It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACC 401 - Corporate Financial Accounting: Home
Library resources suggested for all sections of ACC 401.
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, is the official electronic database of filings submitted to U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It is freely accessible on the web.
Registrants were brought onto the EDGAR system in a series of discrete groups over a three-year period, which was completed May 1996.
Foreign private issuers and foreign governments generally are not required to file on EDGAR, although they may do so if they wish.
Contains corporate financial ratios and other financial data aggregated by industry. Check out this training video to help you learn how to create and compare ratios: https://view.knowledgevision.com/presentation/cb061ac6b5c842a88814b4b8511f6d43
Contains financial ratios for industries and services, arranged by NAICS and SIC industry codes.
To find key ratios for the industry of your company: look up the company. 1) Click "Industry Classification" in the left hand panel. 2) click the most appropriate line of business in the tree structure. 3) Click "Key Stats & Ratios" in the left hand panel.
Journals from Elsevier Science. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines. Users should update their passwords.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.
Note: don't be put off by the "Science" in ScienceDirect: this database includes all the journals published by Elsevier, a premier scholarly publisher, and include Finance, Accounting, Economics, etc., as well as science topics.
Comprehensive source for U.S. accounting rules and corporate capital changes; includes full text of the GAAP Guide.
To get to the US Master GAAP Guide, once in the database, click on the Titles A-Z button, then "U" (for "US..."). The title will appear, click on it and it will appear as a source on the left. Browse or search as desired.
This link runs a search in the eJournals lookup system, described above. It will produce a list of ALL the journals with "accounting" somewhere in the name that are available to you online.
The resources provided here are my "best guess" for what you might need. And it may be that everything you need is supplied to your by your professor, no need for library resources at all. But if there's something else you need, please let me know, and together we will improve this resource guide!
Understanding quartiles in RMA Industry Norms in OneSource
Each financial ratio benchmark in RMA Anniual Studies has three points (Median Upper, Median, Median Lower) that divide an array of values into four equal groups called quartiles. So if a company’s value is equal or above the median upper, then it falls into the upper quartile. If it falls between the median upper and the median, then the company ranks in the upper middle quartile. This helps you analyze how a company compares to others of similar size.
Advice for Enhancing Your Research Success
Here are a few tips to for researching:
Google often isn't helpful. The best business information is not free. However, the library does subscribe to numerous resources.
When using these databases, adjust your search terms if you're not getting the results you hoped for--try synonyms and scour article titles, abstracts, and subject headings in your search results for likely search terms to use. Sometimes a thesaurus or encyclopedia come in handy when brainstorming search terms.
Use double quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (e.g. "new age" finds these terms in exact order).
Use an asterisk to substitute for letters at the end of a word (e.g. crit* finds critic, criticism, critique etc.).
If you can't find what you're looking for, schedule an appointment!
The resources in this guide are a tiny sampling of what is available through library subscriptions. My Business Resources Guide arranges the whole gamut of business resources available to you into lists by type of information (articles, market research, companies, etc.) and by topic (Finance, Entrepreneurship, etc.) . Try these or simply get in touch and let me know what you need.
Getting the information you need
Searching as Strategic Exploration
Realize that information sources vary greatly in content and format and have varying relevance and value, depending on the needs and nature of your search.
Recognize the value of browsing and other serendipitous methods of information gathering.