(Print) This modern textbook makes explicit the many connections between physical organic chemistry and critical fields such as organometallic chemistrry, materials chemistry, bioorganic chemistry, and biochemistry. In the latter part of the 20th century, the field of physical organic chemistry went through dramatic changes, with an increased emphasis on noncovalent interactions and their roles in molecular recognition, supramolecular chemistry, and biology; the development of new materials with novel structural features; and the use of computational methods. Contemporary chemists must be just as familiar with these newer fields as with the more established classical topics. Modern Physical Organic Chemistry is intended to bridge that gap. In addition to covering thoroughly the core areas of physical organic chemistry - structure and mechanism - the book will escort the practitioner of organic chemistry into a field that has been thoroughly updated.
Fundamentals of Asymmetric Catalysis by Patrick J. Walsh; Marisa C. Kozlowski
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
(Print) The field of asymmetric catalysis plays an increasingly large role in chemical synthesis as the demand for single-enantiomer starting materials, intermediates, and products rises. This book describes the essential aspects of enantioselective catalysis in a clear, logical fashion, with chapters organized by concept rather than by reaction type. Each concept is supported by carefully selected examples to give the reader broad exposure to a wide range of catalysts, reactions, and reaction mechanisms. This book is also intended for synthetic chemists who wish to increase their likelihood for success when faced with the prospect of using asymmetric catalysts.
This practical handbook presents concise descriptions of the most commonly employed experimental techniques for studying reaction mechanisms in organic chemistry. For each technique, all necessary theoretical background is covered, and at least one example of its application--taken from the research literature--is described in detail.
Graduate-level text stresses extrathermodynamic approach to quantitative prediction and constructs a logical framework that encompasses and classifies all known extrathermodynamic relationships. Numerous figures and tables. Author and Subject Indexes.
The third edition of a classic text originally by Frost and Pearson, that describes the fundamental principles and established practices that apply to the study and the rates and mechanisms of homogeneous chemical reactions in the gas phase and in solution. Incorporates new advances made during the past 20 years in the study of individual molecular collisions by molecular-beam, laser applications to experimental kinetics, theoretical treatments of reaction rates and our understanding of the principles that govern rates of reaction in solution. Presents numerous examples of the deduction of mechanism from experiment, including intimate details such as stereochemistry and the dependence of reaction pathway on the exact energy states of reacting particles.
A best-seller for the advanced physical organic chemistry course, the text uses organic mechanisms as the focal point for examining current research. The third edition also has an expanded discussion of electron transfer processes, including application of valence-bond configuration interaction and treatment of energy surface crossings in photochemical processes; improved treatment of chemically induced dynamic nuclear polarization (CIDNP); and a new appendix to Chapter 9 on electron spin resonance (ESR). The expanded discussion of molecular orbital theory includes an introduction to perturbation molecular orbital (PMO), and the material on nucleophilic substitution, photochemistry, and radicals has been extensively revised. End-of-chapter problems ranging in difficulty encourage further investigation of reactions. Appendices include transition state thermodynamics and isotrope effects.
(Online) A best-selling mechanistic organic chemistry text in Germany, this text's translation into English fills a long-existing need for a modern, thorough and accessible treatment of reaction mechanisms for students of organic chemistry at the advanced undergraduate and graduate level. Knowledge of reaction mechanisms is essential to all applied areas of organic chemistry; this text fulfills that need by presenting the right material at the right level.
Chemical Kinetics The Study of Reaction Rates in Solution Kenneth A. Connors This chemical kinetics book blends physical theory, phenomenology and empiricism to provide a guide to the experimental practice and interpretation of reaction kinetics in solution. It is suitable for courses in chemical kinetics at the graduate and advanced undergraduate levels. This book will appeal to students in physical organic chemistry, physical inorganic chemistry, biophysical chemistry, biochemistry, pharmaceutical chemistry and water chemistry-all fields concerned with the rates of chemical reactions in the solution phase.
This practical text/reference discusses the preparation of solutions and the choice of instrumentation in obtaining experimental data, the methods used in the evaluation of such data in finding reaction rate equations, and the detection of products and intermediates. Selected examples of systems are given.
Exceptionally clear, carefully written treatment of the nature of catalysis of reactions in aqueous solution. Coverage of mechanisms for catalysis, forces in aqueous solution, carbonyl- and acyl-group reactions, practical kinetics, and much more. Extensive bibliography. "... a masterpiece."—Nature.
This print book series provides the chemical community with authoritative and critical assessments of the many aspects of physical organic chemistry. The field is a rapidly developing one, with results and methodologies finding application from biology to solid state physics.
This book series reviews the latest investigations into organic chemistry that use quantitative and mathematical methods. Progress in Physical Organic Chemistry fills the need for a central resource that presents, analyzes, and contextualizes the major advances in the field. Among the topics explored in this series are reaction mechanisms; reactive intermediates; combinatorial strategies; novel structures; spectroscopy; chemistry at interfaces; stereochemistry; conformational analysis; quantum chemical studies; structure-reactivity relationships; solvent, isotope and solid-state effects; long-lived charged, sextet or open-shell species; magnetic, non-linear optical and conducting molecules; and molecular recognition.
Name Reactions by Jie Jack Li
Publication Date: 2009-07-23
This book differs from others on name reactions in organic chemistry by focusing on their mechanisms. It covers over 300 classical as well as contemporary name reactions. Biographical sketches for the chemists who discovered or developed those name reactions have been included. Each reaction is delineated by its detailed step-by-step, electron-pushing mechanism, supplemented with the original and the latest references, especially review articles. This book contains major improvements over the previous edition and the subject index is significantly expanded.
Name Reactions and Reagents in Organic Synthesis by Bradford P. Mundy; Michael G. Ellerd; Frank G. Favaloro
Publication Date: 2005-04-21
This Second Edition is the premier name resource in the field. It provides a handy resource for navigating the web of named reactions and reagents. Reactions and reagents are listed alphabetically, followed by relevant mechanisms, experimental data (including yields where available), and references to the primary literature. The text also includes three indices based on reagents and reactions, starting materials, and desired products. Organic chemistry professors, graduate students, and undergraduates, as well as chemists working in industrial, government, and other laboratories, will all find this book to be an invaluable reference.
A classic in organic chemistry, March's Advanced Organic Chemistry helps students and chemists plan and execute synthetic reactions. We have the 6th edition in print at QD251.2 .M37 2007 and the 7th edition is linked above. See chapter 6: Mechanisms and Methods of Determining them.
Comprehensive Organic Transformations by Richard C. Larock
Publication Date: 1999-11-03
This long-awaited, greatly-expanded new edition of a best-selling guide offers an encyclopedic and systematic collection of useful synthetic methodology, including tens of thousands of reactions and synthetic transformations. The first edition has been reviewed in the professional journals as "clearly...the first choice for researchers seeking information on synthetic transformations." And as "useful to anyone who must do organic synthesis, especially those whose focus is not strictly organic chemistry. It provides a...clear road map to the synthetic literature and should be kept within easy reach of the chemist's desk."
Science encyclopedia articles, definitions, biographies, study guides and graphics.
includes McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology,9th ed.,McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, 6th edition,McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science and Technology and more. updated daily.