Home - EXP 475 - Marketing - LibGuides at University of Rochester

About this page - Executive Program Classes

We’ve done our best to select the most pertinent materials for these Course Resources pages, but if these are not helping with your topic/project, we encourage you to use the Schedule an Appointment link in the Profile box on this page.

Resources for this class

All Purpose Search Tips for Simon Students
This is a quick handout of research and search strategies for databases, suitable for all situations. Take a moment to review it!

The Business Expert Press collection of ebooks has LOTS of books on all aspects of "Marketing" and writing marketing plans. Here are a few examples, and then a link that will bring up the whole list (and get you into the Business Expert Press database, so you can do more searching on your own). All practical and real-world, and all fully downloadable to your own device!

Building a Marketing Plan by Ho Yin Wong; Kylie Radel; Roshnee Ramsaran-Fowdar
ISBN: 9781606491607
Publication Date: 2011-07-15
Marketing Strategy in Play by Mark Hill
ISBN: 9781606491508
Publication Date: 2010-06-15
Applying Scientific Reasoning to the Field of Marketing by Terry Grapentine
ISBN: 9781606493687
Publication Date: 2012-10-03

eBooks on Marketing from Business Expert Press
This link will bring up all the books on all aspects of "marketing" from this ebook collection.
Instructions for downloading BEP ebooks
...to your mobile device or desktop.

A couple of books on this specific topic, then a link that will generate a list of additional titles:

Marketing Management by Philip Kotler; Kevin Lane Keller
ISBN: 9780132102926
Publication Date: 2011-02-08
Business-To-Business Marketing Management by Mark S. Glynn (Editor); Arch G. Woodside (Editor)
ISBN: 178052577X
Publication Date: 2012-04-16

Books on Marketing Management (list generator)
Automatically searches the UR Libraries' catalog for the phrase "marketing management" in the Title of any work.

For more on the 4p's and other aspects of the theory of marketing, or the use of marketing by a particular company or for a particular product, article and news databases are an excellent resource. Factiva and LexisNexis Academic are news databases, ABI/INFORM, Business Source Premier, and ScienceDirect are article databases (they are arranged by the percentage of scholarly journals they cover - less in ABI, most in ScienceDirect).

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Contains articles on business, news, and companies worldwide, current and historical financial quotes, and company profiles.

Factiva Search Tips
Improve your search experience in Factiva with these useful tips. Really. You NEED to look at this, trust me!

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from academic business journals and business trade publications; plus industry reports, some market data, and company profiles from the Experian Commercial Risk database.
For alumni access, see link to Proquest Alumni Edition on the Alumni Library Gateway.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, company and industry reports, marketing reports, and country reports. Includes Harvard Business Review.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Don't be put off by the title: this database provides the full text of all the journals published by Elsevier/North Holland, a major business/finance/management/economics and other social sciences publisher.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.

If you need to do market or industry research... These first 3 databases are our best "all-around," full-spectrum-of-industries resources:

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research reports; US & Global. Search by keyword or NAICS code. Market size, competitors, forecasts, valuation, & more. Includes Industry Wizard. The U.S. Spotlight Industry Report collection offers titles focused on ultra-niche industry categories that feature insights in condensed format focused on providing more charts, tables, and graphs
MarketLine GlobalData Intelligence Centers This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to Industry (reports by country), Company, and Country reports, plus Company News, Financial Deals, and Case Studies, Market size, segmentation, competition, and forecasts. MarketLine Explorer capitalizes on actionable intelligence spanning 22 global industries. Combining macroeconomic data and information on thousands of companies, Explorer offers detailed coverage of the global trends that are shaping industries, impacting companies, and driving innovation.
At the login screen, click on IP Access.
Additional modules within MarketLine:
Financial Deals Tracker: Track market activity with MarketLine's database of global mergers and acquisitions (M&A), private equity deals, venture finance deals, private placements, IPOs, and partnerships.
Company Prospector: Screen companies and build lists of potential business partners, clients, and investment targets in industries and countries of interest.
Investment & Advisory Prospector: Identify advisory & investment firms operating in specific industries, and gain insight into the investment and inorganic strategy of companies.
Company Report Generator: Generate fresh custom company reports featuring analytical text and charts which draw on MarketLine's company datasets. Example sections include company overview, history, SWOT analysis, M&A, partnerships and agreements, news and product information.
FirstResearch This link opens in a new window
Includes industry reports for consumer products, technology, and most U.S. industries.

Try the following databases if your research is more consumer or "daily life products"-oriented:

Mintel Reports+Trends This link opens in a new window
In-depth market research & trends reports. Consumer products focus: brands/products, lifestyles, some finance & tech. US & Europe. The finance and culture & identity modules contain finance, sustainable consumer, and diversity, equity & inclusion reports. Each user must create a personal account using a UR email address.
Trends module adds analysis of consumer trends & how they align with business applications.
RKMA Market Research eHandbooks This link opens in a new window
Access to the complete collection of market research handbooks from RKMA; data goes to very granular levels.
Collection includes market research handbooks covering US and international consumer markets; entertainment & media; healthcare business; restaurants, food & beverage; retail business; sports marketing; travel & tourism; and casinos, gaming & wagering.

The following databases are our best resources for hi-tech or medical/pharma market research:

Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Includes both technical reports and market analysis on emerging, high-tech and industrial markets in 50 countries.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Contains reports on the IT industry and the impact of IT on businesses. Search by market, topic, or industry.

International Encyclopedia of Marketing by Jagdish Sheth (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781405161787
Publication Date: 2011-02-07
Excellent for authoritative background information on any aspect of marketing. Volume 1: Marketing Strategy Volume 2: Marketing Research Volume 3: Consumer Behavior Volume 4: Advertising and Integrated Communication Volume 5: Product Innovation and Management Volume 6: International Marketing
Gale Business Insights Handbook of Global Marketing by Gale Group (Editor)
ISBN: 1414499280
Publication Date: 2013-06-14

Business Librarian

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

EXP 475 - Marketing: Home

About this page - Executive Program Classes

Resources for this class

Business Librarian

Complete Business Resources Guide