LibGuides: * Education, Counseling and Human Development Warner School: Education, Counseling, and Human Development

Finding Journal Articles using Databases

Top databases for Education, Psychology and Linguistics

DiscoverUR
The public search interface for all University or Rochester Libraries. It is a discovery layer rather than a single catalog, see What is a discovery layer? for more info.
DiscoverUR Advanced Search
Opens the advanced search box directly - and skips the library's homepage

Education Full Text
Identifies journal articles in education and related fields, many with links to the online full text.

Includes administration, teaching methods, curriculum, literacy and government funding.
APA PsycINFO via ProQuest
Identifies articles, books and dissertations in psychology and related subjects, many with links to full text, 1806 to current.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - LLBA
Identifies articles, books and reports in linguistics and related fields, many with links to full text.
Google Scholar
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
ProQuest Education Journals
Identifies journal articles in education and related fields.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Identifies Ph.D. dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities since 1861. Abstracts from 1980. Many with full-text.

Education Policy, Law, and Economics Databases, including grey literature

ABI/INFORM Complete
Articles from academic business journals and business trade publications; plus industry reports, some market data, and company profiles from the Experian Commercial Risk database.

For alumni access, see link to Proquest Alumni Edition on the Alumni Library Gateway.
EconLit
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.

A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlk
ERIC
Journal articles and documents in education - especially useful for grey literature, including reports from non-profit agencies, research groups, etc.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Full text reviews of children's books.

ICSPR help guide
If you're using ICPSR for the first time, this quick-start guide will help you get started.

ICPSR - Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Datasets and codebooks in political science, health and welfare, education and economics.

Datasets, with codebooks, on political attitudes, health and welfare, education and economic behavior. Almost all codebooks are online. If a codebook is only available in hard copy, you may contact us for more info.
PolicyFile
Research publications from U.S. and international think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers

Includes demographic, business and census data with abstracts and updated weekly. Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's home page, email address, scholar biographies and full text.
ProQuest Congressional
Pending legislation, U.S. laws, congressional hearings and testimony before Congress and other Congressional documents. Includes indexing to US Serial Set 1789-2021.

Also includes full text of the Congressional Record, legislative histories, committee information, member biographies, legislative news, the U.S. code, court decisions and the Congressional Information Service (CIS) index.
Public Affairs Index
Identifies articles on public policy, many with links to the online full text.

Covers public health, the environment, housing, human rights, economic and banking policy, international conflict and trade.
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Educational Psychology and Administration and Educational Curriculum and Methods
Provides contact information, manuscript guidelines, article acceptance rates, circulation and price for journals in education.

For more research on policy:

State legislation, state laws, and other state legal materials

From our Political Science librarian, try this research guide on Policy research: https://libguides.lib.rochester.edu/PSCI/policy

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Counseling Databases

Interdisciplinary databases

PubMed
Identifies articles in clinical and basic biomedical research as well as in psychology, many with links to full text.

PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Includes access to molecular and bioinformatic databases from the NCBI system (previous Entrez). Automatically expands (explodes) subject headings. Truncation turns off this automatic expansion of the hierarchical subject headings.
Social Sciences Full Text
Identifies articles in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, politics and law, many with links to full text.

Abstracts included from 1994-current; full text for many articles from 1994-current.
Web of Science
Identifies journal articles and cited references to research publications from 1900-current, including all disciplines, some with links to full text. Search for articles and authors, track citations, and analyze citation activity.

Archives of Education Research

Education Index Retrospective
Identifies articles from over 500 education journals, monographs, and yearbooks.

Black Teacher Archive
The Black Teacher Archive (BTA) is a freely available digital portal centralizing materials created by professional organizations of African American educators, historically referred to as Colored Teachers Associations (CTAs). The primary holdings of the portal are 20th century serial publications by CTAs.

The collection makes public the intellectual, political, and cultural contributions of Black educators during the Jim Crow era through the Civil Rights era. The BTA brings together materials from 70 archival repositories across the United States and makes available for research more than 50,000 pages authored by African American educators.

