by Sue Cardinal
Last Updated Oct 17, 2023
46 views this year
Related Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic ChemistryThis link opens in a new windowOverview articles on inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry topics including metalloproteins, materials, energy, bioscience, chemical elements, transition metals, nanomaterials, catalysis, coordination chemistry, organometallic chemistry, theoretical methods and computational methods.
Alternate titles: EBIC, Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, Handbook of Metalloproteins.
Group Theory Texts
Advanced Inorganic Chemistry 6th Ed by F. Albert Cotton; Geoffrey Wilkinson; Carlos A. Murillo; Manfred Bochmann(print) For more than a quarter century, Cotton and Wilkinson's Advanced Inorganic Chemistry has been the source that students and professional chemists have turned to for the background needed to understand current research literature in inorganic chemistry and aspects of organometallic chemistry. Like its predecessors, this updated Sixth Edition is organized around the periodic table of elements and provides a systematic treatment of the chemistry of all chemical elements and their compounds. It incorporates important recent developments with an emphasis on advances in the interpretation of structure, bonding, and reactivity.
Call Number: Carlson QD151.2 .C68 1999
Publication Date: 1999-04-13
Chemical Applications of Group Theory 3rd Ed by F. Albert Cotton(print) Retains the easy-to-read format and informal flavor of the previous editions, and includes new material on the symmetric properties of extended arrays (crystals), projection operators, LCAO molecular orbitals, and electron counting rules. Also contains many new exercises and illustrations.
Call Number: Carlson QD461 .C65 1990
Publication Date: 1991-01-16
Group Theory in Chemistry and Spectroscopy by Boris S. Tsukerblat(print) Group theory inferences are applied to analyze the results of practically all spectroscopic methods used in organic and inorganic chemistry. This book is a manual for experimentalists and the fundamental concepts are introduced by way of examples, solving particular chemical and physical problems.
Call Number: Carlson QD455.3.G75 T8 1994
Publication Date: 1994-06-21
Inorganic Chemistry 5th Ed by Gary Miessler; Paul Fischer; Donald Tarr(print) With its updates to quickly changing content areas, a strengthened visual presentation and the addition of new co-author Paul Fischer, the new edition of this highly readable text is more educational and valuable than ever. Inorganic Chemistry, 5/e delivers the essentials of Inorganic Chemistry at just the right level for today's classroom -- neither too high (for novice readers) nor too low (for advanced readers). Strong coverage of atomic theory and an emphasis on physical chemistry provide a firm understanding of the theoretical basis of inorganic chemistry, while a reorganized presentation of molecular orbital and group theory highlights key principles more clearly.
Call Number: Carlson QD151.3 .M54 2014
Publication Date: 2013-01-20
Ligand Field Theory and Its Applications by Brian N. Figgis; Michael A. Hitchman(print) A complete, up-to-date treatment of ligand field theory and its applications Ligand Field Theory and Its Applications presents an up-to-date account of ligand field theory, the model currently used to describe the metal-ligand interactions in transition metal compounds, and the way it is used to interpret the physical properties of the complexes. It examines the traditional electrostatic crystal field model, still widely used by physicists, as well as covalent approaches such as the angular overlap model, which interprets the metal ligand interactions using parameters relating directly to chemical behavior. Written by internationally recognized experts in the field, this book provides a comparison between ligand field theory and more sophisticated treatments as well as an account of the methods used to calculate the energy levels in compounds of the transition metals. It also covers physical properties such as stereochemistry, light absorption, and magnetic behavior. An emphasis on the interpretation of experimental results broadens the book's field of interest beyond transition metal chemistry into the many other areas where these metal ions play an important role. As clear and accessible as Brian Figgis's 1966 classic Introduction to Ligand Fields, this new book provides inorganic and bioinorganic chemists as well as physical chemists, chemical physicists, and spectroscopists with a much-needed overview of the many significant changes that have taken place in ligand field theory over the past 30 years.
Call Number: Carlson QD475 .F54 2000
Publication Date: 1999-12-28
Orbital Interactions in Chemistry 2nd by Thomas A. Albright; Jeremy K. Burdett; Myung-Hwan Whangbo; Myung-Hwan Whangbo(online) Explains the underlying structure that unites all disciplinesin chemistry Now in its second edition, this book explores organic,organometallic, inorganic, solid state, and materials chemistry,demonstrating how common molecular orbital situations arisethroughout the whole chemical spectrum. The authors explore therelationships that enable readers to grasp the theory thatunderlies and connects traditional fields of study withinchemistry, thereby providing a conceptual framework with which tothink about chemical structure and reactivity problems. Orbital Interactions in Chemistry begins by developingmodels and reviewing molecular orbital theory. Next, the bookexplores orbitals in the organic-main group as well as in solids.Lastly, the book examines orbital interaction patterns that occurin inorganic-organometallic fields as well as clusterchemistry, surface chemistry, and magnetism in solids. This Second Edition has been thoroughly revised andupdated with new discoveries and computational tools since thepublication of the first edition more than twenty-five years ago.Among the new content, readers will find: * Two new chapters dedicated to surface science and magneticproperties * Additional examples of quantum calculations, focusing oninorganic and organometallic chemistry * Expanded treatment of group theory * New results from photoelectron spectroscopy Each section ends with a set of problems, enabling readers totest their grasp of new concepts as they progress through the text.Solutions are available on the book's ftp site. Orbital Interactions in Chemistry is written for bothresearchers and students in organic, inorganic, solid state,materials, and computational chemistry. All readers will discoverthe underlying structure that unites all disciplines inchemistry.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
Textbooks at Carlson Library Desk (Reserve)
Forgot your textbook? Many chemistry textbooks are available at the Carlson Library desk. Stop by and ask.
To find books and documents reserved for your course:
1) Select the Course Reserve Radio Button.
2) Choose dropdown next to "Any field" and scroll down to select Course Instructor, Course ID, Course Name or Course Department Name.
3) Enter details about your course. (ex. Course Department contains Chemistry, Course Name contains Inorganic, Course Instructor contains Bren)
(Online) Instruction and advice writers need to master the art of scholarly communication. This Guide covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints