CHEM 456 - Chemical Bonds: From Molecules to Materials

Also in print on reserve at Carlson (QC882 .B63 1983)
Absorption and Scattering of Light by Small Particles Treating absorption and scattering in equal measure, this self-contained, interdisciplinary study examines and illustrates how small particles absorb and scatter light. The authors emphasize that any discussion of the optical behavior of small particles is inseparable from a full understanding of the optical behavior of the parent material-bulk matter. To divorce one concept from the other is to render any study on scattering theory seriously incomplete.

In Chemical Bonding in Solids, renowned chemist Jeremy K. Burdett offers a clear and much-needed synthesis of chemical bonding theory and solid state structural considerations. Over the past fifteen years, the delocalized orbital model favored by molecular chemists--the model of choice for understanding a plethora of organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemistry phenomena--has been effectively used for infinite solid-state arrays. In addition, other concepts originating from molecular chemistry--including overlap population analysis, topological aspects of the Hamiltonian matrix, and eigenvalue and eigenvector forms--have been increasingly added to the physicist's arsenal. Focusing on insights proffered by both chemists and physicists, this book documents cutting-edge approaches to the computation of the electronic band structures of materials, attempts to understand their origin, the use of results to make predictions concerning the properties of such materials, and the extraction of general ideas concerning structure and bonding.

The Drude Theory of Metals. The Sommerfeld Theory of Metals. Failures of the Free Electron Model. Crystal Lattices. The Reciprocal Lattice. Determination of Crystal Structures by X-Ray Diffraction. Classification of Bravais Lattices and Crystal Structures. Electron levels in a Periodic Potential: General Properties. Electrons in a Weak Periodic Potential. The Tight-Binding Method. Other Methods for Calculating Band Structure. The Semiclassical Model of Electron Dynamics. The Semiclassical Theory of Conduction in Metals. Measuring the Fermi Surface. Band Structure of Selected Metals. Beyond the Relaxation. Time Approximation. Beyond the Independent Electron Approximation. Surface Effects. Classification of Solids. Cohesive Energy. Failures of the Static Lattice Model. Classical Theory of the Harmonic Crystal. Quantum Theory of the Harmonic Crystal. Measuring Phonon Dispersion Relations. Anharmonic Effects in Crystals. Phonons in Metals. Dielectric Properties of Insulators. Homogeneous Semiconductors. Inhomogeneous Semiconductors. Defects in Crystals. Diamagnetism and Paramagnetism. Electron Interactions and Magnetic Structure. Magnetic Ordering. Superconductivity. Appendices.

This text presents both the theory and experimental facts of solids at an elementary level, with emphasis on semiconductors and on wave propagation in periodic media. Includes chapters on surface and interface physics and on noncrystalline solids.

(Print) Includes new material on the symmetric properties of extended arrays (crystals), projection operators, LCAO molecular orbitals, and electron counting rules. Also contains many new exercises and illustrations.

an overview of the background and recent developments in the rapidly growing field of ultrasmall semiconductor microscrystallites, in which the carrier confinement is sufficiently strong to allow only quantized states of the electrons and holes. The main emphasis of this book is the theoretical analysis of the confinement induced modifications of the optical and electronic properties of quantum dots in comparison to extended materials.

The discovery of fullerenes (also known as buckyballs) has generated tremendous excitement and opened up a new field of carbon chemistry. Because buckyballs are essentially closed hollow cages made up of carbon atoms, they can be manipulated in a variety of ways to yield never-before-seen materials. The balls can, for instance, be doped with atoms or pulled out into tubules and filled with lead to provide properties of high-temperature superconductivity. Researchers can now create their own buckyballs in a process that is almost as simple as making soot, making this research as inexpensive as it is exotic (which has doubtless contributed to its popularity). Researchers anticipate that fullerenes will offer boundless opportunities in the development of new products, drugs and materials. Science of Fullerenes and Carbon Nanotubes introduces materials scientists, chemists, and solid state physicists to the field of fullerenes, and discusses the unique properties and applications. both current and future, of all classes of fullerenes.

