LibGuides: GSWS 259 Food Matters: Gender, Religion, Ethnicity, and Consumerism (Bakhmetyeva): Digital and Online Resources

Digital Collections of Cookbooks and menues

Badger Bites (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Buttolph collection of menus (New York Public Library)
Culinary Historians of New York
Culinary History Collection Cookbooks (Virginia Tech)
Feeding America (Michigan State University) An online collection of American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. This site features a glossary of cookery terms and images of antique cooking implements from the collections of the MSU Museum.
The Food Timeline A timeline of food history, recipes and ingredients launched in 1999 by by a reference librarian Lynne Olver and curated by her up until her passing in 2015.
Genesee Valley Historical Reprints Cookbook Collection (SUNY Geneseo)
Internet Archive Cookbook and Home Economics Collection Digitized books from UCLA, Berkeley and the Prelinger Library in San Francisco. Access to full-text requires free account creation/login.
Mass Observation (MO) Archive (UK) Including diaries, directives and a published MO Survey, all from the 1950-51 food austerity era, in addition to other ‘contextual’ sources such as ephemera (menus and leaflets) and recipe books.
Menu Collection (Los Angeles Public Library)
Menus, the Art of Dining (University of Nevada Las Vegas)
Mexican Cookbook Collection (University of Texas at San Antonio) Part of UTSA’s Mexican Cookbook Collection with titles in English and Spanish documenting the variety and history of Mexican cuisine from 1789 to the present, with most books dating from 1940-2000. In addition to broad general coverage, the collection includes concentrations in the areas of regional cooking, healthy and vegetarian recipes, corporate advertising cookbooks, and manuscript recipe books.
The Sifter Searchable database of 5,000 historical cookbooks, covering 1,000 Years of food history. It does not contain the texts of books or recipes. Rather it has the details about these, such as dedications, table of contents, recipes and in greater detail, the particular details of the recipes such as ingredients, actions and equipment.
Thomas Gloning: Culinary & Dietetic Texts 1350-1800
What’s on the menu? (New York Public Library Menu Collection)

Other helpful Resources

University of Missouri's Prices and Wages by Decade

Encyclopedia of American Social Movements online by Immanuel Ness
ISBN: 0765680459
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.

USDA Household Food Security in the United States in 2016