LibGuides: MUR 122B: History of Jazz II: Home

Welcome to the Art/Music Library

Welcome to the Art/Music Library. Please ask us for help! Our librarians and student workers at the desk can help you find resources and information.

Visit us here! http://www.library.rochester.edu/artmusic/home

The Art/Music Library is located on the ground floor of Rush Rhees Library. All scores (M call numbers) and music books (ML and MT call numbers) are located on the open shelves within the Art/Music Library, as are current copies of our music magazines and journals.
CDs and LPs/Vinyl are kept in the Workroom and must be requested from the desk. They can be searched for using DiscoverUR.
Recordings may be listened to in the Art/Music library or checked out for a week..
Music Reference books are located in the rear left nook.
Finale and Sibelius music-writing programs are available at one of the Mac work stations. Please ask at the desk.

Strategies for Research about Jazz

Library Catalog Search
Search by articles, books, library catalog, journals, databases, video, etc.
Biographies of Jazz Musicians
This link will bring up a list of books we own about jazz musicians.
Jazz History and Criticism

Music and article databases

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Full text encyclopedia of all aspects of classical, contemporary, world, and popular music.
Create a personal profile to save content and annotations.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Streamed access to and information about Naxos recordings.
Classical, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music are represented. Liner notes, as well as biographical information on composers and artists, are also available.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full text - articles, ads, pictures - of New York Times (1851 - 2011) & other major papers. Click "More" link for their names.
Atlanta Constitution (1868 - 1984) Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003) Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) Baltimore Sun (1837-1992) Boston Globe (1872 - 1985) Chicago Defender (1909-1975) Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1993) Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004) Globe and Mail (1844-2014) Irish Times (1859 - 2016) Louisville Courier (1830 - 2000) Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1993) Minneapolis Tribune (1867 - 2001) New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993) New York Times (1851 - 2013) U.S, Northeast Collection (1785 - 2010) Some issues for 1953, 1962-1963, 1965, 1978 were never published due to pressman's strikes. No Sunday issue was published until April 21, 1861. New York Tribune (1841-1962) Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) South China Morning Post (1903-1998) Times of India (1838-2008) Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2000) Washington Post (1877 - 2000)
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in popular and general-interest periodicals published in the US and Canada, 1890 - 1982.
Music Industry Data This link opens in a new window
Presents over 60 years of data about music charts, popular, jazz, and classical styles.
Includes tools to analyze, compare and contrast artists, songs, trends, and statistics.

Books that may be useful

These books, and more, are available from the Art/Music Library. Search the UR Catalog, or come in and browse!

The Cambridge Companion to Jazz by Mervyn Cooke (Editor); Jonathan Cross (Contribution by); David Horn (Editor)
ISBN: 0521663202
Publication Date: 2003-01-09
Keeping Time by Robert Walser (Editor)
ISBN: 0195091728
Publication Date: 1998-11-19
Reading Jazz 1917-1995 by Robert Gottlieb (Editor)
ISBN: 0679442510
Publication Date: 1996-11-12
The Louis Armstrong Companion by Joshua Berrett
ISBN: 002864669X
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Miles Davis and American Culture by Gerald Early (Editor)
ISBN: 1883982383
Publication Date: 2001-06-01

Subject Guide

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

Writing about Music

Writing and Citing Guide
Provides links to easy to use guides to citing in MLA, APA and other popular citation styles and resources to help you hone your writing skills.

Music in Words (print and ebook) by Trevor Herbert
ISBN: 0195373731
Publication Date: 2009-02-16
Music in Words is a compact guide to researching and writing about music, addressing all the issues that anyone who writes about music--from students to professional musicians and critics--may confront when putting together anything from brief program notes to a lengthy thesis. The book is awriting guide and a reference manual in one: the first part, a "how to" section, offers a clear explanation of the purpose of music research and how it is to be done, including basic introductions to the most necessary tools for musical inquiry (with special emphasis on strategic use of theinternet), and how they can be accessed and used. The second part is a compendium of information on style and sources for quick reference, including a straightforward presentation of the purpose and use of citation and reference systems as they are applied to and in music.
A Short Guide to Writing about Music by Jonathan Bellman
ISBN: 0321187911
Publication Date: 2006-04-20
A Short Guide to Writing about Music parallels musical skills to writing skills, examining a wide range of writing tasks for undergraduate and graduate courses. Intended for all writers on music -- college through budding professional -- and far more than a course textbook, this brief and inexpensive text coaches writers how to approach, research, and write about music. A Short Guide to Writing about Music is written in a clear and conversational style, and employs a variety of writing samples (both student and professional) as a means to illustrate effective writing.
Writing about Music by Richard Wingell
ISBN: 0136157785
Publication Date: 2007-12-29
Helping users write clear, convincing, persuasive prose on musical topics, this practical guide focuses on general writing issues as well as special challenges of writing about music-with clear, step-by-step explanations of the process of writing a paper. Updated to reflect the latest research methodology, resources, and technology, it continues to offer strong coverage on research, organization, drafting and editing-and includes a thorough section on basic writing skills.
Writing about Music (ebook) by D. Kern Holoman
ISBN: 0520281535
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
Where do you place the hyphen in "Beethoven" if it breaks between two lines? How do you cite John Coltrane's album A Love Supreme? Is it "premiere" or "première"? The answers and much more can be found in this definitive resource for authors, students, editors, concert producers--anyone who deals with music in print. Extending the principles devised for the classical repertoires, this revised and expanded edition now includes examples from world music, rock, jazz, popular music, and cinema. This essential volume covers some of the thorniest issues of musical discourse: how to go about describing musical works and procedures in prose, the rules for citations in notes and bibliography, and proper preparation of such materials as musical examples, tables, and illustrations.
Writing about Music by D. Kern Holoman
ISBN: 9780520958814
Publication Date: 2014-09-05