Home - CHEM 406 - Interface of Chemistry & Biology - LibGuides at University of Rochester

Core Chemistry Databases

CAS SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, patents, conferences, books and dissertations in chemistry and medicine. Search by substance name, structure, substructure, reaction, CAS registry number, molecular formula, organization, research topic and author. Searches Chemical Abstracts, Medline and ChemZent databases simultaneously. Includes PatentPak, MethodsNow and Retrosynthesis Plan. CAS Formulus, and CAS Analytical Methods have recently been added and can be found under the three dot menu on the upper left. A separate registration is required before the first use. See About SciFinder for more detail. To use off campus, use VPN..

For SciFinder, first time users must register here with your UR email address to obtain a free password.

Reaxys (2017 version) This link opens in a new window
Identifies chemical compound properties, structures, and reactions with references to journal and patent literature of chemistry. The data originates from the Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry, the Beilstein Handbuch der organischen Chemie and a Patent Chemistry database. To learn more, see About Reaxys.
Users should update their passwords.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the world's largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across all scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities.
VPN required for off-campus access.
Users should update their passwords.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of American Chemical Society journals.
Dimensions This link opens in a new window
Dimensions is a next-generation linked research information system that makes it easier to find and access the most relevant information, analyze the academic and broader outcomes of research, and gather insights to inform future strategy.
Patrons can register using UR credentials.
To request access to Dimensions Google BigQuery, please contact Dale Hess dale.hess@rochester.edu.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.

Research Rabbit
AI Tool to find more papers from some good ones. See videos and this
review for more.
Compare Chemistry Databases
Review strengths and weaknesses of core chemistry database based on Sue's knowledge and experience.

Structures

Protein Data Bank This link opens in a new window
3-D structural data of large molecules of proteins and nucleic acids.
NCBI Databases (previously known as Entrez) This link opens in a new window
NCBI supports and distributes a variety of databases for the medical and scientific communities, including PubMed, Gene and OMIM, among others. Its search and retrieval system provides users with integrated access to literature, sequence, mapping, taxonomy, and structural data.

Biochemistry Journals

Biochemistry
Biochemistry publishes research from the arena where biochemistry, biophysical chemistry, and molecular biology meet. The journal covers structure, function, and regulation of biologically active molecules; gene structure & expression; biochemical mechanisms; protein biosynthesis; protein folding; global protein analysis and function; membrane structure-function relationships; biochemical methods; bioenergetics; bioinformatics, and immunochemistry.
FEBS Journal/ European Journal of Biochemistry
FEBS Journal is an international Journal devoted to the rapid publication of full-length papers covering a wide range of topics in any area of the molecular life sciences. The criteria for acceptance are originality and high quality research, which will provide novel perspectives in a specific area of research, and will be of interest to our broad readership.

To identify additional journals, use the core databases to search on your topic and ask researchers that are working in the area.

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Use the Catalog Search in DiscoverUR to search specifically for books or journal titles or other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Use the full Articles, Books & More for searching for article authors and titles.

Need More?

WorldCat.org This link opens in a new window
Identifies and locates books and other materials owned by libraries in the Rochester region and nationally.
tags: firstsearch, first search, world cat, worldcat

Interlibrary Loan
Not finding the article or book you need in the library? Use this free service to obtain library resources. A pdf of an article is usually delivered in 24 - 48 hours.
Recommend a purchase
If you think the library should purchase a copy of a book, report, or other types of materials, please fill out this form to let us know. UR login required.

Off Campus Access

All electronic library resources, including e-journals, databases, and course reserves, are available to current students, faculty, and staff from off-campus using either your My Account/NetID or VPN access. When you click on the link of a restricted library resource from the libraries' website, you will be prompted to login.

NetID
Info about your NetID and password.
Active Directory
Used to login to your Library account (My Account). For most people, it is the same as the NetID.
Remote Access (VPN)
Virtual Private Networking (VPN) establishes a connection so that you appear to be part of the University network. This eliminates repetitive logins. DUO two-factor authentication is necessary to set up your VPN.
DUO two-factor authentication
The University uses Duo to better protect University data. Duo authentication occurs after you log in with your user name and password using a mobile phone, tablet, or landline to verify your identity.

CHEM 406 - Interface of Chemistry & Biology

Chemistry Librarian

Core Chemistry Databases

Structures

Biochemistry Journals

DiscoverUR Catalog Search

Need More?

Off Campus Access

Related Links

Libraries

Chemistry Department

Other Guides