LibGuides: BME 134 Material Matters: Corning Museum of Glass Online Resources

Online Resources Available Off Campus

Search the Museum's Collections
Searchable access to the Museum's comprehensive collection of art and historical glass. In-depth collections records include related multimedia, publications and exhibition information, as well as provenance, related objects and user tags. *Note: This resource is undergoing updates and may not function as expected.
Search Library Collections and More Using Primo
You can search—in one place and all at once—most of the Library's collections (including digitized resources), our Glass Article Index, plus millions of additional online resources that are either freely available or easy to request.
The Corning Museum of Glass YouTube Channel
Find live streams, Bill Gudenrath Venetian technique videos, the popular Glassworking Processes and Properties series and so much more on YouTube.
Ask a Glass Question
Search our knowledge base of frequently asked glass questions or submit your question to the Rakow Library’s Reference Staff.
Contemporary Glass: Research Techniques
Tips for researching contemporary glass artists, history, and works.
All About Glass
All About Glass is a reference site on glass information with more than 900 videos, 200 articles, and 700 digital books from the Rakow Library, as well as glass term definitions and audio tour stops.
The Corning Museum of Glass Blog
Keep up with the Museum by reading new posts on the blog including the popular “How to Photograph Glass” series from the Museum’s pro photo team.
GlassApp
GlassApp was launched with the opening of the Contemporary Art + Design Wing in March 2015. Featuring information on 70+ contemporary works of art, GlassApp includes videos, artist bios and photos to enhance the visitor experience by highlighting current conversations in art, craft and design.
Rakow Library Research Guides
More than 30 guides covering glassmaking techniques, glass art and history, and Rakow Library collections
Glass Dictionary
An online dictionary of glass-related terms from The Corning Museum of Glass.

Rights and Reproduction

The Museum makes available images, text and data on the Museum and its collections to scholars, students and the general public for personal, non-commercial, educational and academic purposes or for fair use as defined in the U.S. copyright laws.

Fair use with our contemporary objects may depend on our agreement with the artist, so check with the museum's Rights and Reproduction team if you're interested in publishing images.

Any commercial reproduction or publication requires a prior written license signed by the Museum's Department of Rights and Reproductions.

Our policy is available on the website. If you have questions, contact the rights and reproduction office. Generally, there is no charge for images.

The Corning Museum of Glass Rights and Reproductions
Policy and terms of use as well as links to the request form.

BME 134 Material Matters

Corning Museum Librarians

Regan Brumagen

Manager, Reference and Access Services

Email: BrumagenER@cmog.org

Allison Shanafelter

Reference Librarian

Email: shanafelac@cmog.org

Online Resources Available Off Campus

Rights and Reproduction