To find more databases, check the Research Guides for disciplines relevant to your topic.
Interlibrary loan (also known as ILL) is a free service that allows you to access materials that we don't have in our collections. Articles and book chapters are usually provided via downloadable PDF, often within 1-2 days or less. Books must be sent to us, and this often takes between a couple of days and a week. You will be notified via email when the materials are available for download or pickup. Submitting a request is easy! If you need help, let your course librarian know! See this link for more info:
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences by
Have you lost track of developments in generative linguistics, finding yourself unsure about the distinctive features of Minimalism? Would you like to know more about recent advances in the genetics of language, or about right hemisphere linguistic operation? Has your interest in narrative drawn you to question the relation between stories and grammars? The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences addresses these issues, along with hundreds of others. It includes basic entries for those unfamiliar with a given topic and more specific entries for those seeking more specialized knowledge. It incorporates both well-established findings and cutting-edge research and classical approaches and new theoretical innovations. The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by 
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mind by
The study of the mind has always been one of the main preoccupations of philosophers, and has been a booming area of research in recent decades, with remarkable advances in psychology and neuroscience. Oxford University Press now presents the most authoritative and comprehensive guide everpublished to the philosophy of mind.An outstanding international team of contributors offer 45 specially written critical surveys of a wide range of topics relating to the mind. The first two sections cover the place of the mind in the natural world: its ontological status, how it fits into the causal fabric of the universe, and thenature of consciousness. The third section focuses on the much-debated subjects of content and intentionality. The fourth section examines a variety of mental capacities, including memory, imagination, and emotion. The fifth section looks at epistemic issues, in particular regarding knowledge ofone's own and other minds. The volume concludes with a section on self, personhood, and agency.The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mind will be an invaluable resource for advanced students and scholars of philosophy, and also for researchers in neighbouring disciplines seeking a high-level survey of the state of the art in this flourishing field.
The Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics by
The ability to communicate quickly and flexibly through both spoken and written language is one of the defining characteristics of the human race. Yet it remains a mysterious process. The science of psycholinguistics attempts to uncover the mechanisms and representations underlying humanlanguage. This interdisciplinary field has seen massive developments over the last decades, with a broad expansion of the research base, and the incorporation of new experimental techniques such as brain imaging and computational modelling. The result is that real progress is being made in theunderstanding of the key components of language in the mind.This new and expanded edition of The Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics brings together the views of over 80 experts in various domains of psycholinguistic research, offering a comprehensive and authoritative review of the field. With contributions from the fields of psychology, linguistics,cognitive neuroscience, attention, genetics, development, and neuropsychology divided into five themed sections, this new edition of The Oxford Handbook of Psycholinguistics is unparalleled in its breadth of coverage.The comprehensive nature of this book coupled with the accessibility of the short chapter format makes this handbook essential reading for students and researchers in the fields of psychology, linguistics and neuroscience.
Language in Our Brain: The Origins of a Uniquely Human Capacity by
A comprehensive account of the neurobiological basis of language, arguing that species-specific brain differences may be at the root of the human capacity for language.Language makes us human. It is an intrinsic part of us, although we seldom think about it. Language is also an extremely complex entity with subcomponents responsible for its phonological, syntactic, and semantic aspects. In this landmark work, Angela Friederici offers a comprehensive account of these subcomponents and how they are integrated. Tracing the neurobiological basis of language across brain regions in humans and other primate species, she argues that species-specific brain differences may be at the root of the human capacity for language. Friederici shows which brain regions support the different language processes and, more important, how these brain regions are connected structurally and functionally to make language processes that take place in milliseconds possible. She finds that one particular brain structure (a white matter dorsal tract), connecting syntax-relevant brain regions, is present only in the mature human brain and only weakly present in other primate brains. Is this the "missing link" that explains humans' capacity for language? Friederici describes the basic language functions and their brain basis; the language networks connecting different language-related brain regions; the brain basis of language acquisition during early childhood and when learning a second language, proposing a neurocognitive model of the ontogeny of language; and the evolution of language and underlying neural constraints. She finds that it is the information exchange between the relevant brain regions, supported by the white matter tract, that is the crucial factor in both language development and evolution.
Talking Hands: What Sign Language Reveals about the Mind by
"The house is a Babel tonight. There are snatches of English. There is Hebrew. There is a great deal of Arabic. But in the illuminated room, it is the other languages that catch the eye. They are signed languages, the languages of the deaf. As night engulfs the surrounding desert and the cameraman's lights throw up huge, signing shadows, it looks as though language itself has become animate, as conversations play out in grand silhouette on the whitewashed walls. "There are three signed languages going. There is American Sign Language, used by one of the visitors, a deaf linguist from California. There is Israeli Sign Language, the language of the deaf in that country. And there is a third language, the one the linguists have journeyed here to see: a signed language spoken in this village and nowhere else in the world."
Thinking and Language by
Originally published in 1875, this book discusses thinking and language and traces the development of different pscyological approaches, assessing their theoretical significance and the experimental evidence behind them. It ends by drawing together the various lines of argument to arrive at some general conclusions about language and thought, since it clearly emerges that the two are inextricably linked.
Why Language Matters for Theory of Mind by
"Theory of mind" is the phrase researchers use to refer to children's understanding of people as mental beings, who have beliefs, desires, emotions, and intentions, and whose actions and interactions can be interpreted and explained by taking account of these mental states. The gradual development of children's theory of mind, particularly during the early years, is by now well described in the research literature. What is lacking, however, is a decisive explanation of how children acquire this understanding. Recent research has shown strong relations between children's linguistic abilities and their theory of mind. Yet exactly what role these abilities play is controversial and uncertain. The purpose of this book is to provide a forum for the leading scholars in the field to explore thoroughly the role of language in the development of the theory of mind. This volume will appeal to students and researchers in developmental and cognitive psychology.
Words and Minds: How We Use Language to Think Together by
Words and Minds takes a lively and accessible look at how we use language to combine our mental resources and get things done. Examining everyday language and drawing on a wide range of research, but always with a light style, Neil Mercer provides a unified account of the relationship between thought and language. Mercer analyses real-life examples of language being used effectively, or otherwise, in many different settings, including workplaces and schools, the home, the internet and the courtroom, and offers practical insights into how we might improve our communication skills. Words and Minds will appeal to anyone interested in language and the psychology of everyday life.
Boolean Operators are short words used to combine search terms in logical operations. Most databases, discovery layers and search engines recognize them and use them to to bring search results that fulfill the requested operations.The most common are AND, OR and NOT. They are written in capitals to differentiate them from regular keywords.
Check the image below to understand how each of them affects the results of your searches. Parenthesis are used to combine different sets of instructions and to signal the order in which they should happen.
As part of your assignment you need to create an annotated bibliography. Check the links below for definitions and examples.
