Primary Sources for History: Home

Includes The Liberator, Godey’s Lady’s Book, Frederick Douglass’ newspapers, and many others.

Includes the non-serial titles recorded by Charles Evans in his American Bibliography and additional items identified by Roger Pattrell Bristol in Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography. Downloading as PDF is limited to 25 pages per download, but multiple downloads are allowed. See publisher's instructions - http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/Evans/?p_action=main&p_product= EAIX&p_theme=help&f_id=downloading .

Includes non-serial titles listed in the bibliography by Ralph B. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker and supplemented by thousands of new items. Downloading as PDF is limited to 25 pages per download, but multiple downloads are allowed. See publisher's instructions - http://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/Evans/?p_action=main&p_product= EAIX&p_theme=help&f_id=downloading .

Comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the well-known microfilm collection. Currently includes more than 138,000 English-language titles and editions (over 155,000 volumes) published between 1701 and 1800. The project allows for full-text searching of more than 26 million pages of material spanning all disciplines. Downloading as PDF (up to 250 pages at a time) is supported. See publisher's instructions - http://find.galegroup.com/ecco/help/ECCODocDownloadHelp.html.

Subject indexing for all materials, including fiction, graphics, cartoons, and advertisements.

UR Library has purchased the following segments: 1) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange. 2) British Politics and Society. 3) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection. 4) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture . 5) History of science, technology, and medicine. 6) Photography-the world through the lens. 7) Women: transnational networks. 8) Europe and Africa: commerce, Christianity, civilization, and conquest.

With digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities, researchers will be able to research history in ways previously unavailable. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. No overlap with America’s Historical Newspapers.

Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984) Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) Baltimore Sun (1837-1992) Boston Globe (1872 - 1985) Chicago Defender (1909-1975) Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1993) Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004) Globe and Mail (1844-2014) Irish Times (1859 - 2016) Louisville Courier (1830 - 2000) Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1993) Minneapolis Tribune (1867 - 2001) New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) New York Times (1851 - 2013) U.S, Northeast Collection (1785 - 2010) Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861. New York Tribune (1841-1962) Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) South China Morning Post (1903-1998) Times of India (1838-2008) Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) Washington Post (1877 - 2000)

Based on Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time

This is the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700. EEBO now contains about 100,000 of the titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Downloading as PDF is supported from the marked list or from inside a title. See the publisher's instructions - http://eebo.chadwyck.com/help/download.htm.

Comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century, the well-known microfilm collection. Currently includes more than 138,000 English-language titles and editions (over 155,000 volumes) published between 1701 and 1800. The project allows for full-text searching of more than 26 million pages of material spanning all disciplines. Downloading as PDF (up to 250 pages at a time) is supported. See publisher's instructions - http://find.galegroup.com/ecco/help/ECCODocDownloadHelp.html.

including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.