Search DiscoverUR from Anywhere
This bookmarklet lets you search the UR Libraries' Collections (DiscoverUR) from any webpage. Just highlight text (like a book title, ISBN, or topic) and click the button in your bookmarks bar.
To install: drag the DiscoverUR button below to your bookmarks bar.
Latin America and the Caribbean
by
This volume is the first multidisciplinary guide to the study of Latin American studies to provide both broad coverage and substantial depth. It includes essays on research trends and approaches, provides entries on over 6,000 bibliographic and research sources, and selectively identifies specialized collections and resources in United States research libraries. The contributors provide the perspectives of Latin American bibliographers, researchers, and Latin American scholars. The book is divided into fifteen chapters, beginning with a general bibliography of interdisciplinary sources. The fourteen chapters that follow cover disciplines in the social sciences and humanities. Each chapter includes an introductory essay or essays, one or more bibliographic sections, and a section describing relevant special collections. The work also includes subject, author, and title indexes. The multidisciplinary nature of the work will make it valuable to students, librarians, and faculty members in Latin American Studies.
Latin American Studies
by
The Latin American studies collections at many community, junior and four year colleges, and large public libraries often contain materials that are too specialized, uneven, outdated, incomplete, or written in Spanish or Portuguese--thus rendering them essentially useless to English-reading patrons. Better materials are out there, but librarians simply have not had, until now, a good resource guide to help in locating them.This work, designed as an acquisitions tool for colleges and libraries, is an annotated bibliography of approximately 1,400 recommended books published from 1986 through 2000 in the field of Latin American studies. It is divided into chapters that deal with reference works, descriptive accounts and travel guides, the humanities, language and literature, the social sciences, and science and technology. For the purposes of this book, Latin America is defined as all geographic locations south of the Rio Grande. While these are chiefly Spanish and Portuguese speaking regions, works about French, English, and Dutch speaking areas are also included. The literary works of authors living abroad are included if they are considered quintessentially Latin American. Periodicals, children's literature, audio-visual resources, and works about the Hispanic and Latino experience in the United States are not included. The majority of the works presented here were selected based on reviews from Booklist, Choice, Hispanic American Historical Review, Library Journal, Los Angeles Times Book Review, New York Review of Books, New York Times Book Review and Publisher's Weekly; also consulted were the catalogs of major university presses that focus on Latin American studies.
Research Guide to Central America and the Caribbean
by
A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture
by
Cutting-edge and insightful discussions of Latin American literature and culture In the newly revised second edition of A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture, Sara Castro-Klaren delivers an eclectic and revealing set of discussions on Latin American culture and literature by scholars at the cutting edge of their respective fields. The included essays--whether they're written from the perspective of historiography, affect theory, decolonial approaches, or human rights--introduce readers to topics like gaucho literature, postcolonial writing in the Andes, and baroque art while pointing to future work on the issues raised. This work engages with anthropology, history, individual memory, testimonio, and environmental studies. It also explores: A thorough introduction to topics of coloniality, including the mapping of the pre-Columbian Americas and colonial religiosity Comprehensive explorations of the emergence of national communities in New Imperial coordinates, including discussions of the Muisca and Mayan cultures Practical discussions of global and local perspectives in Latin American literature, including explorations of Latin American photography and cultural modalities and cross-cultural connections In-depth examinations of uncharted topics in Latin American literature and culture, including discussions of femicide and feminist performances and eco-perspectives Perfect for students in undergraduate and graduate courses tackling Latin American literature and culture topics, A Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture, Second Edition will also earn a place in the libraries of members of the general public and PhD students interested in Latin American literature and culture.
Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies
by
"This book is an essential reference for scholars and students from a wide array of fields represented by Latin American and cultural studies. It provides highly authoritative entries on most of the major topics of the day."--Ignacio M. Sánchez Prado, author of Naciones Intelectuales "This text represents a fantastic resource as well as an excellent pedagogical tool for the diffusion of the main tenets of cultural studies among students and among scholars who are not specialists in Latin American cultural studies."--Ana Del Sarto, coeditor of Latin American Cultural Studies Reader "A dictionary is a book to ask questions of. Not only what each word means, but also why some are present and others are absent, and how the presences and the absences are connected. Irwin and Szurmuk's Dictionary exhaustively registers the sources and lines of development of the studies of culture in Latin America."--Nestor Garcia Canclini, writing in En torno a los estudios culturales The Dictionary of Latin American Cultural Studies is a fundamental reference for students, pedagogues, and investigators interested in understanding the terminology of the field. nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; This comprehensive volume explains and contextualizes fifty-four key terms and theories, including some general concepts in cultural studies (e.g., body, deconstruction,nbsp; ideology, postmodernism, power, queer theory) as they relate to research in Latin America, and some specific to the field of Latin American studies (e.g., anthropophagy, deterritorialization, lettered city). Each entry defines the term in question, explains its usages, discusses its etymology and the intellectuals who have made relevant contributions, and provides a bibliography of essential sources.nbsp; nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;nbsp; Uniquely suited to the student or scholar struggling with translating cultural studies terminology into non-English language topics of study, originally published in Spanish, and with contributions by many of the field's foremost authorities, this dictionary is poised to become a defining text for Latin American cultural studies.
