This guide will help you get started with your research for this class. If you have any questions or need help finding resources, please feel free to reach out to Lara Nicosia...she is happy to help!
An interdisciplinary bibliography for the study of Latin America, including perspectives from history, sociology, economics, anthropology, and political science.
An interdisciplinary bibliography of the movement of peoples, ideas, and things in the Atlantic World – encompassing many islands and the continents of Africa, Europe, North America, South America. Covers the period from the late fifteenth century to the late nineteenth century.
This bibliography contains nearly 3,000 annotated entries from 1935-present; if you're interested in research from 1970-present, the HLAS Web interface is a bit more user-friendly. If you find a resource of interest, try searching for the title on the library's website to see if we have a copy or to request the item through interlibrary loan.
Covers anthropology, art, economics, geography, government and politics, history, international relations, literature, music, philosophy and sociology.
The AHA's Guide to Historical Literature contains nearly 2,000 annotated citations primarily for English language works published between 1961 and 1992. Volume 2 includes a section on Latin America since 1800. Available in print and online.
Published in 1971 for the Conference on Latin American History, this bibliography contains over 7,000 citations divided into three topical and four chronological parts. While recent literature is not included in this title, it is still a valuable source for identifying foundational texts in the field. Available in print and online.
Images
Historical Images
For more digital collections related to the history of Latin America, check out the Latin American & Caribbean History page on the general History Research Guide.
Artstor contains over one million images from museums, libraries, and other collections around the world. These images include photographs, scanned documents, maps, three-dimensional artifacts, and more. Try searching by material type, geography, date, etc. using the "Advanced Search" feature.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
The PPOC includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings from the Prints & Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. "While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people."
La Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano (BDPI) provides a single-point of access to digital collections from participating libraries in the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA) including the national libraries of Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico, Panama, Peru, and Uruguay, as well as Spain and Portugal. Website is in Spanish.
Research
Scholarly Books and Articles
Books are essential resources when conducting research in humanistic fields such as history and religion and classics. The River Campus Libraries provide immediate access to over one million titles including both print and electronic books. Need something not in UR's collection? You can use interlibrary loan (a free service!) to get access to any titles that you need.
One of the best places to find books on your topic is through the library's website. To get started, visit the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box...or try out the search box below.
The University of Rochester provides access to a wide array of databases including many focused on history. The databases listed below represent some of the most commonly used tools for history research and serve as a good starting point for almost any topic or research question. If you need help searching in any of these databases, remember you can always reach out to a librarian!
JSTOR is a great starting place for most topics. Particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals from history, area studies, anthropology, literature, film and media studies, and more.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Historical Abstracts is a key database for non-U.S. and non-Canadian historical research. This is an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Project Muse is a great resource for finding articles on your topic. Like JSTOR, it provides access to scholarly journal articles from a range of humanities and social science disciplines.
