Contact one of the curators below for questions in their areas of expertise.
Contact us for information about the below subjects
The Department of Rare Books, Special Collections, and Preservation (RBSCP) holds the University's rare and unique materials and collections, including the University Archives. The department features rotating exhibits and hosts classes, workshops, and lectures throughout the year. While our collections must be used on-site, we are open to the public and welcome everyone. The librarians and archivists in RBSCP are available to answer your questions and assist as you start your research project.
General Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Library Hours: By appointment only
Although it is not required, we suggest that researchers contact us and register as a researcher prior to their visit. All researchers will be asked to fill out a registration form beforehand or in person and provide valid photo identification (such as UR ID or a driver's license).
RBSCP has over 500 manuscript collections that are described in online finding aids. Each entry gives basic descriptive information about the subject and material in the collection, the size of the collection, and its provenance (how it came to RBSCP). Finding aids contain a short description of the collection and, in some cases, a box-by-box or folder-by-folder listing of its contents.
Printed material -- books, maps, newspapers, journals -- is represented by author, title, and subject entries in the library's catalog. RBSCP also has a very strong collection of local history (Rochester and Western New York) materials and is the home of the University Archives.
Before visiting us, please note the following Reading Room Policies & Procedures:
● Researchers are required to fill out an online Registration Form before they use collection material. This can be filled out before their visit or when they arrive in the department. Registrations are valid for one academic year (September-August).
● All users must provide a current, valid ID: UR ID, driver’s or non-driver’s license, or passport.
Areas of Expertise