including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700. EEBO now contains about 100,000 of the titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Downloading as PDF is supported from the marked list or from inside a title. See the publisher's instructions - http://eebo.chadwyck.com/help/download.htm.
JSTOR is a great starting place for most topics. Particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals from history, area studies, sociology, and more. Watch this short tutorial for tips on getting the most out of your JSTOR search.
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Project Muse is a great resource for finding articles on your topic. Like JSTOR, it provides access to scholarly journal articles from a range of humanities and social science disciplines.
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from humanities-based disciplines such as art, film, music, and religion. It also includes research from history, traditionally considered a humanistic social science.
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from social science-based disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, economics, and political science. It also includes research from history, traditionally considered a humanistic social science.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
Identifies dissertations, theses cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Covers all subjects.
Based on records contributed by OCLC member libraries (71,000+ worldwide. This database contains over 8 million records.
Modal - JSTOR - Search Tips (jstorModal)
Video: Search Tips When Using JSTOR
This tutorial includes a series of three videos. While I recommend watching the full tutorial (total runtime: 5 minutes, 31 seconds), you can also select a specific segment from this list:
Setting your search options in JSTOR (runtime: 1 minute, 53 seconds)
Managing your results list in JSTOR (runtime: 2 minutes, 40 seconds)
Researching a U.S.- or Canadian-based topic? Be sure to search in America: History and Life. As with Historical Abstracts you may not see the full-text for an article of interest. Simply click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
Historical Abstracts is a key database for non-U.S. and non-Canadian historical research. This is an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
More than 410 active full-text, non-open access journals; more than 270 active full-text, non-open access peer-reviewed journals; more than 190 full-text books. Detailed indexing and abstracts for many leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications. Strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Coverage dating back to 1914.
