by Sue Cardinal
Last Updated Oct 17, 2023
46 views this year
Related Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic ChemistryThis link opens in a new windowOverview articles on inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry topics including metalloproteins, materials, energy, bioscience, chemical elements, transition metals, nanomaterials, catalysis, coordination chemistry, organometallic chemistry, theoretical methods and computational methods.
Alternate titles: EBIC, Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, Handbook of Metalloproteins.
Introduction to Spectroscopy 4th Ed by Donald L. Pavia; Gary M. Lampman; George S. Kriz; James A. Vyvyan(PRINT) Gain an understanding of the latest advances in spectroscopy with the text that has set the unrivaled standard for more than 30 years: Pavia/Lampman/Kriz/Vyvyan's INTRODUCTION TO SPECTROSCOPY, 4e. This comprehensive resource provides an unmatched systematic introduction to spectra and basic theoretical concepts in spectroscopic methods that create a practical learning resource whether you're an introductory student or someone who needs a reliable reference text on spectroscopy.This well-rounded introduction features updated spectra; a modernized presentation of one-dimensional nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy; the introduction of biological molecules in mass spectrometry; and inclusion of modern techniques alongside DEPT, COSY, and HECTOR. Count on this book's exceptional presentation to provide the comprehensive coverage you need to understand today's spectroscopic techniques.
Structural Methods of Inorganic Chemistry 2nd Ed by E. A. Ebsworth; Stephen Cradock; David W. H. Rankin(print) Structural Methods in Inorganic Chemistry, Second Edition is the completely revised and updated version of the successful, first edition text. It is designed to help readers interpret experimental data, understand the material published in modern journals of inorganic chemistry, and make decisions about what techniques will be the most useful in solving particular structural problems. Topics addressed include time scales of physical methods, relative advantages and disadvantages of those methods, nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy, and rotational and vibrational spectroscopy. The book also utilizes well-chosen research examples to illustrate the use of the techniques in real research publications. Structural Methods in Inorganic Chemistry makes a strong connection between theoretical topics and the real world of practicing chemists. What's new in the second edition? The Second Edition of Structural Methods in Inorganic Chemistry has been completely revised and updated, featuring new developments in nuclear magnetic resonance and electronic spectroscopy; the addition of more recent case histories; and many new problems throughout the text. Some of the problems are numerical, others involve interpretations of data or logical analysis, while others are meant to start discussions. Answers are given to odd numbered problems, although sets of solutions and comments on the even numbered problems are available to course instructors. A series of worked examples are also included in the text to supplement the case histories. They are intended to illustrate the applications of the particular techniques to real chemical problems, and most of them are drawn from recent chemical literature.
Call Number: Carlson QD95 .E29 1991b
Publication Date: 1991-09-30
Structural Methods in Molecular Inorganic Chemistry by D. W. H. Rankin; Norbert Mitzel; Carole Morrison(print or online)Determining the structure of molecules is a fundamental skill that all chemists must learn. Structural Methods in Molecular Inorganic Chemistry is designed to help readers interpret experimental data, understand the material published in modern journals of inorganic chemistry, and make decisions about what techniques will be the most useful in solving particular structural problems. Following a general introduction to the tools and concepts in structural chemistry, the following topics are covered in detail: * computational chemistry * nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy * electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy * Mössbauer spectroscopy * rotational spectra and rotational structure * vibrational spectroscopy * electronic characterization techniques * diffraction methods * mass spectrometry The final chapter presents a series of case histories, illustrating how chemists have applied a broad range of structural techniques to interpret and understand chemical systems. Throughout the textbook a strong connection is made between theoretical topics and the real world of practicing chemists. Each chapter concludes with problems and discussion questions, and a supporting website contains additional advanced material. Structural Methods in Molecular Inorganic Chemistry is an extensive update and sequel to the successful textbook Structural Methods in Inorganic Chemistry by Ebsworth, Rankin and Cradock. It is essential reading for all advanced students of chemistry, and a handy reference source for the professional chemist.
Call Number: Carlson QD461 .R24 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
X-Ray Spectroscopy 2nd Ed by B. K. Agarwal(print) An attempt has been made in this edition of the book to retain the appeal of the first edition even after the addition of new material and the deletion of other matter which no longer appears essential. Major revisions have been made in almost all the chapters to include new developments. The material on EXAFS has been updated and put in a separate chapter. The chapter on experimental methods has been considerably expanded to include energy dispersive techniques. New topics like heavy-ion bremsstrah- lung, X-ray lasers, resonant emission, appearance potential spectroscopy, and EXAFS of high-Tc superconducting materials have been added. It is hoped that readers will find the new edition more useful and attractive. I am grateful to Professor R. H; Pratt, University of Pittsburgh, for reading the revisedversion of the first chapter, to Dr. H. Lotsch, of Springer-Verlag, for encouraging meto revisethe book, and to Prashant and Seemafor helping mein preparing the manuscript. Allahabad, B. K. Agarwal July 1989 Preface to the First Edition Rontgen's discovery of X-rays in 1895launched a subject which became central to the development of modem physics. The verification of many of the predictions of quantum theory by X-ray spectroscopy in the early part of the twentieth century stimulated great interest in this area, which has subsequently influenced fieldsas diverseas chemicalphysics, nuclear physics, and the study of the electronic properties of solids, and led to the development of techniques such as Auger, Raman, and X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy.
Call Number: POA QC482.S6 A34 1991
Publication Date: 1991-10-10
Textbooks at Carlson Library Desk (Reserve)
Forgot your textbook? Many chemistry textbooks are available at the Carlson Library desk. Stop by and ask.
To find books and documents reserved for your course:
1) Select the Course Reserve Radio Button.
2) Choose dropdown next to "Any field" and scroll down to select Course Instructor, Course ID, Course Name or Course Department Name.
3) Enter details about your course. (ex. Course Department contains Chemistry, Course Name contains Inorganic, Course Instructor contains Bren)
(Online) Instruction and advice writers need to master the art of scholarly communication. This Guide covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints