"Chat Live"
Mon: 3-5, Fri: 1 pm Zoom with me (Click "Meet with Me" to make appointment.)
Work from home: Mon, Thurs PM and Fri PM About Sue: ORCID: 0000-0002-9267-8235
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan. CAS Formulus, and CAS Analytical Methods have recently been added and can be found under the three dot menu on the upper left. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN..
For SciFinder, first time users must register herewith your UR email address to obtain a free password.
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys. Users should update their passwords.
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. VPN required for off-campus access. Users should update their passwords.
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy. Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references. Search by structure, name, molecular formula, CAS Registry number, property value or any combination. Retrieve basic property information, description of hazard, derivatives properties, and references to synthetic methods and spectra. Covers properties of inorganic, organic, organometallic, pharmacological agents, analytical reagents or natural products. This is the online version of "Dictionary of organic compounds", "Dictionary of natural products", "Dictionary of inorganic compounds", "Dictionary of organometallic compounds", "Dictionary of pharmacological agents", and "Dictionary of analytical reagents". For more information see the introduction on the database website.
Identifies uses and properties of reagents used in organic synthesis. Search or browse reagents.
Browse alphabetical list of reagents or search by keyword, reagent name, structure, substructure, reaction, reagent name, reaction name, catalyst, solvent, yield, temperature, author, reference or year. Based on book set called Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis edited by Leo A. Paquette. Updated frequently.
Find technical chemistry & chemical engineering information, material properties and interactive equations and data from full-text reference handbooks, manuals, conference proceedings, case studies, and material properties databases.
Interactive equations have unit conversion; selected data tables can be filtered and points on enhanced graphs can be determined with precision. See Using Knovel Libguide for details.
HNMR, CNMR, MS, ESR, Raman, and IR spectra for organic compounds.
Contains HNMR, CNMR, MS, ESR, Raman, and IR spectra for organic compounds. Search by substance name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS registry number, or chemical shifts.
(Online) Instruction and advice writers need to master the art of scholarly communication. This Guide covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints
(ChemDraw Professional) Draw compounds and lab glassware diagrams. Available at public computers. For tips & tricks, see the hot keys and shortcut cheat sheets in the help as well as some tutorials. All users will be required to create a NEW account. See System Requirements
Collection of full text biomedical and life sciences protocols documenting experiments with step-by-step laboratory instructions, and lists of equipment and ingredients.
Comprised of five book series and two journals: Methods in Molecular Biology, Neuromethods, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, Methods in Biotechnology, Springer Protocols Handbooks.
A secure platform for developing and sharing reproducible methods.As a member of University of Rochester you can get free premium access and create free premium workspaces. Learn more
