LibGuides: * Anthropology: APA Citation &amp; Annotated Bibliographies

Guides Online

APA Style and Grammar Guidelines (7th Edition)
APA Style 7th Edition Reference Examples
APA Style 7th Edition Handouts and Guides
APA Style Blog The APA Style Blog is the official companion to the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition. It's run by a group of experts who work with APA Style every day. They publish weekly posts to talk about what we love—writing, publishing, and APA Style. They explore what APA Style is and how it works in a variety of areas, including reference citations of every sort, grammar and usage, the publication process, and social media. Occasionally they feature guest bloggers who write about more technical issues.
Guide for formatting student papers by APA (7th Edition)
Info on how to set up your title page, what font, margins, line spacing and indentation you should use, as well as sample papers to look at for guidance.
APA 6th edition/ 7th edition Comparison Quick Guide (ECU Libraries)

Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated bibliographies differ from abstracts or summaries of articles. Annotated bibliographies are a list of sources (journal or news articles, books, websites, datasets, etc.) on a particular topic. The list is usually in alphabetical order by author and employs a single citation style. The propose of an annotated bibliography is:

To prove you have done some valid research to back up your argument and claims
To explain the content of your sources, assess their usefulness, and share this information with others who may be less familiar with them

Some questions to help with your analysis of a source might include:

What’s the main point or thesis of this source?
Does the author seem to have particular biases or are they trying to reach a particular audience?
How does this source relate to your own research and ideas?
How does this source relate to other sources you have read? Do they have aspects of the same argument or opposing views?

Here are a few links to help you better understand and construct an annotated bibliography.

Graphic Organizers to help you build an annotated bibliography:

Writing and Citing Help at UR

Writing and Citing Guide
Provides links to easy to use guides to citing in MLA, APA and other popular citation styles and resources to help you hone your writing skills.
Writing Help from the Writing, Speaking and Argument Center
The Writing, Speaking and Argument Center can help you at any stage of the writing process. Whether you need a quick help sheet, or an appointment with a writing consultant, there are many resources available at here.

What's a DOI Number?

A DOI (short for Digital Object Identifier) is a unique number assigned to any digital object like an article, a data set, image, etc. The doi starts with the number 10 and might contain numbers, letters, and often slashes and periods.

So, for the following article:

The doi number is 10.1037/0003-066x.55.1.68

How to cite an article with a DOI:
APA (American Psychological Association)
Ryan, R. M., & Deci, E. L. (2000). Self-determination theory and the facilitation of intrinsic motivation, social development, and well-being. American Psychologist, 55(1), 68-78. doi: 10.1037/0003-066x.55.1.68

ASA (American Sociological Association)
Ryan, Richard M., and Edward L. Deci. 2000. "Self-determination Theory and the Facilitation of Intrinsic Motivation, Social Development, and Well-being." American Psychologist 55(1). Retrieved March 7, 2018 (http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/0003-066X.55.1.68).

For more information on DOIs, visit https://www.doi.org/