Home - ENGL 135 - Intro to Debate - LibGuides at University of Rochester

Use Library Resources and Services

UR Catalog
Use the UR Catalog to search specifically for books, journal titles -- NOT articles -- and other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Search by Title, Author, Subject Heading, Keyword(s) or Call Number.

WorldCat
Use the WolrdCat to search for books and other materials available at many libraries world wide. Books owned by UR River Campus Libraries are identified and it is easy to place an Interlibrary Loan request from within the WorldCat webpages for a book the UR River Campus Libraries do not own.

Submit an ILL request
Need an item that we don’t have in the stacks? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need. Submit your request now!

Recommend a Purchase
The River Campus Libraries welcome suggestions for the purchase of materials for our library collections. Your request will be reviewed by library staff. Preference will be to acquire the eBook format where available. Please indicate in the Notes field if you would prefer that we acquire the print format.

Citation Guides & Tools

Scholarly Journals & Popular Magazines
Writing and Citation
RefWorks
File Standards
Access From Home - Instructions
Subscribe Google Alerts
1. Create an alert by filing out the form.
2. Be sure to check your e-mail and click the link in the verification e-mail and confirm your request.

News Sources

Journal Article Databases

ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.
Gale Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 1,000 regional, national, and international newspapers, including several from New York State
WSJ.com This link opens in a new window
WSJ.com provides direct access to the Wall Street Journal's online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world.
Users must create an account.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
Law Journal Library - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
This database contains full-text articles from more than 2800 law and law-related periodicals.
Policy Commons This link opens in a new window
Access research, policy reports, and other grey literature from think tanks, research institutes, nongovernmental organizations, and more.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Research publications from U.S. and international think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers
Includes demographic, business and census data with abstracts and updated weekly. Profile provides users with web links to contributing organization's home page, email address, scholar biographies and full text.

Government Information Databases

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Pending legislation, U.S. laws, congressional hearings and testimony before Congress and other Congressional documents. Includes indexing to US Serial Set 1789-2021.
Also includes full text of the Congressional Record, legislative histories, committee information, member biographies, legislative news, the U.S. code, court decisions and the Congressional Information Service (CIS) index.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports This link opens in a new window
Nonpartisan research and policy analysis prepared by CRS for members of Congress.
CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes floor votes, member interest-group ratings, and reporting and analysis on Congress.

USA.gov
The U.S. government's official web portal.
U.S. Energy Information Administration
The U.S. Energy Information Administration Website.
The National Renewable Energy laboratory
The National Renewable Energy laboratory Website.

Federal Register Collection - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Federal Register. It is updated on a daily basis.
CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to CQ Press periodicals, databases, and online reference works.
CQ Weekly This link opens in a new window
Expert reporting on the U.S. Congress, status of bills, votes, floor and committee activity.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Overview of national policy issues and Congressional legislation, with pro/con commentary and chronologies
Reports include legislative background information, chronologies, pro and con commentary and suggested resources.

Think Tanks

Heritage Foundation
Conservative think tank promoting public policy research and analysis based on free enterprise, limited of government individual freedom.
Cato Institute
A libertarian public research foundation.
Lexington Institute
The Institute informs the public debate in national security, education reform, tax reform, immigration and federal policy.
Institue for Policy Studies
The nation's oldest progressive multi-issue think tank.
Brooking Institution
A center-left organization considered the oldest think tank in America
Economic Policy Institute
EPI is an independent, nonprofit think tank that researches the impact of economic trends and policies on working people in the United States. EPI’s research helps policymakers, opinion leaders, advocates, journalists, and the public understand the bread-and-butter issues affecting ordinary Americans.
Human Rights Watch
HRW is an international non-governmental organization that conducts research and advocacy on human rights.
Nuclear Energy Institute
NEI is a nuclear industry lobbying group in the United States of America. It develops policy on key legislative and regulatory issues affecting the industry.
American Enterprise Institutehttp
AEI is public policy think tank
Institute for Energy Research
IER is a not-for-profit organization that conducts intensive research and analysis on the functions, operations, and government regulation of global energy markets.

Finding ebooks

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online, Books, and Book chapters filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary ebook platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss ebook titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of ebooks on a wide range of topics. This collection of ebooks isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Complete List of Ebook Databases
Looking for ebooks in a certain discipline or field such as the humanities, social sciences, or sciences? Check out our complete list of ebook-focused databases!

Social Sciences Librarian

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing & Writing, Data & Statistics, Debate, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Government Information, Law, Management, Market & Industry Research, Marketing, Operations Management

ENGL 135 - Intro to Debate: Home

Debate Websites