* Political Science & International Relations: Elections

Register to vote, find your polling location, obtain election results, see the NY political calendar, voter enrollment statistics, election law, list of elected officials, links to board of elections for each county.

Information and deadlines by state

Q&A for students with questions on where to register and /or vote developed by the League of Women Voters of New York State

A list of resources for locating data and statistics

Non-profit and non-partisan, includes over 118,000 documents.

From the Duke University Special Collections Library.

Contains current and historical data about presidential, gubernatorial, and senatorial elections.

The Library of Congress has excellent collections of digitized primary source materials.

From the Digital Scholarship Lab at the University of Richmond. "Voting America examines long-term patterns in presidential election politics in the United States from the 1840s to today as well as some patterns in recent congressional election politics. The project offers a wide spectrum of animated and interactive visualizations of how Americans voted in elections over the past 168 years. You can also find expert analysis and commentary videos that discuss some of the most interesting and significant trends in American political history."

Text of debates, convention speeches, party platforms, and much more.

"Provided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy."

"A nonpartisan, nonprofit 'consumer advocate' for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics".

The US Federal Government's election oversight agency. Contains election statistics and campaign finance information.

Archive of contributions to political campaigns in all 50 states.

Non-partisan information about the current members of congress and their voting records. A great way to learn about incumbent candidates.

Take quizzes to help determine which candidates align with your beliefs.

National organization that encourages "informed and active participation of citizens in government." Work focuses on voter education and campaign reform.

Information about state legislators and legislation. See link on this site to the Sunlight Academy which gathers campaign finance records.

Includes Voting Records, Biographical & Contact Information, Issue Positions (Political Courage Test), Interest Group Ratings, Public Statements, and Campaign Finances for "every candidate and elected official from President to local government".

Non-partisan reports and discussions of issues, with a state focus.

From the U.S. National Archives.

From George Mason University. Its mission is "to provide timely and accurate election statistics, electoral laws, research reports, and other useful information regarding the U. S. electoral system...to inform the people of the U.S. on how their electoral system works, how it may be improved, and how they can participate in it."

A non-partisan, non-profit organization seeking to help voters understand the effects of the laws enacted (or not enacted) by the U.S. Congress on our everyday lives, and the role of the individual members of Congress in the legislative process. Provides ratings and voting records of Congress and other links related to elections.