LibGuides: FWS 121 Art and Politics (Pedersen): Home

Getting Started

Designed to serve as a centerpiece of the River Campus when it was dedicated in 1930, Rush Rhees Library houses over one million volumes and is home to several focused collections including the Art & Music Library, Rossell Hope Robbins Library and Koller-Collins Center for English Studies, as well as the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation.

Looking for a book in Rush Rhees's collection? Follow the steps below to find what you need on the shelves.

First, find the location and call number for the book in the library's catalog. Be sure to check that the book is listed as "Available." (Show Me)

If your book's location is listed as Art & Music Library...

Head to the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. The collection is located through the Frontispace Gallery.
When you enter the Art and Music Library, the entrance to the stacks will be to your left and behind you. Head into the stacks and look for your call number range using the signs at the end of each aisle. (Show Me)
Once you find the right aisle, you can start looking for your book. Be sure to peek at the other books in the section where your book is located – books are organized by topic and theme so you might find another source that's helpful for your research.
Take your book back to the Art and Music Library desk to check out the book using your University of Rochester ID card.

If your book's location is listed as Rhees stacks...

Check the Rush Rhees Call Number Directory to determine if your book is in the Blue Stacks or Yellow Stacks; then make a note of the floor number (e.g., 500m or Level A).
Head to the Q&i Desk on the first floor of Rush Rhees Library to enter the stacks. Follow the blue or yellow tape on the floor to the elevator for the corresponding stacks.
When you exit the elevator, look for your call number range using the signs at the end of each aisle. (Show Me)
Once you find the right aisle, you can start looking for your book. Be sure to peek at the other books in the section where your book is located – books are organized by topic and theme so you might find another source that's helpful for your research.
Take your book back to the Q&i desk on the first floor to check out the book using your University of Rochester ID card.

If your book's location is listed as Robbins Library Rhees 416...

Head to the fourth floor of Rush Rhees Library.
When you enter Robbins Library, you will need to check-in at the front desk.
Head to the stacks and find the right aisle; then, start looking for your book. Be sure to peek at the other books in the section where your book is located – books are organized by topic and theme so you might find another source that's helpful for your research.
The Robbins Library is a non-circulating collection meaning books cannot leave the library. Find an open table and start working on your research!

Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
The Gale Primary Sources cross-search interface provides access to millions of pages of content spanning many centuries and geographic regions. Users can explore a wide range of content including monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, maps, and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This collection provides full-text access to a wide range of primarily U.S.-based newspaper titles from the 19th-21st centuries including the Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984), Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1993), Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1993), New York Times (1851 - 2013), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000), Washington Post (1877 - 2000), and more!
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984) Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) Baltimore Sun (1837-1992) Boston Globe (1872 - 1985) Chicago Defender (1909-1975) Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1993) Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004) Globe and Mail (1844-2014) Irish Times (1859 - 2016) Louisville Courier (1830 - 2000) Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1993) Minneapolis Tribune (1867 - 2001) New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) New York Times (1851 - 2013) U.S, Northeast Collection (1785 - 2010) Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861. New York Tribune (1841-1962) Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) South China Morning Post (1903-1998) Times of India (1838-2008) Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) Washington Post (1877 - 2000)
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of the Times of London from 1785-2019. Also referred to as the London Times, this paper is considered the newspaper of record for the United Kingdom.
Sunday Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of the Sunday Times from 1822-2016. A sister paper of the London Times, this newspaper is considered the largest in Britain's quality press market.
Despite the similarity of names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1st January 1967, when both papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own perspective on the news.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust includes digital scans of millions of books and documents, many of which are freely available for download. After running a search, try using the "Place of Publication" or the "Date of Publication" facets to narrow your search. Be sure to login with your UR credentials for additional download options.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor contains over one million images from museums, libraries, and other collections around the world. These images include photographs, scanned documents, maps, three-dimensional artifacts, and more. Try searching by material type, geography, date, etc. using the "Advanced Search" feature.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) includes books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. It currently contains over 180,000 titles amounting to over 32 million fully-searchable pages. The majority of the works were printed in England, Scotland, Ireland and the United States. Because the ECCO is a digitization of the eighteenth-century section of the works catalogued in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC), you can also use the ESTC to discover materials.
Comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the well-known microfilm collection. Currently includes more than 138,000 English-language titles and editions (over 155,000 volumes) published between 1701 and 1800. The project allows for full-text searching of more than 26 million pages of material spanning all disciplines. Downloading as PDF (up to 250 pages at a time) is supported. See publisher's instructions - http://find.galegroup.com/ecco/help/ECCODocDownloadHelp.html.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great starting place for most topics. Particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals from history, area studies, anthropology, literature, film and media studies, and more.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is a great resource for finding articles on your topic. Like JSTOR, it provides access to scholarly journal articles from a range of humanities and social science disciplines.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts is a key database for non-U.S. and non-Canadian historical research. This is an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
More than 410 active full-text, non-open access journals; more than 270 active full-text, non-open access peer-reviewed journals; more than 190 full-text books. Detailed indexing and abstracts for many leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications. Strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Coverage dating back to 1914.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from humanities-based disciplines such as art, film, music, literature, and religion. It also includes research from history, which some consider a humanistic social science.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Containing over one million citations from important humanities and social sciences journals published from 1907 to 1984, this database is a value tool for discovering scholarly content on your topic. This is an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Journals indexed cover these disciplines: addiction studies, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, dance, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, film, folklore, gender studies, geography, gerontology, history, international relations, journalism, law, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, minority studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, religion and theology, social work, sociology, urban studies

History Librarian

Lara Nicosia

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

(585) 275-9298

Subjects: Arabic Language and Culture, Classical Greek & Latin, Hebrew Language and Culture, History, Religion & Theology, Turkish Language and Culture