DiscoverUR searches many of the library's resources at once. This is a powerful, fast research tool!
For a basic search, enter your keywords in the search box. If necessary, use the filters on the left side of the search results page to narrow down your results.
Tip: When off-campus, you may be asked to log in with your NetID & password to access resources.
Encyclopedias and handbooks are great sources of background information. These can provide an overview of your topic and are often good sources of potential keywords for database searches.
Encyclopedia of the Vampire: The Living Dead in Myth, Legend, and Popular Culture by
An exhaustive work covering the full range of topics relating to vampires, including literature, film and television, and folklore. Encyclopedia of the Vampire: The Living Dead in Myth, Legend, and Popular Culture is a comprehensive encyclopedia relating to all phases of vampirism--in literature, film, and television; in folklore; and in world culture. Although previous encyclopedias have attempted to chart this terrain, no prior work contains the depth of information, the breadth of scope, and the up-to-date coverage of this volume. With contributions from many leading critics of horror and supernatural literature and media, the encyclopedia offers entries on leading authors of vampire literature (Bram Stoker, Anne Rice, Stephenie Meyer), on important individual literary works (Dracula and Interview with the Vampire), on celebrated vampire films (the many different adaptations of Dracula, the Twilight series, Love at First Bite), and on television shows (Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel). It also covers other significant topics pertaining to vampires, such as vampires in world folklore, humorous vampire films, and vampire lifestyle. Nearly 240 A-Z entries on all aspects of vampirism Photographs and illustrations of vampire films, television shows, and other matters relating to vampires Brief bibliographies referring the reader to secondary sources on individual entries A general bibliography of scholarship on vampires
The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shape-shifting Beings by
From lycanthropic creatures found on television and film such as Teen Wolf, Twilight, and True Blood to the earliest folklore of shape-shifting creatures, The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shapeshifting Beings is an eye-opening, blood-pounding tour through the ages of monsters with the most amazing camouflage capabilities--they hide among us! Along the way, you'll land at the doorstep of creatures like hirsute mass-murderer Albert Fish, and Fritz Haarman, who slaughtered and ate his victims--selling the leftovers as steaks and roasts in his butcher shop--as well as visits to mythical shamans, sirens, and skin walkers. Covering 140,000 years of legend, mythology, and fact, The Werewolf Book provides hair-raising evidence of strange and obsessional behavior through the centuries. Learn the basics of becoming a werewolf and the intricacies of slaying the beast. A true homage to werewolves and other full moon beasts, it includes topics such as ... * Bear, tiger, coyote, and other shape-shifting people * Classic and modern werewolf movies * Gargoyles, totem poles, and Internet depictions * Serial killers and sadistic rulers * Sorcery, spells, and talismans * Television shows, songs, and computer games