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater
by
The Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater provides users with an accessible single-volume reference tool covering Portuguese-speaking Brazil and the 16 Spanish-speaking countries of continental Latin America (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela). Entries for authors, ranging from the early colonial period to the present, give succinct biographical data and an account of the author's literary production, with particular attention to their most prominent works and where they belong in literary history. The introduction provides a review of Latin American literature and theater as a whole while separate dictionary entries for each country offer insight into the history of national literatures. Entries for literary terms, movements, and genres serve to complement these commentaries, and an extensive bibliography points the way for further reading. The comprehensive view and detailed information obtained from all these elements will make this book of use to the general-interest reader, Latin American studies students, and the academic specialist.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music
by
This comprehensive survey examines Latin American music, focusing on popular--as opposed to folk or art--music and containing more than 200 entries on the concepts and terminology, ensembles, and instruments that the genre comprises. The rich and soulful character of Latin American culture is expressed most vividly in the sounds and expressions of its musical heritage. While other scholars have attempted to define and interpret this body of work, no other resource has provided such a detailed view of the topic, covering everything from the mambo and unique music instruments to the biographies of famous Latino musicians. Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music delivers scholarly, authoritative, and accessible information on the subject, and is the only single-volume reference in English that is devoted to an encyclopedic study of the popular music in this genre. This comprehensive text--organized alphabetically--contains roughly 200 entries and includes a chronology, discussion of themes in Latin American music, and 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers. The depth and scope of the book's coverage will benefit music courses, as well as studies in Latin American history, multicultural perspectives, and popular culture.
Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire, 1402-1975
by
On October 12, 1992, five hundred years will have passed since Christopher Columbus made landfall on San Salvador. His voyage across the Atlantic Ocean set in motion a series of unprecedented social, political, economic, and cultural forces that changed the entire world. The Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire looks at the process by which Spain extended its influence across the globe. It provides more than 1,200 brief descriptive essays covering colonies, individuals, political institutions, legislation, treaties, conferences, wars, revolutions, technologies, social and religious groups, and military battles. References at the end of each entry provide sources of additional information for those wishing to pursue the subject further. Cross-references within the text, designated by an asterisk, will help the reader to find related items. Two appendixes provide a chronology of Spanish imperialism and a list of the individuals who presided over the viceroyalties of New Granada, New Spain, Peru, and Rio de la Plata. The Historical Dictionary of the Spanish Empire is an invaluable reference tool for scholars and students alike. It should be of interest to reference librarians at college and university libraries, as well as large public libraries.
Historical Dictionary of U. S. -Latin American Relations
by
This book provides over 260 entries on U.S. presidents, Latin American politicians, covert operations, policies, and major events since the early 1800s that define the contentious relations between the United States and the Latin American and Caribbean region. From the Monroe Doctrine to NAFTA, the tone of U.S.-Latin America relations has been set by the United States, and largely to its benefit. Dent compiles more than 260 A-to-Z entries that detail the key people, events, treaties, wars, and concepts that have gone into the making of the often contentious relations between the United States and the Latin American and Caribbean region. Entries conclude with suggested readings and are thoroughly cross-referenced. A thematic index guides users to related entries, and an extensive bibliography includes a list of key works central to the study of U.S.-Latin American relations. There is also a separate list of relevant online resources. The entire work is also thoroughly indexed. Useful for students and researchers of international politics within the Western hemisphere, Dent's historical dictionary covers items ranging from pro-slavery filibusterers adventuring in Central America, Dollar Diplomacy, Anti-Americanism, Banana Wars, the Reagan Doctrine, Sandinistas, friendly Dictators, Che Guevara, to the impact of the events of September 11, 2001 on Latin America, among many others.
