Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN.
Strategies
Search compound by name if you have it. Some compounds have more than one name, ex. ethanol
Put molecular formulas in "hill order": Carbons first, then hydrogens, and then all other elements alphabetically. With some databases, capitalization does count.
Chemical Abstract Registry number is like a social security number for a compound and is a very precise way to search.
Many resources have both property and spectra information.
Your boiling point may be higher or lower (+/- 5 degrees) than the literature values.
Notice the technique and instrumentation that is used for obtaining spectra. Does it match yours? If not, what differences between spectra would you expect?
Find chemical properties and structures with related references.
Find chemical properties and structures with related references. Search by structure, name, molecular formula, CAS Registry number, property value or any combination. Retrieve basic property information, description of hazard, derivatives properties, and references to synthetic methods and spectra. Covers properties of inorganic, organic, organometallic, pharmacological agents, analytical reagents or natural products. This is the online version of "Dictionary of organic compounds", "Dictionary of natural products", "Dictionary of inorganic compounds", "Dictionary of organometallic compounds", "Dictionary of pharmacological agents", and "Dictionary of analytical reagents". For more information see the introduction on the database website.
(ONLINE) Although there are a number of books in this field, most of them lack an introduction of comprehensive analysis of MS and IR spectra, and others do not provide up-to-date information like tandem MS. This book fills the gap. The merit of this book is that the author will not only introduce knowledge for analyzing nuclear magnetic resonance spectra including 1H spectra (Chapter 1), 13C spectra (Chapter 2) and 2D NMR spectra (Chapter 3), he also arms readers systemically with knowledge of Mass spectra (including EI MS spectra and MS spectra by using soft ionizations) (Chapter 4) and IR spectra (Chapter 5). In each chapter the author presents very practical application skills by providing various challenging examples. The last chapter (Chapter 6) provides the strategy, skills and methods on how to identify an unknown compound through a combination of spectra. Based on nearly 40 years researching and teaching experience, the author also proposes some original and creative ideas, which are very practical for spectral interpretation.
(PRINT) First published over 40 years ago, this was the first text on the identification of organic compounds using spectroscopy. This text is now considered to be a classic. This text presents a unified approach to the structure determination of organic compounds based largely on mass spectrometry, infrared (IR) spectroscopy, and multinuclear and multidimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy. The key strength of this text is the extensive set of practice and real-data problems (in Chapters 7 and 8). Even professional chemists use these spectra as reference data. Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds is written by and for organic chemists, and emphasizes the synergistic effect resulting from the interplay of the spectra. This book is characterized by its problem-solving approach with extensive reference charts and tables. The 8th edition of this text maintains its student-friendly writing style - wording throughout has been updated for consistency and to be more reflective of modern usage and methods. Chapter 3 on proton NMR spectroscopy has been overhauled and updated. Also, new information on polymers and phosphorus functional groups has been added to Chapter 2 on IR spectroscopy.
(PRINT) Gain an understanding of the latest advances in spectroscopy with the text that has set the unrivaled standard for more than 30 years: Pavia/Lampman/Kriz/Vyvyan's INTRODUCTION TO SPECTROSCOPY, 4e. This comprehensive resource provides an unmatched systematic introduction to spectra and basic theoretical concepts in spectroscopic methods that create a practical learning resource whether you're an introductory student or someone who needs a reliable reference text on spectroscopy.This well-rounded introduction features updated spectra; a modernized presentation of one-dimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy; the introduction of biological molecules in mass spectrometry; and inclusion of modern techniques alongside DEPT, COSY, and HECTOR. Count on this book's exceptional presentation to provide the comprehensive coverage you need to understand today's spectroscopic techniques.
(PRINT) Appropriate for courses in organic spectroscopy or organic spectroscopic techniques in senior undergraduate and graduate programs. This text authoritatively covers currently used techniques for determining the structure of organic and biological compounds-ideal for any practicing or future organic or biochemist.
HNMR, CNMR, MS, ESR, Raman, and IR spectra for organic compounds.
Contains HNMR, CNMR, MS, ESR, Raman, and IR spectra for organic compounds. Search by substance name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS registry number, or chemical shifts.
Chemical properties, structures, MSDS, pricing, IR and NMR spectra. Search by substance name, CAS registry number, product name or number. A plugin needs to be downloaded from the site to enable structure searching.
Find chemical and physical properties, thermochemistry data or IR, UV/VIS or Mass spectra.
Find chemical and physical properties, thermochemistry data or IR, UV/VIS or Mass spectra by searching for chemical species by name, registry number, molecular formula, or structure. Also find Henry's law and ion energetics data. More NIST databases are available at http://www.nist.gov/srd/online.htm
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN.
Search by CAS number, name or structure to find articles that contain spectral information. If possible, download the PDF and search for the compound name or the type of spectroscopy you are looking for.
(Print) Easy to use and browsable print resource. Look up compounds in the molecular formula index at the back of volume 3. Probably unavailable during pandemic.
(Print) This three volume set of 12,000 high-resolution 75MHz 13C and 300MHz 1H FT-NMR spectra is arranged according to functionality. The Library contains CNMR and HNMR spectra of 11,828 organic compounds as well as information about their physico-chemical properties. Probably unavailable during the pandemic.
Find full chemistry journal titles from abbreviated titles. Include the periods after the abbreviations and do an exact match. Also useful for finding translation journals.
Interpretation of Organic Spectra by 
Spectrometric Identification of Organic Compounds by 
Introduction to Spectroscopy by 
Organic Structural Spectroscopy by 
Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-NMR Spectra by