Introduction to Metadata by
Metadata provides a means of indexing, accessing, preserving, and discovering digital resources. The volume of digital information available over electronic networks has created a pressing need for standards that ensure correct and proper use and interpretation of the data by its owners and users. Well-crafted metadata is needed more now than ever before and helps users to locate, retrieve, and manage information in this vast and complex universe. The third edition of Introduction to Metadata, first published in 1998, provides an overview of metadata, including its types, roles, and characteristics; a discussion of metadata as it relates to Web resources; and a description of methods, tools, standards, and protocols for publishing and disseminating digital collections. This revised edition is an indispensable resource in the field, addressing advances in standards such as Linked Open Data, changes in intellectual property law, and new computing technologies, and offering an expanded glossary of essential terms.
Metadata for Digital Collections by
More and more libraries, archives, and museums are creating online collections of digitized resources. Where can those charged with organizing these new collections turn for guidance on the actual practice of metadata design and creation? To Metadata for Digital Collections: A How-To-Do-It Manual. This practical, hands-on volume will make it easy for readers to acquire the knowledge and skills they need, whether they use the book on the job or in a classroom. Author Steven Miller introduces readers to fundamental concepts and practices in a style accessible to beginners and LIS students, as well as experienced practitioners with little metadata training. He also takes account of the widespread use of digital collection management systems such as CONTENTdm. Rather than surveying a large number of metadata schemes, Miller covers only three of the schemes most commonly used in general digital resource description, namely, Dublin Core, MODS, and VRA. By limiting himself, Miller is able to address the chosen schemes in greater depth. He is also able to include numerous practical examples that clarify common application issues and challenges. He provides practical guidance on applying each of the Dublin Core elements, taking special care to clarify those most commonly misunderstood. The book includes a step-by-step guide on how to design and document a metadata scheme for local institutional needs and for specific digital collection projects. The text also serves well as an introduction to broader metadata topics, including XML encoding, mapping between different schemes, metadata interoperability and record sharing, OAI harvesting, and the emerging environment of Linked Data and the Semantic Web, explaining their relevance to current practitioners and students. A companion Web site includes exercises for each chapter, with suggestions for instructors, along with additional practical and reference resources.
Metadata: shaping knowledge from antiquity to the semantic web by
This book offers a comprehensive guide to the world of metadata, from its origins in the ancient cities of the Middle East, to the Semantic Web of today. The author takes us on a journey through the centuries-old history of metadata up to the modern world of crowdsourcing and Google, showing how metadata works and what it is made of. The author explores how it has been used ideologically and how it can never be objective. He argues how central it is to human cultures and the way they develop. Metadata: Shaping Knowledge from Antiquity to the Semantic Web is for all readers with an interest in how we humans organize our knowledge and why this is important. It is suitable for those new to the subject as well as those know its basics. It also makes an excellent introduction for students of information science and librarianship.
Metadata in Practice by
In the Wild West of digital library projects, pioneering information specialists have uncovered successful solutions, learned what to avoid, and how to proceed amid constant change. As administrator of AskDCMI, Diane Hillmann has fielded hundreds of questions from implementers. This new collection of reports from the field, co-edited by Hillmann, is an opportunity for librarians to learn from the experience of others involved in technically diverse digital library archive projects. Part One illustrates projects serving teachers, universities, Canadian educators, statewide collaborations, and geographical information, while Part Two addresses future trends. Considering these examples, with their unvarnished lessons learned, librarians will derive answers to such technical questions as: What are the major standards relevant to digital libraries? How do these elements relate to one another and to traditional library practices? How do planners integrate cutting edge metadata issues into project planning? What does the future hold for harvesting, re-use, and re-purposing of information? Sharing detailed results in candid reports, the contributors provide valuable information not r
Metadata and Its Applications in the Digital Library: approaches and practices by
Jia Liu tackles the unruly world of metadata development and implementation through a state-of-the-art overview of major theoretical issues and exemplary practices. Part one of her book elaborates on the general and latest knowledge about metadata and its implementations. Part two discusses an international array of metadata-related practices, projects and applications in the digital library.
Developing metadata application profiles by 
Managing metadata in web-scale discorvery systems by 
Metadata Standards and Web Services in Libraries, Archives, and Museums by
Metadata in library information environments is evolving rapidly. This book provides readers with a set of tools for designing, developing, and implementing metadata-rich information systems while also examining the challenges and opportunities in this field. * Takes a cross-disciplinary approach to the issues, trends, and technologies relevant in information communities such as libraries, archives, and museums * Presents grounded instruction that makes no assumptions about the technical expertise of the reader—perfect for new graduate students * Provides structured learning activities that dovetail theoretical learning with the acquisition of hands-on and technical understanding that is essential for real-world success in metadata and information system design
Try searching the library collections with these subject keywords:
Humanities--Technological innovations.
Information Science--Standards.
Or use these call numbers to browse the stacks:
• Stuff I've seen: a system for personal information retrieval and re-use
Dumais, Susan, et al. "." ACM SIGIR Forum. Vol. 49. No. 2. ACM, 2016.
• Metadata services in the context of digital humanities.
Deng, Sai. (2016).
• RDA: Resource Description and Access: The new standard for metadata and resource discovery in the digital age
Bianchini, Carlo, and Mauro Guerrini. JLIS. it 6.1 (2015): 21.
• Metadata for all: Descriptive standards and metadata sharing across libraries, archives and museums.
Elings, Mary W., and Günter Waibel. " First Monday 12.3 (2007).
• A study of metadata standards.
Anil Hirwade, Mangala. Library Hi Tech News 28.7 (2011): 18-25.
• CDWA and VRA Metadata Standards and Interoperability for Museum Collections.
Kohl, Kristi. Louisiana State University (2010).
