LibGuides: PHLT 236 Health Care and Law: Federal Bills, Regulations and Laws

Finding ebooks

River Campus Libraries provides access to over one million e-books covering a large variety of disciplines and publishers. Because our e-books are available through different databases and websites, the easiest way to find an e-book in UR’s collection is to start on the library's homepage and choose "Library Catalog Only" from the dropdown box.

To narrow your search to e-books, choose the Available online, Books, and Book chapters filters from the options on the left-hand side of your results (Show Me)...or use the search box below.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is U of R's primary ebook platform with thousands of titles from all disciplines. Many of these titles can be found through the library's main search page, but searching Ebook Central directly is a great way to make sure you don't miss ebook titles relevant to your topic.
EBSCOHost eBook Collections This link opens in a new window
Like Ebook Central, EBSCO provides access to a collection of ebooks on a wide range of topics. This collection of ebooks isn't quite as extensive as Ebook Central, but you still may find some useful books on your topic in this database.
Not all titles are downloadable. It depends on the agreement with the publisher, however many titles can be downloaded. If downloading is permitted, you will see a button in the results list that says "download offline," and on the record for the book itself, a utton that says "Download this ebook" Make sure that you have an up to date version of Adobe Digital Editions. Click here for more help.

Complete List of Ebook Databases
Looking for ebooks in a certain discipline or field such as the humanities, social sciences, or sciences? Check out our complete list of ebook-focused databases!

Getting Started

Hi! I am Kathy Wu, the Government Information and Economics librarian, and the liaison librarian for your class. If you need any kind of help at all (from: "would you just show me how to find my way around the library?" to "I need help with this research..."), please don't hesitate to ask me. Email me to set up an appointment. I look forward to working with you!

Federal Bills, Regulations and Laws

GovInfo This link opens in a new window
Official Source for Online Government Information
United States Code via GovInfo This link opens in a new window
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It contains 52 titles.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Pending legislation, U.S. laws, congressional hearings and testimony before Congress and other Congressional documents. Includes indexing to US Serial Set 1789-2021.
Also includes full text of the Congressional Record, legislative histories, committee information, member biographies, legislative news, the U.S. code, court decisions and the Congressional Information Service (CIS) index.
Federal Register Collection - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text of the Federal Register. It is updated on a daily basis.
Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
General and permanent rules published in the Federal Register.
By the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents This link opens in a new window
Includes the Congressional Record, hearings, budget publications and more. See also ProQuest Congressional.
Entire full-text of the Congressional Record Bound version, the daily version back to 1980, and the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Congressional Globe (1833-1873). Also includes an archive Congressional Hearings, beginning in 1927, and other Congressional publications.
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text searching on the U.S. federal legislative history.
U.S. Statutes at Large - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of the US Statutes at Large.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of government publications and related materials. Includes title list and search tips.
Full text searching. Many titles include entire back file. Downloading as PDF and Text is limited to a maximum of 200 pages.
CQ Electronic Library This link opens in a new window
Includes access to CQ Press periodicals, databases, and online reference works.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The catalog is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available.
FindLaw
FindLaw provides access to cases and codes in both state and federal laws.

Congress.gov - the official website for U.S. federal legislative information This link opens in a new window
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns. Consult Coverage Dates for Legislative Information for the specific update schedules and start date for each collection.

The scope of data collections and system functionality have continued to expand since THOMAS was launched in January 1995, when the 104th Congress convened. THOMAS was produced after Congressional leadership directed the Library of Congress to make federal legislative information freely available to the public.

Social Sciences Librarian

Kathy Wu

Email Me

Contact:

585-273-5322
I am available for one-on-one virtual consultation through Zoom.

I also hold office hour on Mondays from 2 PM to 3 PM in the Gleason Hall Room 330. Walk-ins are welcome.

Zoom meeting only by appointment at https://rochester.zoom.us/my/kathywu

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Citing & Writing, Data & Statistics, Debate, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Government Information, Law, Management, Market & Industry Research, Marketing, Operations Management