CHEM 433 - Advanced Organic Chemistry

(Online) Part A of of Advanced Organic Chemistry covers fundamental structural topics and basic mechanistic types.

(Online) Part B describes the most general and useful synthetic reactions, organized on the basis of reaction type.

(Online) This book shows how to write a reasonable mechanism for an organic chemical transformation. The discussion is organized by types of mechanisms and the conditions under which the reaction is executed, rather than by the overall reaction as is the case in most textbooks. Each chapter discusses common mechanistic pathways and suggests practical tips for drawing them. Worked problems are included in the discussion of each mechanism, and "common error alerts" are scattered throughout the text to warn readers about pitfalls and misconceptions that bedevil students. Each chapter is capped by a large problem set.

(Online) This book clearly explains the theories and examples of organic chemistry, providing the most comprehensive resource about organic chemistry available. Readers are guided on planning and execution of multi-step synthetic reactions, with detailed descriptions of all the reactions. The first five chapters deal with the structure of organic compounds and discuss important organic chemistry bonds, fundamental principles of conformation, and stereochemistry of organic molecules, and reactive intermediates in organic chemistry. Chapters 6 to 9 are concerned with general principles of mechanism in organic chemistry, including acids and bases, photochemistry, sonochemistry and microwave irradiation, and finally the relationship between structure and reactivity. The last 10 chapters cover the nature and the scope of organic reactions and their mechanisms.

(online) Arrow Pushing in Organic Chemistry serves as a handy supplement for understanding organic chemistry. The 2nd edition Includes new chapters, an expanded index, and additional problem sets complete with detailed solutions

(online) In this book molecular orbital theory is presented in a much simplified, and entirely non-mathematical language, accessible to every organic chemist, whether student or research worker, whether mathematically competent or not.

(online) Stereoelectronic Effects illustrates the utility of stereoelectronic concepts using structure and reactivity of organic molecules An advanced textbook that provides an up-to-date overview of the field, starting from the fundamental principles Presents a large selection of modern examples of stereoelectronic effects in organic reactivity Shows practical applications of stereoelectronic effects in asymmetric catalysis, photochemical processes, bioorganic chemistry and biochemistry, inorganic and organometallic reactivity, supramolecular chemistry and materials science

This graduate level text presents the first comprehensive overview of modern chemical valency and bonding theory, written by internationally recognised experts in the field. The authors build on the foundation of Lewis- and Pauling-like localized structural and hybridization concepts to present a book that is directly based on current ab-initio computational technology. The presentation is highly visual and intuitive throughout, based on the recognizable and transferable graphical forms of natural bond orbitals (NBOs) and their spatial overlaps in the molecular environment. The book shows applications to a broad range of molecular and supramolecular species of organic, inorganic and bioorganic interest. Hundreds of orbital illustrations help to convey the essence of modern NBO concepts for those with no extensive background in the mathematical machinery of the Schrödinger equation. This book will appeal to those studying chemical bonding in relation to chemistry, chemical engineering, biochemistry and physics.

(Print) Like the first, the second edition is built on three principles: An explanatory approach, through which the reader is motivated to understand the subject and not just learn the facts; A mechanistic approach, giving the reader the power to understand compounds and reactions never previously encountered; An evidence-based approach, setting out clearly how and why reactions happen as they do, giving extra depth to the reader's understanding. The authors write clearly and directly, sharing with the reader their own fascination with the subject, and leading them carefully from topic to topic. Their honest and open narrative flags pitfalls and misconceptions, guiding the reader towards a complete picture of organic chemistry and its universal themes and principles. SUPPORT MATERIALS The Companion Website (www.oup.com/uk/orc/bin/9780199270293), available to all adopters of the text, includes: - 3D Organic Animations: Link to chemtube3d to view interactive 3D animations developed by the author - Additional Chapters: Four chapters from the first edition that do not appear in the second - Errata: Corrections to the book since publication - End-of-Chapter Questions: A range of problems to accompany each chapter - Figures in PowerPoint: Figures pre-inserted into PowerPoint for use in lectures and handouts - Problems: Problems to accompany each chapter from the new edition of Organic Chemistry will be posted in the student area of the book's Companion Website throughout the year (April, June, and December 2012)

Includes 250 organic reactions and their strategic use in the synthesis of complex natural and unnatural products. Reactions are thoroughly discussed in a convenient, two-page layout--using full color.

(Print) This modern textbook makes explicit the many connections between physical organic chemistry and critical fields such as organometallic chemistrry, materials chemistry, bioorganic chemistry, and biochemistry. In the latter part of the 20th century, the field of physical organic chemistry went through dramatic changes, with an increased emphasis on noncovalent interactions and their roles in molecular recognition, supramolecular chemistry, and biology; the development of new materials with novel structural features; and the use of computational methods. Contemporary chemists must be just as familiar with these newer fields as with the more established classical topics. Modern Physical Organic Chemistry is intended to bridge that gap. In addition to covering thoroughly the core areas of physical organic chemistry - structure and mechanism - the book will escort the practitioner of organic chemistry into a field that has been thoroughly updated.

(Online) Reagent literature, with information in alphabetical order by common name. Digital version of v1 - 28 of Fieser's Reagents for Organic Synthesis

(Online) Purification of Laboratory Chemicals, Eighth Edition, tabulates methods taken from literature for purifying thousands of individual commercially available chemicals. To help in applying this information, the more common processes currently used for purification in chemical laboratories and new methods are discussed.

(Online) The iconic chemistry handbook--extensively updated and thoroughly up to date The standard reference for chemists for more than 70 years, this resource contains vast amounts of facts, data, tabular material, and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Included in this fully updated compendium are listings of the properties of more than 4,000 organic and 1,400 inorganic compounds. Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 17th Edition, is divided into six sections--general information and conversion tables, spectroscopy, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, petroleum and petroleum products, biomass and biofuels, and environmental science. Existing tables have been thoroughly overhauled and new tables have been added that cover the properties of coal, minerals, natural gas, oil shale, and petroleum.  * Features equations that allow you to calculate important values such as temperature and pressure * Contains newly expanded sections on timely topics, including the properties of petroleum products, the environmental properties of chemicals, and proper clean-up methods * Includes updated viscosity, thermal conductivity, critical constants, explosion limits, and vapor density data