LibGuides: * English: Home

Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books, dissertations on literature, linguistics, film and folklore.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to full text works of poetry, drama and prose, literary criticism and reference.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of books from the beginning of printing in England through 1700.
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700. EEBO now contains about 100,000 of the titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Downloading as PDF is supported from the marked list or from inside a title. See the publisher's instructions - http://eebo.chadwyck.com/help/download.htm.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Black Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Over 70,000 bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews from 110 African-American periodicals and newspapers.
Part of Black Studies Center.
Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text collections of high quality, introductory essays covering a wide range of disciplines.
Covers the disciplines of literature, classics, economics, philosophy, religion and culture, etc.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles on art, architecture, dance, folklore, myth, film, journalism, music and religion. Many with links to full text.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming video covering 30 theater performances as well as archival material such as prompt scripts, costume designs, and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Newspapers & Magazines

New York Times - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full text articles published in the New York Times via the ProQuest platform.
Includes international, national and New York regional news, in addition to business, science, medicine, arts, sports and lifestyle news. Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861.
Wall Street Journal - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Full text articles published in the Wall Street Journal.
Democrat and Chronicle (1999-present) This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Rochester Democrat and Chronicle (1999-present).
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text - articles, ads, pictures - of New York Times (1851 - 2011) & other major papers. Click "More" link for their names.
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984) Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) Baltimore Sun (1837-1992) Boston Globe (1872 - 1985) Chicago Defender (1909-1975) Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1993) Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004) Globe and Mail (1844-2014) Irish Times (1859 - 2016) Louisville Courier (1830 - 2000) Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1993) Minneapolis Tribune (1867 - 2001) New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) New York Times (1851 - 2013) U.S, Northeast Collection (1785 - 2010) Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861. New York Tribune (1841-1962) Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) South China Morning Post (1903-1998) Times of India (1838-2008) Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) Washington Post (1877 - 2000)
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text of American newspapers from colonial times to the 1920's. Also known as Early American Newspapers. From Readex.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive, 1880-2000 This link opens in a new window
Full text of complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines. Primary source material reflects the development of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century. Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage contains 17 titles such as Billboard (1894-2000), New Music Express (NME) (1946-2000) and The Stage (1880-2000. Archive 2: Film and Television includes 10 titles such as Variety (1905-2000), Boxoffice
(1920-2000) and Broadcast (1960-2000).
Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.

Art and Visual Materials

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000,000 images covering art, architecture,fashion and archeology. Software tools support teaching and research.
including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
The Index of Medieval Art online database is a collection of images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century. It includes secular subjects, as well as subjects from medieval Christian, Jewish, and Islamic culture.
AP Images This link opens in a new window
Photo archive containing the Associated Press' photos, most since 1995, and a selection of pictures from their image library.

Finding ebooks

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online, Books, and Book chapters filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary ebook platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss ebook titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of ebooks on a wide range of topics. This collection of ebooks isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Complete List of Ebook Databases
Looking for ebooks in a certain discipline or field such as the humanities, social sciences, or sciences? Check out our complete list of ebook-focused databases!

Book Reviews

Book Review Digest This link opens in a new window
Identifies book reviews in many subjects that appeared in journals, some with full text.
Includes Book Review Digest Retrospective, 1903-1982.
Global Books in Print This link opens in a new window
Identifies in-print, out-of-print and forthcoming books with links to brief reviews. Also known as Books in Print.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
Full text reviews of children's books.

Interlibrary Loan and Worldcat

If UR doesn't have the article or book you need, Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that will deliver a copy to you. PDFs of articles usually arrive in two days or less! If you have the citation of the item you wish to request, go to the ILL page: https://illiad.lib.rochester.edu
& log in with your NetID to request an item.

From within any of the library any databases, click the button. It will find the full text of your article online if it's available through the libraries. Or, it will search the library catalog for you to see if we have your article in print--or let you request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Looking for books we don't have in the library? Try searching WORLDCAT (either for a title or by keywords on your topic). Click on the button to request a book through ILL.

Still can't find what you're looking for? Please contact me!

Choosing the right database

Ask yourself what type of source is more likely to have the information you need and how will I use this source?:

News articles?
Scholarly journal articles?
Empirical studies?
Data and statistics?
Primary documents?

Deciding the most likely source will help determine which database to use. Different databases are composed of information from different types of sources. BEAM is a method for helping you decide how you might use a source.

Ask yourself if the database you select provides full-text, or only citations and /or abstracts:

If the database you need to use does not have full-text, use the or buttons.
If you have a citation, use the Citation Search Tool to locate the full-text.

Understand the scope of the database you select. Ask yourself:

Does this database cover the subject area (discipline) I really need, or is there a better, more focused database?
Does this database provide indexing for the date range I need?
Will this database point me to or provide the full-text for articles written during the time period that is appropriate for my research need?

Although retrospective materials are sometimes added to databases, the actual article you need might not be available electronically, because it is too old or too new.

Ask yourself if there are special advanced features that can improve your search results or make searching easier:

Does this database allow me to limit my search to a specific date range, or to a particular magazine or journal?
Does this database allow me to email, download, or export articles to my citation manager like Zotero or RefWorks?
Are there features that can help me to generate better search terms, like the Thesaurus feature or the "Browse Subject Headings" features in some databases?

Humanities Librarian

Lindsey Baker

Email Me

Subjects: Black Studies, English