Find - ASLA 280 - Deaf-Related Careers - LibGuides at University of Rochester

Articles

DiscoverUR searches much of the library's content in a single search. It's a great place to start!

Search settings can be changed on the results page.
To limit to just scholarly articles, select Peer-Reviewed Journals on the upper left of search results.
DiscoverUR Search Tips will help to get you started.

If the library doesn't have an article you want, request it via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get it for you, often in just a day or two. (Learn more about UR Interlibrary Loan in this YouTube video.)

Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books and reports in linguistics and related fields, many with links to full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books and other resources in sociology, anthropology, education, and other social sciences.
Includes some links to full text.

Books

Search Articles & Books or the UR Catalog to find books in the University of Rochester Libraries and online.

Articles & Books searches much of the library's content in a single search.
- Search settings can be changed on the results page.
- To limit to just books, select Book/eBook on the left of search results.
- To further limit to just ebooks, also select Full Text Online.
UR Catalog identifies a variety of library materials, including books, but it does not identify articles.

If the library doesn't have a book you want, request it via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get it for you, often in less than a week. (Learn more about UR Interlibrary Loan in this YouTube video.)

To browse library shelves for books on "Sign Language and Deaf Studies", see call numbers HV2350 - HV2990.5. They are found on Level 3 in Rush Rhees Library.

The latest Occupational Outlook Handbook is available online from the U.S. Department of Labor and in Credo Academic Core.

SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2016
Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness by John V. Van Cleve
Call Number: Print also available in Rhees Reference Stacks HV2365 .G35 1987
ISBN: 0070792291
Publication Date: 1987
Routledge Encyclopedia of Interpreting Studies
Call Number: P306.5 .R65 2015 or online
Publication Date: 2015

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Selected full text of books in all disciplines. Previously called: Ebrary.

Ebooks Help Guide

If you are having problems using any ebook from the library, feel free to

contact me
check the River Campus Libraries' Ebooks Help Guide
ask for help from any Q&i Desk

Annual Review of Psychology
Articles review an area of psychology research, identify researchers working in that area, and cite relevant published work.

Journals

There are many journals covering sign language and deaf studies. Here are a few that might be of interest.

To find other ejournals, search or browse titles on the eJournals page of the River Campus Libraries' website or search for specific journals (print and online) by title in the UR Catalog.