LibGuides: HIST 203: Childhood, Health and the Formation of US Social Policy: Finding Scholarly Research

Notable Books

Children at Play by Howard P. Chudacoff
ISBN: 9780814790052

Publication Date: 2007-08-01

A chronological history of children's playtime over the last 200 years If you believe the experts, "child's play"; is serious business. From sociologists to psychologists and from anthropologists to social critics, writers have produced mountains of books about the meaning and importance of play. But what do we know about how children actually play, especially American children of the last two centuries? In this fascinating and enlightening book, Howard Chudacoff presents a history of children's play in the United States and ponders what it tells us about ourselves.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America by John M. Herrick (Editor); Paul H. Stuart (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452265438

Publication Date: 2004-12-15

The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America is a unique reference work that provides readers with basic information about the history of social welfare in Canada, Mexico, and the United States. The intent of the encyclopedia is to provide readers with information about how these three nations have dealt with social welfare issues, some similar across borders, others unique, as well as to describe important events, developments, and the lives and work of some key contributors to social welfare developments. In choosing a continental focus, editors John M. Herrick and Paul H. Stuart encourage readers to explore cross-national and comparative work in the development of social welfare history.
The Routledge History of Childhood in the Western World by Paula Fass (Editor)
ISBN: 9781135121693

Publication Date: 2013-02-11

The Routledge History of Childhood in the Western World provides an important overview of the main themes surrounding the history of childhood in the West from antiquity to the present day. By broadly incorporating the research in the field of Childhood Studies, the book explores the major advances that have taken place in the past few decades in this crucial field.
Children and Youth in America, 1600-1865 by Robert H. Bremner; Temara K. Hareven (Associate Editor); Robert M. Mennel (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 0674116100

Publication Date: 1970-01-01

More than nine generations of children grew up in America between the founding of the first English colonies and the end of the Civil War. This book, the first of three volumes that will provide the most complete documentary history of public provision for American children, traces the changing attitudes of the nation toward youth during the first two and one half centuries of its history.

Getting Started

The Oxford Guide to Library Research by Thomas Mann
Call Number: Z710..m23 2015

ISBN: 978-0-19-939446-3

Publication Date: 2015

ARCL Framework for Literacy in Higher Education

Research isn’t just about finding a few sources for one assignment. Over time, it’s about developing habits that make you a stronger thinker and writer in any field.

The short videos above introduce the Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education, a set of core ideas that describe how successful students and researchers approach information.

Think of the framework as the “big picture” of what you’ll be practicing not only in this course, but across your entire academic career. You don’t need to master these ideas right away—in fact, mastering them is essentially the point of your coursework as a whole. Every class you take will reinforce some part of this framework. What’s valuable here is recognizing the concepts early, giving them names, and approaching them with intention. That way, you can internalize them more quickly, apply them more effectively, and set yourself up for even greater success as a student.

What are Scholarly Sources?

Scholarly sources are written by experts as a way to communicate their research findings and ideas to other scholars and researchers in the field. Typically published in books and journals, scholarly sources (also called academic, peer-reviewed, or refereed sources) contain new and original research, while also building on the research of others. These sources typically undergo a rigorous publication process that includes a peer-review system in which other content experts provide feedback on an article's content and methodology before the article is accepted for publication.

Using scholarly articles can help you:

Build context around your topic and find evidence to support your arguments or ideas
Interpret and analyze primary sources or historical events effectively
Understand the scholarly conversation that already exists on a topic
Identify other sources or authors that might be relevant to your research
Develop your skills at assessing research material in the field

It is important to recognize that there is a long history of systemic biases within the scholarly publishing process. Students and scholars should strive to bring diverse voices, viewpoints, and thought into their research, which may require looking beyond "traditional" academic resources – be creative! Less "traditional" source-types can work in conjunction with "traditional" academic literature to add a much deeper level of understanding for your topic and ideas. For suggestions on where to find diverse voices for your topic, reach out to your librarian.

For an example of the peer-review process, check out the Journal of American History (March 1997) – it includes Referees' Reports for Joel Williamson's article, "Wounds Not Scars: Lynching, the National Conscience, and the American Historian."

Databases with Scholarly Research

America: History and Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This databases indexes journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and more and is an essential tool for history research.
JSTOR
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .

Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Project Muse
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Humanities Full Text
Identifies articles on art, architecture, dance, folklore, myth, film, journalism, music and religion. Many with links to full text.
Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective
Identifies journal articles in all areas of the humanities and social sciences.

Journals indexed cover these disciplines: addiction studies, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, community health & medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, dance, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, film, folklore, gender studies, geography, gerontology, history, international relations, journalism, law, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, minority studies, music, performing arts, philosophy, planning & public administration, policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology, public welfare, religion and theology, social work, sociology, urban studies

Open Whiteboard

DiscoverUR Bookmarklet

Search DiscoverUR from Anywhere
This bookmarklet lets you search the UR Libraries' Collections (DiscoverUR) from any webpage. Just highlight text (like a book title, ISBN, or topic) and click the button in your bookmarks bar.

To install: drag the DiscoverUR button below to your bookmarks bar.

DiscoverUR

Find@UR

What is Find@UR?

Find@UR is the University of Rochester’s OpenURL resolver service. It takes citation information—like the title, author, journal name, or ISBN—and tries to link you to a full-text copy of the resource, if available through the library.

You’ll see Find@UR links throughout many of our online tools, especially in Indexes and Abstracts, where full text isn't always included. Use these links to check for access or request items through Interlibrary Loan if needed.

History and Political Science Librarian

Joe Easterly

he/they

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Initiatives
106 Rush Rhees Library

716-650-0234

Subjects: History, Political Science & International Relations