LibGuides: CHEM 208 Organic Chemistry: SciFinder-n

Introduction

The CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform hosts three searchable databases. You can switch between these databases using the three dot menu on the upper left.

CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan. CAS Formulus, and CAS Analytical Methods have recently been added and can be found under the three dot menu on the upper left. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN..

CAS Formulus
An integrated formulations database and workflow solution. With curated information from patents and journals spanning various industries, CAS Formulus helps formulation scientists evaluate ingredients, find suppliers, and explore regulatory requirements.
CAS Analytical Methods
Search and compare the latest published scientific methods across multiple fields of study. Provides easy-to-read experimental details.

Registration

Register
Students, Faculty and staff may freely register to use SciFinder for educational purposes. Use a University of Rochester email address.

Sources of Content

SciFinder pulls content from several files:

CAS Content
OVERVIEW.
CAS References
Updated daily, CAS References (formerly known as the CAPlus file) contains titles, abstracts and indexing for journal articles, patents, dissertations and much more.
CAS Registry File (Substance Information)
The CAS Registry file contains over 155 million unique chemical substances and more that 68 million sequences. You can find names and synonyms, property and spectral data, preparation methods, and commerical availability with a link to articles or patents in other files that contain it.
CAS Reactions
Updated daily, CAS Reactions (formerly CASREACT) contains millions of single- and multi-step reactions including many synthetic preparations.
CAS Commercial Sources
Identifies chemical suppliers and was formerly known as CHEMCATS.
CAS Chemical Compliance Index (formerly CHEMLIST)
CAS Chemical Compliance Index shares what regulatory lists a chemical is on. It is also a good source of names for chemicals in a variety of languages.
MARPAT (Substances in patents)
MARPAT searches markush structures - or structures that are general and vague and represent a collection of substances - that are often found in patents.
CIN - Chemistry Industry Notes
CIN contributes titles, abstracts and indexing including Registry Numbers, from trade publications including government documents, trade magazines and newsletters.
ChemZent
Abstracts for articles from 1830 from Chemisches Zentralblatt translated into English

SciFinder searches MEDLINE and CAPLUS files simultaneously.

SciFinder Tools

PatentPak
Scroll down to view a video about quickly locating relevant information within patents.
Retrosynthesis Plan
See SciFinder’s suggested route for preparing a compound from commercially available precursors. See this how-to video
Biosequence Search
Introductory video on biosequence search
CAS Forumulus
A human-curated formulation database and helps formulation scientists create products that are safe and effective.
CAS Analytical Methods
Presents analytical methods published in top journals
SciFinder Mobile Use

Off Campus Access

All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.

NetID
Info about your NetID and password.
Active Directory
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.

System Requirements

SciFinder System Requirements