Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wellness & Health: Mindfulness & Mental Health Resources

What is Mindfulness?

Elizabeth Scott at VeryWellMind defines Mindfulness as "the practice of becoming more fully aware of the present moment—non-judgmentally and completely—rather than dwelling in the past or projecting into the future. It generally involves a heightened awareness of sensory stimuli (noticing your breathing, feeling the sensations of your body, etc.) and being 'in the now.'" 

As noted in an article written by Crystal Hoshaw at Healthline, mindfulness has numerous positive benefits:

  • Improving cognitive ability
  • Slowing brain aging
  • Reducing stress, anxiety, and depression symptoms
  • Increasing a sense of well-being
  • Helping with pain management
  • Improving the quality of life for those living with chronic conditions

Counseling Center

University of Rochester Counseling Center StaffThe University Counseling Center (UCC) provides a comprehensive initial assessment and an individualized treatment plan to full-time members of the University of Rochester community who pay the mandatory health fee. Based on the initial assessment, a treatment plan is developed by the clinician that addresses the client’s unique needs and concerns. This plan may include recommendations such as, but not limited to: group therapy, workshops, brief therapy, referrals to community provider for specialized treatment or longer term therapy services, case management services, psychiatry or other campus services.

Behind these services, the UCC also has a list of resources that can be used individually and is connected to ThrivingCampus, which has a list of off-campus providers that can provide assistance. This guide can walk you through the process of finding a clinician, 

Paul J. Burgett Intercultural Center

Students talking in the Intercultural Center

The mission of the Paul J. Burgett Intercultural Center (BIC) is to promote cultural awareness and engagement, educate on issues of identity, culture, and diversity, and provide avenues for intersection and opportunities for collaboration. The University Meliora Values and the College Competencies are prevalent in all that the center does. Students can use the intercultural lounge and LGBTQ resource area, which is an ideal location for studying, checking out books and videos, engaging in discussions, and gathering as a community.

Mindful University Project

Students meditate on the University of Rochester river campus

The Mindful University Project is an interdisciplinary collaboration with a mission to empower the campus community to build a culture of mindful presence and compassion. The project leads introductory and advanced learn-to-mediate classes, hosts drop-in meditation sessions, has half-day retreats, leads contemplative practices including yoga, walking meditations, and compassion programs, hosts faculty and staff training, and has educational workshops. 

Mental Health Resources

  • University Counseling Center (UCC) List of Resources: This list of resources compiled by the UCC include self-help resources, depression, stress, and anxiety resources, disordered eating resources, self-injury resources, resources for veterans, LGBTQ+ resources, Substance Abuse & Addiction Resources, suicide resources, grief resources, and other resources. 
  • Mental Health Association of Rochester: The Mental Health Associate of Rochester offers many programs and services that help to enrich the lives of people right here in our community and allow them to find wellness. They also have a directory of local support groups. 
  • MIND - Mental Health Index & Navigation Database: This is a database of more than 260 mental health apps. Use a wide variety of different filters to find the perfect Mental Health App for you. 
  • One Mind Psyber Guide: This resource includes a database of apps and digital resources reviewed by experts. If you want to read reviews on a resource before you try it out, this is the database for you. 
  • Healthline: This resource includes reviews on various mental health products, from apps, to services, to books. It also has reviews on products related to sleep, nutrition, and general health. 
  • VeryWellMind: VeryWellMind is a useful resource to use to find up-to-date information on the mental health topics, with a 5.500+ article library. They are dedicated to empowering individuals with the trustworthy evidence-based information they need for their mental and emotional well-being.
  • Mindful.org:  Mindful is dedicated to sharing the gifts of mindfulness through content, training, courses, and directories—helping people enjoy better health, foster more caring relationships, and cultivate a more compassionate society.