LibGuides: Research Data Management & Sharing: Subject-Specific Repositories and Standards

Subject Areas

FlyBase
A database of Drosophila genes & genomes
NCBI Gene Expression Omnibus (GEO)
GEO is a public functional genomics data repository supporting MIAME-compliant data submissions. Array- and sequence-based data are accepted. Tools are provided to help users query and download experiments and curated gene expression profiles.
Image Data Resource (IDR)
Repository of image datasets from published scientific studies, where the community can submit, search and access high-quality bio-image data.
PhysioNet
Research resource for complex physiologic signals.
PRoteomics IDEntifications Database (PRIDE)
Rat Genome Database (RGD)
Repository for genetic, genomic, phenotype, and disease-related data generated from rat research.
Zebrafish Information Network (ZFIN)
Repository of genetic and genomic data for the zebrafish (Danio rerio) as a model organism

Cambridge Structural Database This link opens in a new window
Crystal structures of small organic and organometallic molecules.
Special instructions: Use public computers on the first floor of Carlson to access the full version of Cambridge Structural Database. Contact the Chemistry Outreach Librarian with questions.

MassIVE
MassIVE is a community resource developed by the NIH-funded Center for Computational Mass Spectrometry to promote the global, free exchange of mass spectrometry data.
MassBank of North America (Mona)
Specializes in metabolite mass spectra from both experimental and in-silico analysis
NMRShiftDB
"NMRShiftDB is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra. It allows for spectrum prediction (13C, 1H and other nuclei) as well as for searching spectra, structures and other properties. Last not least, it features peer-reviewed submission of datasets by its users."

Protein Data Bank This link opens in a new window
3-D structural data of large molecules of proteins and nucleic acids.

ICAT
Data management infrastructure for energy topics. A metadata catalogue and related components to support experimental data management for large-scale facilities, linking all aspects of the research lifecycle from proposal through to data and articles publication
The International System of Units (SI)
Practical system of units of measurement in science.
IUPAC Goldbook: Compendium of Chemical Terminology
(Online) Chemical Dictionary
Crystallographic Information Framework (CIF)
A standard for information interchange in crystallography
JCAMP-DX
IUPAC standard for spectral data exchange (older)
HUPO Proteomics Standards Initiative
Data representation in proteomics and interactomics to facilitate data comparison, exchange and verification
ThermoML (NIST)
ThermoML is an XML-based IUPAC standard for storage and exchange of experimental thermophysical and thermochemical property data.
Allotrope Foundation
"Allotrope Foundation is an international consortium of pharmaceutical, biopharmaceutical, and other scientific research-intensive industries that is developing advanced data architecture to transform the acquisition, exchange, and management of laboratory data throughout its complete lifecycle."
Fairsharing.org
Repository of current and developing data standards, repositories & knowledgebases and policies in science.

Network Repository
This large comprehensive collection of network graph data is useful for making significant research findings as well as benchmark network data sets for a wide variety of applications and domains and includes relational, attributed, heterogeneous, streaming, spatial, and time series network data as well as non-relational machine learning data.
Software Heritage Archive
The Software Heritage initiative collects all publicly available software in source code form together with its development history, replicates it massively to ensure its preservation, and shares it with everyone who needs it.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
Large, open-access datasets designed for machine learning projects. Allows searching by number of rows and columns.

Academic Torrents
This is a big data hosting site used to host large datasets that would not fit in other repositories.
Network Repository
This large comprehensive collection of network graph data is useful for making significant research findings as well as benchmark network data sets for a wide variety of applications and domains and includes relational, attributed, heterogeneous, streaming, spatial, and time series network data as well as non-relational machine learning data.
Registry of Open Data on AWS
This registry exists to help people discover and share datasets that are available via Amazon Web Services resources.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
Large, open-access datasets designed for machine learning projects. Allows searching by number of rows and columns.

Pangaea
Find and deposit data on various topics/ disciplines relating to Earth Sciences.

Million Song Dataset
The Million Song Dataset is a freely-available collection of audio features and metadata for a million contemporary popular music tracks.

Repositories

HEPData
- Open access data repository for high energy physics scatter data
Physical Sciences Informatics (PSI)
- Open access data repository for physical science experiments performed in reduced-gravity environments
Astrophysics Source Code Library
- ASCL is a free online registry and repository for source codes of interest to astronomers and astrophysicists, including solar system astronomers, and lists codes that have been used in research that has appeared in, or been submitted to, peer-reviewed publications