Low-dimensional semiconductor structures, often referred to as nanocrystals or quantum dots, exhibit fascinating behavior and have a multitude of potential applications, especially in the field of communications. This book examines in detail the optical properties of these structures, gives full coverage of theoretical and experimental results, and discusses their technological applications.

All major aspects of solid state chemistry are covered as are the principles of chemical bonding and related mathematical concepts and operations. The book concludes each chapter with problem sets to facilitate teaching or self study.

Quantum mechanics embraces the behavior of all known forms of matter, including the atoms and molecules from which we, and all living organisms, are composed. Molecular Quantum Mechanics leads us through this absorbing yet challenging subject, exploring the fundamental physical principles that explain how all matter behaves. With the clarity of exposition and extensive learning features that have established the book as a leading text in the field, Molecular Quantum Mechanics takes us from the foundations of quantum mechanics, through quantum models of atomic, molecular, and electronic structure, and on to discussions of spectroscopy, and the electronic and magnetic properties of molecules. Lucid explanations and illuminating artworks help to visualize the many abstract concepts upon which the subject is built. Reflects the latest advances in computational techniques, and enhanced with more mathematical support.

Integrating many new computer-oriented examples and problems throughout, this modern introduction to quantum chemistry covers quantum mechanics, atomic structure, and molecular electronics, and clearly demonstrates the usefulness and limitations of current quantum-mechanical methods for the calculation of molecular properties. Covers such areas as the Schrödinger Equation, harmonic oscillator, angular momentum, hydrogen atom, theorems of quantum mechanics, electron spin and the Pauli Principle, the Virial Theorem and the Hellmann-Feynman Theorem, and more. Contains solid presentations of the mathematics needed for quantum chemistry, clearly explaining difficult or subtle points in detail. Offers full, step-by-step examinations of derivations that are easy to follow and understand. Offers comprehensive coverage of recent, revolutionary advances in modern quantum-chemistry methods for calculating molecular electronic structure, including the ab initio and semiempirical methods for molecular calculations.

Quantum Chemistry is carefully explained step-by-step, necessary mathematics is reviewed in detail. Worked examples aid learning. A solutions manual for the problems is available. Extensive discussions of modern abinitio, density functional, semiempirical, and molecular mechanics methods are included.

This is a thorough update of the classic text of the same title by Donald McQuarrie.

This book first teaches learners how to do quantum mechanics, and then provides them with a more insightful discussion of what it means. Fundamental principles are covered, quantum theory presented, and special techniques developed for attacking realistic problems. The book's two-part coverage organizes topics under basic theory, and assembles an arsenal of approximation schemes with illustrative applications.

(Online) This comprehensive book set includes four volumes, covering the methods and protocols for the synthesis, fabrication, and characterization of nanomaterials.

(Online) This book provides a state-of-the-art, comprehensive overview of our current understanding of the fundamental properties of magnetically ordered materials, and their use in a wide range of sophisticated applications. The Handbook is published in five themed volumes, as follows: Volume 1- Fundamentals and Theory Volume 2- Micromagnetism Volume 3- Novel Techniques for Characterizing and Preparing Samples Volume 4- Novel Materials Volume 5- Spintronics and Magnetoelectronics
Magnetic materials are used ubiquitously in the modern world, in fields as diverse as, for example, electrical energy transport, high-power electro-motors and generators, telecommunication systems, navigation equipment, aviation and space operations, micromechanical automation, medicine, magnetocaloric refrigeration, computer science, high density recording, non-destructive testing of materials, and in many household applications. Research in many of these areas continues apace. The progress made in recent years in computational sciences and advanced material preparation techniques has dramatically improved our knowledge of fundamental properties and increased our ability to produce materials with highly-tailored magnetic properties, even down to the nanoscale dimension.

(Print)