It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
* Classical Greece and Rome: Guide to Research
This subject guide provides reliable resources pertaining to the study of Classical Greece and Rome, including the study of Latin and Greek languages.
This page is currently under construction. If you have any recommendations of content you would like to see on this guide, please email Lara Nicosia (firstname.lastname@example.org). Thank you for your patience as we work to ensure this guide remains useful and relevant to the University of Rochester community!
Indexes scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowFull text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat to locate materials outside of UR, in all disciplines and formats, or to locate items in specific libraries and research collections.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat
Getting started: encyclopedia and introductory works
If you're getting started on your topic, begin by checking out these encyclopedia and bibliography databases in the next section. They'll provide you with a basic background for your topic, and a list of important papers published on your topic. This is a great time-saver.
In the left-hand column, you'll find links to databases that have material on Roman art and architecture.
Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world - Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman - from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figuresand events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths. Areas covered include: * Greek and Latin Literature * Authors and Their Works * Historical Figures and Events * Religion and Mythology * Art, Artists, Artistic Themes, and Materials * Archaeology, Philosophers, and Philosophical Schools * Science and Technology * Politics, Economics, and Society * Material Culture and Everyday Life
Publication Date: 2009-12-31
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Rome by Paul Erdkamp (Editor)The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Rome offers thirty-one original essays by leading historians, classicists and archaeologist on the largest metropolis of the Roman Empire. While the Colosseum, imperial palaces and Pantheon are famous features of the Roman capital, Rome is addressed in this volume primarily as a city in which many thousands of men and women were born, lived, and died. The clearly written and succinct chapters discuss numerous issues related to the capital of the Roman Empire: from the monuments and the games to the food- and water supply, from policing and riots to domestic housing, from death and disease to pagan cults and the impact of Christianity. Richly illustrated and designed as a readable survey accessible to all audiences, the Companion explains ground-breaking new research against the background of current debate and reaches a level of sophistication that will be appreciated by the experts.
Publication Date: 2013-08-29
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by Graham Shipley; Lin Foxhall; David Mattingly; John VanderspoelFew historical epochs have influenced the development of civilization to the extent that those of ancient Greece and Rome have. This Guide, with over 1700 entries and 500 illustrations, is a key reference work on both, covering all the main branches of ancient literature, art and institutions. In addition, it explores traditionally neglected areas such as dress, housing, minority groups and social relations. Ranging from post-Bronze Age Greece to the later Roman Empire, it surveys not only ancient Greece and Rome, but discusses those cultures with which Greeks and Romans exchanged information and culture (e.g., Phoenicians, Celts and Jews) as well as the remote peoples with whom they were in contact (e.g., Persia, China and India). Graham Shipley is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London, and chair of the Council of University Classical Departments as well as the Sparta and Laconia Committee of the British School of Athens. His publications include A History of Samos and The Greek World after Alexander. John Vanderspoel is Professor of Late Antiquity at the University of Calgary, where he was initially appointed in 1985. His publications include Themistius and the Imperial Court (1995) and numerous journal articles and chapters on Roman history, intellectual and religious developments in the Roman imperial period and Roman Britain. David Mattingly is a Fellow of the British Academy and Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London. His publications include monographs on Tripolitania (1995) and An Atlas of Roman Britain (2002); edited volumes including Economies beyond Agriculture in the Classical World (2001), Life, Death and Entertainment in the Roman World (1999), and Dialogues in Roman Imperialism (supplement to Journal of Roman Archaeology, 1997). Lin Foxhall is a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London. Her publications include co-edited volumes on masculinity in the ancient world (Thinking Men and When Men were Men 1998), on ancient law (Greek Law in its Political Setting 1996), and the ancient economy (Money, Labour and Land 2002) as well as many journal articles and chapters on Greek social relations, gender, agriculture, field survey and economy.
Publication Date: 2006-06-08
A Companion to the Roman Empire by David S. Potter (Editor)A Companion to the Roman Empire provides readers with a guide both to Roman imperial history and to the field of Roman studies, taking account of the most recent discoveries. This Companion brings together thirty original essays guiding readers through Roman imperial history and the field of Roman studies Shows that Roman imperial history is a compelling and vibrant subject Includes significant new contributions to various areas of Roman imperial history Covers the social, intellectual, economic and cultural history of the Roman Empire Contains an extensive bibliography
Publication Date: 2006-05-22
Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republic by Jane DeRose Evans (Editor)A Companion to the Archaeology of the Roman Republic offers a diversity of perspectives to explore how differing approaches and methodologies can contribute to a greater understanding of the formation of the Roman Republic. Brings together the experiences and ideas of archaeologists from around the world, with multiple backgrounds and areas of interest Offers a vibrant exploration of the ways in which archaeological methods can be used to explore different elements of the Roman Republican period Demonstrates that the Republic was not formed in a vacuum, but was influenced by non-Latin-speaking cultures from throughout the Mediterranean region Enables archaeological thinking in this area to be made accessible both to a more general audience and as a valuable addition to existing discourse Investigates the archaeology of the Roman Republican period with reference to material culture, landscape, technology, identity and empire
Publication Date: 2013-05-06
Roman Art by Peter StewartFrom the faces of emperors to mythological sarcophagi, from imperial propaganda to domestic wall-painting and the earliest Christian images, this New Survey offers an up-to-date, illustrated overview of the history of Roman art. Explaining the material in an accessible and even-handed way, the author seeks not only to introduce the art itself, but also to survey and evaluate the range of approaches adopted by scholars in the field. Organized around the loose categories of portraiture, public monuments, funerary art, domestic art, and late antiquity, the discussion introduces representative monuments and problems in Roman art. It also serves as an accessible, critical survey of the range of approaches adopted by those attempting to explain the works. The text is aimed at students, teachers, and anyone who wants to navigate a path through the complexities of this vast but increasingly popular area of study.
An anthology of classical literature features more than three hundred selections, including pieces on the origins of the Greek language, works by Homer, discussion on the fall of Rome and St. Augustine, and more.
Ancient Greece by Thomas R. MartinIn this compact yet comprehensive history of ancient Greece, Thomas R. Martin brings alive Greek civilization from its Stone Age roots to the fourth century B.C. Focusing on the development of the Greek city-state and the society, culture, and architecture of Athens in its Golden Age, Martin integrates political, military, social, and cultural history in a book that will appeal to students and general readers alike. Now in its second edition, this classic work now features new maps and illustrations, a new introduction, and updates throughout. "A limpidly written, highly accessible, and comprehensive history of Greece and its civilizations from prehistory through the collapse of Alexander the Great's empire. . . . A highly readable account of ancient Greece, particularly useful as an introductory or review text for the student or the general reader."--Kirkus Reviews "A polished and informative work that will be useful for general readers and students."--Daniel Tompkins, Temple University
Publication Date: 2013-04-16
A Companion to Archaic Greece by Kurt A. Raaflaub (Editor); Hans Van Wees (Editor)A systematic survey of archaic Greek society and culture which introduces the reader to a wide range of new approaches to the period. <ul> <li>The first comprehensive and accessible survey of developments in the study of archaic Greece</li> <li>Places Greek society of c.750-480 BCE in its chronological and geographical context</li> <li>Gives equal emphasis to established topics such as tyranny and political reform and newer subjects like gender and ethnicity</li> <li>Combines accounts of historical developments with regional surveys of archaeological evidence and in-depth treatments of selected themes</li> <li>Explores the impact of Eastern and other non-Greek cultures in the development of Greece</li> <li>Uses archaeological and literary evidence to reconstruct broad patterns of social and cultural development</li> </ul>