Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hello! I'm Kristen Totleben, and I'm here to help you find the best (and most efficient) ways to do research. I'm happy to meet with you in person, or via email, chat or telephone.
References and Other Sources
A customizable general reference solution for librarians and learners offering more than 600 titles from over 80 publishers.
Dictionaries, Grammar and Writing
Oxford Portuguese Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2015-07-14
Endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Portuguese Dictionary is the most authoritative English-Portuguese / Portuguese-English dictionary ever published. Based on real modern evidence and computational analysis of hundreds of millions of words of both English (American and British) andPortuguese (Brazilian and European), the dictionary boasts more than 200,000 words and phrases and 320,000 translations. This up-to-date resource has been designed for both Portuguese and English native speakers and includes the latest vocabulary from computing, business, and the media, across bothlanguages. The organization and layout have been designed for maximum clarity and ease of use. The most commonly used sense of each word is shown first, helping you to identify and understand the correct meaning, and more than 130,000 real-life example phrases help you interpret meaning and usage accurately.The dictionary is also packed with extra features including cultural notes throughout the text as well as Portuguese verb tables and a list of irregular English verbs. Produced using the unique dictionary resources of Oxford University Press with an international team of expert advisors, the Oxford Portuguese Dictionary is a groundbreaking work, essential for any serious student of Portuguese and English, as well as academics, professionals, business people,teachers, and translators.
Articles and other Sources
Articles & Books searches much of the library's content in a single search. It's a great place to start!
- Search settings can be changed on the results page.
- To limit to just scholarly articles, select Scholarly & Peer-Review in the upper left of search results.
- Articles & Books Search Tips will help to get you started.
If the library doesn't have an article you want, request it via Interlibrary Loan. We'll get it for you, often in just a day or two. (Learn more about UR Interlibrary Loan in this YouTube video.)
Modern Languages & Cultures Librarian
Subjects:Chinese Language and Culture
, Comparative Literature
, East Asian Studies
, French Language and Culture
, German Language and Culture
, Italian Language and Culture
, Japanese Language and Culture
, Korean Language and Culture
, Languages and Cultures
, Literary Translation Studies
, Portuguese Language and Culture
, Russian Language and Culture
, Spanish & Latin American Language and Culture
, Writing Program