It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FIN 450 Investment Portfolio Analysis: Home
About this page
We’ve done our best to select the most pertinent materials for these Course Resources pages, but if these are not helping with yourtopic/project, we encourage you to use the Schedule an Appointment link in the Profile box on this page.
Unified access to all IMF economic/financial data & statistics for over 200 countries. Four databases in one: IFS, BOP, DOT, GFS.
Unified access to four IMF databases: International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, Direction of Trade Statistics, and Government Finance Statistics. Time series data is not always complete for every country.
Retrieves data series from more than 30 United Nations and agency databases in one search interface.
UNdata allows you to search 30 United Nations and agency databases in one search interface. It contains a wide range of subjects including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, etc.
A database contains more than 500,000 economic time series from 87 sources. It covers banking, CPI, exchange rates, GDP, interest rates, monetary aggregates, PPI, reserves and monetary base, U.S. trade and international transactions, and the U.S. financial data. The data can be viewed in graphic and in text form and is downloadable.
Our two main sources for company reports, including financial data:
Private company profiles and financial data (sales, revenue, etc.), venture capital funding deals and investors, M&A, more. Each user must create a login using a UR email address.
Yes – you CAN get financial data for private companies! Also very useful for creating lists of companies by geography, industry – with more granular detail than by NAICS or SIC, although those are available as well – rate of growth in revenue or employees, and whether or not the companies are PE/VC backed or not. Useful for career searches or entrepreneurial searches (who else makes this product? How many [x] are located within 50 miles of [place]? Etc.)
Two sources for ratio data (should you need it for this class):
Contains financial ratios for industries and services, arranged by NAICS and SIC industry codes.
To find key ratios for the industry of your company: look up the company. 1) Click "Industry Classification" in the left hand panel. 2) click the most appropriate line of business in the tree structure. 3) Click "Key Stats & Ratios" in the left hand panel.
The Thomson Reuters databases cover Mutual Funds Holdings (CDA/Spectrum s12) and 13f Institutional Holdings (CDA/Spectrum s34). The Insiders Filings database contains transaction and holdings information filed with the SEC. Special instructions: requires an account for use. Select "University of Rochester" from the institution list when registering.
Please contact Kathy Wu in Rush Rhees Library email@example.com.
Need an item that we don’t have in the stacks? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need. Submit your request now!
Advice for Enhancing Your Research Success
Here are a few tips to for researching:
Google often isn't helpful. The best business information is not free. However, the library does subscribe to numerous resources.
When using these databases, adjust your search terms if you're not getting the results you hoped for--try synonyms and scour article titles, abstracts, and subject headings in your search results for likely search terms to use. Sometimes a thesaurus or encyclopedia come in handy when brainstorming search terms.
Use double quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (e.g. "new age" finds these terms in exact order).
Use an asterisk to substitute for letters at the end of a word (e.g. crit* finds critic, criticism, critique, etc.).
If you can't find what you're looking for, schedule an appointment!
Citation managers like RefWorks, EndNote, Mendeley and Zotero help you track and organize your citations, so that when you're writing your paper, you can easily cite your sources. Citation managers also help you insert citations, create endnotes and bibliographies.
Updated version of RefWorks, a web-based citation management tool. Export references from databases and format them for papers and bibliographies. For more information consult Reference Managers: New RefWorks.
The resources in this guide are a tiny sampling of what is available through library subscriptions. My Business Resources Guide arranges the whole gamut of business resources available to you into lists by type of information (articles, market research, companies, etc.) and by topic (Finance, Entrepreneurship, etc.) . Try these or simply get in touch and let me know what you need.