|Research Help||E-Book Options||Interlibrary Loan||Remote Access||Ask a Librarian|
Lara Nicosia is the outreach librarian for African and African American Studies, American Sign Language, History, and Religion and Classics…and she wants to help!
You can ask Lara about…
Use one of the options below to get in touch with Lara about your research:
River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.
To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online and Books filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results...or use the search box below:
The library also has several collections of e-books that are worth searching in for your topic. While books in these collections are pulled into all of our catalog searches, relevant titles can sometimes get buried within thousands of results. Try searching these databases directly for e-books on your topic:
Interlibray loan is a free service that allows faculty, students, and staff to get access to items that are not part of the University of Rochester's library subscriptions or collection. When you request an item through interlibrary loan (ILL), our ILL staff will find another library (worldwide!) that has access to the item and have a copy sent to UR's library for you to borrow free of charge. Books are typically mailed to the library, but articles and other shorter-form resources are usually sent as PDFs for you that you can access from anywhere. Turnaround time on this service varies, so you will want to plan ahead when working on research assignments.
This video will walk you through the process of requesting an item using interlibrary loan: https://youtu.be/ohr_94ghehE. Or, follow the directions below!
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Lara Nicosia, the librarian for History and Religion and Classics...she is happy to help!
All current students, faculty, and staff can access the River Campus Libraries’ electronic resources off-campus – all you need is an active NetID and password.
All of the links to subscription resources on the library’s website and this guide contain a URL prefix that enables you to access materials off-site – so start your research on the library’s website! Read more…
When you click on our link to a database or related resource while off-campus, you are first redirected to a login page where you can enter your NetID and password. This intermediary login page (a tool called EZproxy) then tells the database that you are an authenticated user and should have access to the resource. Once you login, you should have no trouble accessing library materials off-site for the rest of your active browser session.
If you discover an article using a non-library resource such as Google, try adding the following prefix to the front of the article’s URL – this will take you to the EZproxy login page and may grant you access to the article:
Tips for Using EZproxy
VPN (Virtual Private Network) is a tool that you can use to access the library's online resources while off-campus. When you use VPN you are able to securely connect to the university's network and are assigned a temporary IP address affiliated with the university. In order to use VPN you will need to install a VPN client and login using Duo Two-Factor Authentication.
The River Campus librarians are happy to help! All of our liaison librarians can work with you over chat or email...or, you can schedule an appointment to meet in-person or over Zoom.
Lara Nicosia is the librarian for African and African American Studies, American Sign Language, History, and Religion and Classics. She is happy to help you get started with your research or answer any questions you have about the library and its services. Use the options below to contact Lara or you can chat with the on-call librarian.
Need help with a different topic or subject-area? Click below to find the outreach librarian for your class or program (or reach out to Lara and she'll point you in the right direction!).
This guide is designed to help you get started with your research for this class. The River Campus Libraries provides access to a robust collection of history-related print resources and online databases, including many collections of primary source materials.
If you have questions as you begin your research, please feel free to reach out to me, Lara Nicosia (email@example.com) – I'm the Liaison Librarian for History and I'm always happy to help!
Want to meet with me on Zoom? Watch this quick video (runtime: 1:35) to see how to put time on my calendar.
Reference works such as encyclopedias are great resources to consult at the start of any research project. These sources can inspire topic ideas, provide necessary background context, suggest key terms and phrases, and highlight themes and controversies, all of which can help you get a handle on your topic before you start diving into the academic literature and/or primary source research.