy. Here's why: Hundreds of thousands of entries and translations: The Collins German Unabridged Dictionary contains the most comprehensive coverage of both German and English and the most up-to-date business, political, and technical terms. Most up-to-date: This edition has been extensively revised and updated to cover the recent worldwide German spelling reform. Its vocabulary of today's German, including thousands of new phrases and indicators, is complete and exhaustive. This edition also includes full coverage of key words and full treatment of irregular forms of verbs, nouns, and adjectives to create the most complete and accurate picture of the German language available today. More colloquial usage than any other German dictionary: With its emphasis on current German and English--both written and spoken--including all areas of modern life and featuring regional usage, this dictionary gives you the edge in understanding and choosing the most appropriate translation. New terms in this edition include: Billigjoblow-paid job Biokraftstofforganic fuel Chillento chill out Handyverbotcell phone ban Radikal-fundamentalistischradical fundamentalist
German for Reading Knowledge by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Learn to apply basic German grammar and vocabulary to reading and translating progressively complex texts with the seventh edition of JANNACH'S GERMAN FOR READING KNOWLEDGE. Recognized as the leader in teaching reading skills, this text provides the tools you need to read specialized literature in your field. The Book Companion Website contains the readings that appear in each chapter, plus new comprehension questions and activities about the readings that are designed to let you practice specific reading skills. An online answer key also is included on the website so you can check your answers to the activities in the text.
Articles and other Sources
Articles & Books searches much of the library's content in a single search. It's a great place to start!
- Search settings can be changed on the results page.
- To limit to just scholarly articles, select Scholarly & Peer-Review in the upper left of search results.
- Articles & Books Search Tips will help to get you started.
If the library doesn't have an article you want, request it via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get it for you, often in just a day or two. (Learn more about UR Interlibrary Loan in this YouTube video.)
Modern Languages & Cultures Librarian
Subjects:Chinese Language and Culture
, Comparative Literature
, East Asian Studies
, French Language and Culture
, German Language and Culture
, Italian Language and Culture
, Japanese Language and Culture
, Korean Language and Culture
, Languages and Cultures
, Literary Translation Studies
, Portuguese Language and Culture
, Russian Language and Culture
, Spanish & Latin American Language and Culture
, Writing Program