LibGuides: RELC 159 Interfaith Relations: The Globalization of God (Yarbrough): Home

Course Textbooks

God Is Not One by Stephen Prothero
Call Number: E-book or
BL80.3 .P76 2011, Rhees Stacks
Publication Date: 2011
Interfaith Dialogue by Muhammad Shafiq; Mohammed Abu-Nimer
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9781565643697
Publication Date: 2011
Interreligious Studies: An Introduction by Rachel Mikva
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2023
A New Religious America by Diana L. Eck
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: BL2525. E35 2001
Publication Date: 2001
NOTE: This book is also available as an e-book through Open Library. To access the free online copy, click the "Open" icon above and then sign up for a free account: https://openlibrary.org/account/create
Taking Religious Pluralism Seriously by Barbara A. Mcgraw; Jo Renee Formicola
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2005
We Need to Build: Field Notes for Diverse Democracy by Eboo Patel
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2022
We Too Sing America by Deepa Iyer
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2015
World Religions in America by Jacob Neusner
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2009

Library Databases

Scholarly Sources

ATLA Religion This link opens in a new window
Atla indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion and includes full-text access to over 360 major religion and theology journals. This is primarily an abstract database, so if you don't see the full-text for an article, click the red "FindText@UR" button to see if UR provides full-text access through another database (we often do!).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a great starting place for most topics. Particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, JSTOR provides access to a wide range of journals from history, area studies, anthropology, literature, film and media studies, and more. Watch this short tutorial for tips on getting the most out of your JSTOR search.
Video: Search Tips When Using JSTOR
This tutorial includes a series of three videos. While I recommend watching the full tutorial (total runtime: 5 minutes, 31 seconds), you can also select a specific segment from this list:
Setting your search options in JSTOR (runtime: 1 minute, 53 seconds)
Managing your results list in JSTOR (runtime: 2 minutes, 40 seconds)
Using JSTOR's topic terms (runtime: 58 seconds)
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from social science-based disciplines such as sociology, anthropology, economics, political science, and gender studies. It also includes research from history, which some consider a humanistic social science.
Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is a great multidisciplinary database with full-text articles from humanities-based disciplines such as art, film, music, literature, and religion. It also includes research from history, which some consider a humanistic social science.
ProQuest Research This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database is a great starting point for most topics. It provides full-text access to scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, as well as trade journals, magazines, news stories, and more.
Identifies articles on all topics, many with links to full text. Includes articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, news, trade journals and more

News Sources

U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new window
U.S. Newsstream enables users to search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s. In addition to top newspapers such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, the database includes news wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, news sites, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch provides full-text access to newspapers, magazines, and journals from ethnic and minority press including titles relevant to Jewish studies, African American studies, Hispanic American studies, and Native American studies.