LibGuides: WRTG 104 Critical Reasoning, Reading, and Writing (Sloan): Home

Use Library Resources and Services

UR Catalog
Use the UR Catalog to search specifically for books, journal titles -- NOT articles -- and other materials available at the University of Rochester Library. Search by Title, Author, Subject Heading, Keyword(s) or Call Number.

WorldCat
Use the WolrdCat to search for books and other materials available at many libraries world wide. Books owned by UR River Campus Libraries are identified and it is easy to place an Interlibrary Loan request from within the WorldCat webpages for a book the UR River Campus Libraries do not own.

Submit an ILL request
Need an item that we don’t have in the stacks? ILL works with libraries all over the world to get U of R students, faculty members, employees, and affiliates the materials they need. Submit your request now!

Recommend a Purchase
The River Campus Libraries welcome suggestions for the purchase of materials for our library collections. Your request will be reviewed by library staff. Preference will be to acquire the eBook format where available. Please indicate in the Notes field if you would prefer that we acquire the print format.

Citation Guides & Tools

Other Resources

RefWorks Tutorials

More RefWorks Tutorial videos

Journal Article Databases

ProQuest Research, Newspapers & Business This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in journals, magazines and newspapers, many full text. Includes ABI/Inform, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, and Alt-PressWatch.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For off-campus access to full text: Click Scholar Preferences and add Rochester as your Library Link. Be sure to Save Preferences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in many disciplines. To access JSTOR you may need to login with VPN .
Subject areas include African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, business, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, statistics. The University of Rochester Libraries currently subscribes to the following multidisciplinary JSTOR Collections: Arts and Sciences I through XV. JSTOR also packages their content in disciplinary collections; however, the only ones of these that we have licensed are the Biological Sciences segment and the first of the Business collections. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journals from Elsevier Science and other publishers. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text of articles in all disciplines.
Includes the sciences, engineering, humanities, social sciences, and clinical medicine. Full text from 1995 on, except as indicated.
Sage Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals from Sage Publications. Browse or search tables of contents, abstracts and full text articles in all disciplines.
Includes the Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine. Full text available as indicated. For alumni access, see also Alumni Library Gateway.

Resources on New York City

NYC OpenData
Open Data for All New Yorkers!
Open Data is free public data published by New York City agencies and other partners.

Suggestions for Subject Headings:

(To find the list of items from Voyager, copy and paste one of subject headings in the Voyager search box to produce a list of results.)

New York (State). Office of Parks, Recreation, and Historic Preservation
New York City Ballet--History.
Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.)

Articles and Databases
1. Example: Subject – History – NYC History

2. Ellis Island: American Family Immigration History Center Database
Digital Collection - Digital Collection – historical maps, vintage posters, photographs, and more
Example: Ballet
Archival and Manuscripts collection
Example: "women suffrage"
Research Guides
Example: How to find historical photos of NYC
Best of the Web
Example: New York City – Manhattan on the Web – History – A love of Monsters
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

Ellis Island: American Family Immigration History Center
- http://www.libertyellisfoundation.org/

NYC 100 – Museum of Immigration
- http://www.nyc.gov/html/nyc100/html/imm_stories/museum/

Library of Congress
- http://www.loc.gov/rr/genealogy/bib_guid/immigrant/internet.html
- http://www.loc.gov/rr/genealogy/bib_guid/immigrant/intro.htm
Tenement Museum
- http://www.tenement.org/education_lessonplans.html

List of Immigration history-related links
- http://www.nypl.org/search/apachesolr_search/%2522immigration%2520history%2522

NY City Public Library – Immigration resources
- http://www.nypl.org/weblinks/1526
Voyager records on United State – emigration and immigration
- http://catalog.lib.rochester.edu/vwebv/search?searchCode=SUBJ%2B&searchArg=emigration+and+immigration&submit=+&searchType=1&recCount=50

German & Irish Immigration (occupation/job opportunities)
- http://learn.uakron.edu/beyond/irishGerman.htm
  - The immigrants were jewelry makers, musical instrument manufacturers, cabinetmakers, and tailors. They also worked in groceries, bakeries, and restaurants. Breweries

Immigrants in 1990 ‘s New York City (Videos )
- http://immigrants1900.weebly.com/

Irish immigration
- http://infowanted.bc.edu/

NYC History Resources on the Web

Check the following links

http://www.nps.gov/history/publications.htm

http://www.nps.gov/history/collections.htm

http://www.nps.gov/history/places.htm

Statues/Sculptures

Article Databases by Discipline

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This databases indexes journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, dissertations, and more and is an essential tool for history research.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit identifies articles, books, working papers and more, covering all aspects of economics. Some full text and links to more.
A tutorial on using EconLit in the EBSCO interface is available on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tT6UEfZaQlk
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Identifies scholarly and general interest articles, books, and government reports on the effects humans have on the environment.
Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles as well.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles, books and other resources in sociology, anthropology, education, and other social sciences.
Includes some links to full text.

Find Databases

Finding ebooks

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online, Books, and Book chapters filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary ebook platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss ebook titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of ebooks on a wide range of topics. This collection of ebooks isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Complete List of Ebook Databases
Looking for ebooks in a certain discipline or field such as the humanities, social sciences, or sciences? Check out our complete list of ebook-focused databases!

Humanities Librarian

Lara Nicosia

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

(585) 275-9298

Subjects: Arabic Language and Culture, Classical Greek & Latin, Hebrew Language and Culture, History, Religion & Theology, Turkish Language and Culture