LibGuides: CASC 152 Bridging the Gap: Dialogue Across Difference: Home

Course Readings

The River Campus Libraries is happy to purchase electronic copies of assigned texts when available for course reserve. Some e-book vendors and publishers place a limit on the number of simultaneous users that can access a particular text. This is a decision made by the vendors and publishers and is not a policy determined by the library. It is highly recommended that you plan ahead for all course readings and "close" the book when finished so that all members of your class may enjoy access to the text.

Articles

"Many Progressives Have a Conservative Belief System — Can We All Come Together?"
By Simon Greer; Published in Salon on July 25, 2019
"Civility is Overrated"
By Adam Serwer; Published in Atlantic Monthly as "Against Reconciliation" in December 2019

Books

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
(3 simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2020
The Righteous Mind: Why Good People are Divided by Politics and Religion by Jonathan Haidt
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
(1 simultaneous user)
Publication Date: 2012
The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story by Nikole Hannah-Jones
Call Number: ProQuest Ebook Central
(2 simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2021
Transforming the Police: Thirteen Key Reforms by Charles M. Katz; Edward R. Maguire
Call Number: HV8141 .T73 2020 (Rush Rhees Q&i Desk, Reserve Collection)
Publication Date: 2020
The Plan: After Police Reform that will Guarantee Social Justice and Progress for the Black Community by Reco McCambry
Call Number: HV8141 .M33 2020 (Rush Rhees Q&i Desk, Reserve Collection)
Publication Date: 2020
The Color of Law: A Forgotten History of How Our Government Segregated America by Richard Rothstein
Call Number: E185.61 .R8185 2017 (Rush Rhees Q&i Desk, Reserve Collection)
Publication Date: 2017
Police Reform: Moving From Slogans to Solutions by Edward Zaccaro
Call Number: HV8141 .Z33 2021 (Rush Rhees Q&i Desk, Reserve Collection)
Publication Date: 2021
No More Police: A Case for Abolition by Mariame Kaba; Andrea Ritchie
Call Number: EBSCO Ebooks
(Unlimited simultaneous users)
Publication Date: 2022

Library Databases

Scholarly Articles

ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database is a great starting point for most topics. It provides full-text access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, as well as trade journals, magazines, news stories, and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more
EBSCOHost This link opens in a new window
Our EBSCOHost package searches across a range of databases including Humanities Full Text and Social Sciences Full Text, two full-text resources containing sources from a variety of disciplines. Be sure to use the filters to the left of your results to limit your search by the source type that you need (e.g. peer-reviewed journals).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great starting place for most topics. Particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals from history, area studies, anthropology, literature, film and media studies, and more. Watch this short tutorial for tips on getting the most out of your JSTOR search.
Video: Search Tips When Using JSTOR
This tutorial includes a series of three videos. While I recommend watching the full tutorial (total runtime: 5 minutes, 31 seconds), you can also select a specific segment from this list:
Setting your search options in JSTOR (runtime: 1 minute, 53 seconds)
Managing your results list in JSTOR (runtime: 2 minutes, 40 seconds)
Using JSTOR's topic terms (runtime: 58 seconds)
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on all aspects of speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies.
Many major journals have indexing, abstracts and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX is an abstract database focusing on sociology research back to 1895. If you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Includes some links to full text.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to a core collection of primary and secondary sources that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times.

Opinion Surveys

Roper Center for Public Opinion - iPOLL This link opens in a new window
Survey results, questionnaires, and possible dataset download option for an extensive collection of public opinion polls.

Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. [The Center] conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."

News Sources

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch provides full-text access to newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority press including titles relevant to Jewish studies, African American studies, Hispanic American studies, and Native American studies.
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. In addition to top newspapers such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, the database includes news wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, news sites, and more.