Use this box to search within all of Rare Books' collections.
RBSCP has hundreds of published plays, books about theater or relating to theater and drama which are cataloged and part of our collections. They include some named collections as well as individual books which have been added according to our collection development policy as well as to meet the needs of faculty and research.
Extensive print holdings relating to British and American theater are available through our online catalog. Some select examples are included below.
Beaumont, Francis (1584-1616) and John Fletcher (1579-1625)
More than 130 first and early editions acquired through various gifts and purchases
The collection includes the first folio Comedies and Tragedies (1647) and the second folio Fifty Comedies and Tragedies (1679).
Eighteenth-Century Drama
Approximately 100 titles purchased mainly on the Hoeing fund, since 1978.
The collection includes works by Isaac Bickerstaffe, Colley Cibber,George Colman, George Colman the elder, Richard Cumberland, Henry Fielding, David Garrick, Elizabeth Inchbald, and Richard Brinsley Sheridan, with special strength in the works of Samuel Foote.
Restoration Drama
Approximately 125 first and early editions through vrious gifts and purchases
The collection's strength is in the works of Nathaniel Lee (1653?-1692),author of The Duke of Guise (1683) and Thomas Shadwell (1642?-1692), author of the comedies Epsom-Wells (1673) and Bury-Fair (1689). The collection also has representative works by William Congreve, Sir George Etherege, Thomas Otway, Sir John Vanbrugh, William Wycherley, and others, including the minor dramatists.