Higher Education News Sources

Chronicle of Higher Education
Online newspaper covering Higher Education, updated daily
Inside Higher Ed
Register for a free account to access most of the content from Inside Higher Ed.

To see how two major news outlets are covering higher education, the university has free subscriptions to NY Times and the Wall Street Journal. For other news sites, search in the library's DiscoverUR and filter for "Newspaper articles.""

NYTimes.com subscription (New York Times Online)

Visit AccessNYT (https://www.nytimes.com/activate-access/edu-access/university-of-rochester-rochester-ny)
In the search box, enter “University of Rochester” then follow the prompts on the next page.
Be sure to use your rochester.edu email address when setting up your account. If you are already a paid subscriber, you will need to cancel before linking to the institutional account.

Once you've signed up, all content is at nytimes.com. Students will have access until they graduate. Faculty and staff must renew once every four years; add a reminder to your calendar; there will be no subsequent reminder.

WSJ.com subscription (Wall Street Journal Online)

Visit WSJ.COM/ROCHESTER
Enter your university credentials
Create your WSJ account (to explore your membership benefits visit https://www.member.WSJ.com)

Chronicle of Higher Ed subscription

Visit https://www.chronicle.com/
Use the "sign in" link to create an account using your rochester.edu email address
Follow the prompts to complete your account profile

Education Data

Childstats.gov
Data included in FedStats but " this website concentrates on "...statistics and reports on children and families."
Education Watch Online
Ed Watch Interactive is a user-friendly source of data on educational performance and equity by race and class, kindergarten through college.
KidsCount Data Center
Explore hundreds of measures of well-being for kids across the nation, or in your state, city, or community.
NAEP State Profiles
State Profiles presents key data about each state's performance in the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) in mathematics, reading, writing, and science for grades 4 and 8.
Nation's Report Card
The Nation's Report Card presents the results of the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), which measures student achievement in the U.S. in various subjects over time.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Collects, analyzes and makes available data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
New York State Education Department
Contains data and statistics collected from New York schools and learning support resources.
New York State Report Cards
The New York State Report Cards provide enrollment, demographic, attendance, suspension, dropout, teacher, assessment, accountability, graduation rate, post-graduate plan, career and technical education, and fiscal data for public and charter schools, districts, and the State.
NYC Department of Education
Research and Data on NYC Schools.
TIMMS & PIRLS student achievement data
TIMSS and PIRLS are international assessments that monitor trends in student achievement in mathematics, science, and reading.
United Nations Educational, Scientific and and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Data Centre
Contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication for more than 200 countries and territories

Looking for more data?

Open Data Sets by Topic Research Guide
This extensive research guide links to even more ways to find datasets.

Data Rescue

Looking for data that might go missing in the current administration? The Data Rescue site is a good place to start: https://www.datarescueproject.org/data-rescue-tracker/

Looking for a website that has disappeared or been drastically changed? You can usually find it on the Wayback Machine from the Internet Archive: https://web.archive.org/

Searching the Open Web (not databases/library)

The open web provides a plethora of resources for finding data. Try using Google Advanced searching or Google Dataset Search.

Tips for Advanced Google searching include:

Include search terms like data or table
Google ignores the word AND as a search operator. But, typing OR in all caps will find similar or related terms (e.g. women OR females OR girls).
Search for a particular document type (e.g. childhood obesity filetype:xls)
Search for data on a particular site or domain (e.g. childhood obesity site:.gov)
Exclude words by using the "-" sign in front of the word you wish to exclude

Education Organization Access through UR

Educause Learning Initiative
To access: click "Log In" and sign up by searching for "University of Rochester" in the search box under "InCommon Federation Login"
Learning in the Digital Age: Organizations
Link out to Warner's Center for Learning in the Digital Age for an up-to-date list of organizations you have access to through the university. Inlcuding: K-12 Digital Consortium, Educause, Quality Matters, Online Learning Consortium

Searching Education Full Text Database

https://youtu.be/eno8Q5wLzAc

* Education, Counseling and Human Development Warner School

Social Science Librarian

Get an Interlibrary Loan