Like the first, the second edition is built on three principles: An explanatory approach, through which the reader is motivated to understand the subject and not just learn the facts; A mechanistic approach, giving the reader the power to understand compounds and reactions never previously encountered; An evidence-based approach, setting out clearly how and why reactions happen as they do, giving extra depth to the reader's understanding. The authors write clearly and directly, sharing with the reader their own fascination with the subject, and leading them carefully from topic to topic. Their honest and open narrative flags pitfalls and misconceptions, guiding the reader towards a complete picture of organic chemistry and its universal themes and principles. SUPPORT MATERIALS The Companion Website (www.oup.com/uk/orc/bin/9780199270293), available to all adopters of the text, includes: - 3D Organic Animations: Link to chemtube3d to view interactive 3D animations developed by the author - Additional Chapters: Four chapters from the first edition that do not appear in the second - Errata: Corrections to the book since publication - End-of-Chapter Questions: A range of problems to accompany each chapter - Figures in PowerPoint: Figures pre-inserted into PowerPoint for use in lectures and handouts - Problems: Problems to accompany each chapter from the new edition of Organic Chemistry will be posted in the student area of the book's Companion Website throughout the year (April, June, and December 2012)
Includes 250 organic reactions and their strategic use in the synthesis of complex natural and unnatural products. Reactions are thoroughly discussed in a convenient, two-page layout--using full color.
This book clearly explains the theories and examples of organic chemistry, providing the most comprehensive resource about organic chemistry available. Readers are guided on planning and execution of multi-step synthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all the reactions. The first five chapters deal with the structure of organic compounds and discuss important organic chemistry bonds, fundamental principles of conformation, and stereochemistry of organic molecules, and reactive intermediates in organic chemistry. Chapters 6 to 9 are concerned with general principles of mechanism in organic chemistry, including acids and bases, photochemistry, sonochemistry and microwave irradiation, and finally the relationship between structure and reactivity. The last 10 chapters cover the nature and the scope of organic reactions and their mechanisms.
This book shows how to write a reasonable mechanism for an organic chemical transformation. The discussion is organized by types of mechanisms and the conditions under which the reaction is executed, rather than by the overall reaction as is the case in most textbooks. Each chapter discusses common mechanistic pathways and suggests practical tips for drawing them. Worked problems are included in the discussion of each mechanism, and "common error alerts" are scattered throughout the text to warn readers about pitfalls and misconceptions that bedevil students. Each chapter is capped by a large problem set.
With its coverage of 701 organic name reactions and reagents, this three-volume set is the largest, most up-to-date major reference work of its kind. It offers students and professional chemists a valuable resource for conducting experiments and performing a broad range of applications, from pharmaceuticals to plastics to pesticides. Each reaction listing is clearly organized into uniform sections that allow readers to quickly gather the information they need to conduct their own experimental procedures
This book covers over 300 classical as well as contemporary name reactions. Biographical sketches for the chemists who discovered or developed those name reactions have been included. Each reaction is delineated by its detailed step-by-step, electron-pushing mechanism, supplemented with the original and the latest references, especially review articles.
Concise information on 134 named organic reactions. Each reaction is detailed with clearly drawn mechanisms, references from the primary literature, and well-written accounts covering the mechanical aspects of the reactions, and the details of side reactions and substrate limitations.
Useful for learning named reactions and reagents. Reactions and reagents are listed alphabetically, followed by relevant mechanisms, experimental data (including yields where available), and references to the primary literature. The text also includes three indices based on reagents and reactions, starting materials, and desired products.
For novices in the laboratory, it is a daunting task to decide what reaction conditions to experiment with first. This collection intends to serve as an "older and wiser lab-mate" by compiling the most commonly used experimental procedures in organic synthesis.
Presents valuable material, on the application of protective groups in organic chemistry, that is not easily found by casual searching. Helps chemists to plan, investigate, and carry out organic syntheses in an efficient manner.
An encyclopedic and systematic collection of useful synthetic methodology, including tens of thousands of reactions and synthetic transformations. The first edition has been reviewed in the professional journals as "clearly...the first choice for researchers seeking information on synthetic transformations." And as "useful to anyone who must do organic synthesis, especially those whose focus is not strictly organic chemistry. It provides a...clear road map to the synthetic literature and should be kept within easy reach of the chemist's desk."
by John A. Joule; Keith Mills
Publication Date: 2010-06-08
The fifth edition of Heterocyclic Chemistry teaches the fundamentals of heterocyclic reactivity and synthesis in a way that is understandable to second- and third-year undergraduate chemistry students. The inclusion of more advanced and current material also makes the book a valuable reference text for postgraduate taught courses, postgraduate researchers, and chemists at all levels working with heterocyclic compounds in industry. Fully updated and expanded to reflect important 21st century advances, the fifth edition of this classic text includes the following innovations: Extensive use of colour to highlight changes in structure and bonding during reactions Entirely new chapters on organometallic heterocyclic chemistry, heterocyclic natural products, especially in biochemical processes, and heterocycles in medicine New sections focusing on heterocyclic fluorine compounds, isotopically labeled heterocycles, and solid-phase chemistry, microwave heating and flow reactors in the heterocyclic context Essential teaching material in the early chapters is followed by short chapters throughout the text which capture the essence of heterocyclic reactivity in concise ways suitable as introductions or summaries, for example for examination preparation. Detailed, systematic discussions cover the reactivity and synthesis of all the important heterocyclic systems. Original references and references to reviews are given throughout the text, vital for postgraduate teaching and for research scientists. Problems, divided into straightforward revision exercises, and more challenging questions (with solutions available online), help the reader to understand and apply the principles of heterocyclic reactivity and synthesis.
This modern textbook makes explicit the many connections between physical organic chemistry and critical fields such as organometallic chemistrry, materials chemistry, bioorganic chemistry, and biochemistry. In the latter part of the 20th century, the field of physical organic chemistry went through dramatic changes, with an increased emphasis on noncovalent interactions and their roles in molecular recognition, supramolecular chemistry, and biology; the development of new materials with novel structural features; and the use of computational methods. Contemporary chemists must be just as familiar with these newer fields as with the more established classical topics. Modern Physical Organic Chemistry is intended to bridge that gap. In addition to covering thoroughly the core areas of physical organic chemistry - structure and mechanism - the book will escort the practitioner of organic chemistry into a field that has been thoroughly updated.
Browse alphabetical list of reagents or search by keyword, reagent name, structure, substructure, reaction, reagent name, reaction name, catalyst, solvent, yield, temperature, author, reference or year. Based on book set called Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis edited by Leo A. Paquette. Updated frequently.
Purification of Laboratory Chemicals, Eighth Edition, tabulates methods taken from literature for purifying thousands of individual commercially available chemicals. To help in applying this information, the more common processes currently used for purification in chemical laboratories and new methods are discussed.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references. Search by structure, name, molecular formula, CAS Registry number, property value or any combination. Retrieve basic property information, description of hazard, derivatives properties, and references to synthetic methods and spectra. Covers properties of inorganic, organic, organometallic, pharmacological agents, analytical reagents or natural products. This is the online version of "Dictionary of organic compounds", "Dictionary of natural products", "Dictionary of inorganic compounds", "Dictionary of organometallic compounds", "Dictionary of pharmacological agents", and "Dictionary of analytical reagents". For more information see the introduction on the database website.
Science encyclopedia articles, definitions, biographies, study guides and graphics.
includes McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology,9th ed.,McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition,McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology and more. updated daily.